Luca & Scooter
Member Since 2026
We recently started Scooter back on insulin following a suspected remission in August. He started back on the old Lantus bottle we got at the beginning of August on 9/1. We started a new bottle on 9/3. Our vet wanted us to start at 1 unit, but I felt more comfortable at 0.5 for the first few days. Shortly after (9/9), our vet said to increase it to 2 units (I only increased it to 1.5). His numbers were low in the evenings, so I would skip the dose.
It was suggested I lower the dose back down to 1 unit. Given how inconsistent his previous doses were, I again needed to skip the evening due to low numbers. I opted to give 0.5 consistently for 5 days to reset. I have now upped his dose back to 1 unit, and I am still struggling to understand the pattern of his highs and lows. Although 0.5 is too low a dose, I have not seen any type of 12 hour curve form during those 5 days and the 1 unit seems to have the same inconsistent pattern.
Today his +5 check was 89. This would be great if his nadir was usually around this time, but, although inconsistent, his nadir seems to be closer to the +12 mark. This is also the lowest reading that I have seen in the last few days. Have I just made a big mess of things, or does it seem like the insulin is off? I do not see any issues with the bottle, and the liquid is clear with no color or particles.
Scooter eats around 40 grams of Tiki Cat Friends (shrimp, calamari, tuna flavors) in both the am and pm before his shot. He also has 24-hour access to his wet food. He normally eats 2 to 2 1/2 cans a day. He is not given any kibble or treats. We have had success in the past with this insulin, where his curve looks normal while he was still eating kibble (7/18 curve).
It was suggested I lower the dose back down to 1 unit. Given how inconsistent his previous doses were, I again needed to skip the evening due to low numbers. I opted to give 0.5 consistently for 5 days to reset. I have now upped his dose back to 1 unit, and I am still struggling to understand the pattern of his highs and lows. Although 0.5 is too low a dose, I have not seen any type of 12 hour curve form during those 5 days and the 1 unit seems to have the same inconsistent pattern.
Today his +5 check was 89. This would be great if his nadir was usually around this time, but, although inconsistent, his nadir seems to be closer to the +12 mark. This is also the lowest reading that I have seen in the last few days. Have I just made a big mess of things, or does it seem like the insulin is off? I do not see any issues with the bottle, and the liquid is clear with no color or particles.
Scooter eats around 40 grams of Tiki Cat Friends (shrimp, calamari, tuna flavors) in both the am and pm before his shot. He also has 24-hour access to his wet food. He normally eats 2 to 2 1/2 cans a day. He is not given any kibble or treats. We have had success in the past with this insulin, where his curve looks normal while he was still eating kibble (7/18 curve).