Baco PMPS 189 (no dose this AM) what to do?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ruby&Baco

Member Since 2016
Here you can find my other thread from today, if you don't know the story:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/amps-124-dosing-advice-asap.158109/

So her PMPS is now 189.. What should I do?
She hasn't eaten since I came home (15 minutes ago, because I've put her bowl away now)

Should I wait 15 minutes more and re-test? Or is this a sign that I can't give her a shot again?
And what if she goes up to 200, what do you advice on giving her?

@Sue and Oliver (GA) @Robin&BB @Bobbie And Bubba @Tuxedo Mom @Rachel

Thanks in advance :bighug:
 
Well when I came home, she started eating for 2-3 minutes I think, and then I was thinking NOO you CAN'T so I took the bowl away.
So maybe it spiked her BG to 189 / 194 ?
 
Yes it is, but because of her lower # I don't give her her food right?
And that bowl was the bowl from this morning still.. Like I said, she always has excess to the raw food the whole day (ofcourse it's an amount I weigh before hand) but she can eat it all day.
 
You shot 166 on 4/26 but at a dose of .35. I would think you could feed her and I would shoot. Can you monitor till her nadir?
 
Yes I saw it.
So I can feed her, but what should the amount be? I don't want her going hypo on me....
Yes, I'm home all evening so I can monitor her, but I'm scared to give her 0.35 I think it's to much don't you? and at 4/26 I chased her, and you see she got UP instead of going down because of the 0.35.
 
Sue told me to wait, and see if she goes up in a few hours.. so I gave her food and waited 2 hours. and she went up to 166 and I gave her a shot..
ps: I just gave her her food, she was hungry.
 
Oh I see what you are saying. Since she ate I would get some insulin in her. 189 is very close to 200 so, why don't you reduce her back a little bit. As long as you can monitor. Let's see what Rachel thinks.
 
She's eating right now Rachel and Bobbie, just so you know.. gave her her raw food with a tbps of 3% carbs (of minnie) So she will go up a little I think..

Yes I can monitor her, I will be home.
 
If you feel comfortable staying up and monitoring, you can give a tiny dose. Just a token dose really. As you say, you feel like 0.35 is too much. In the end, you MUST feel comfortable since you hold the syringe.

As you know, I'm conservative on my advice since I'm not there and it's not my cat. So...maybe 0.1? Or 0.2? Then you will want to carefully monitor and be ready to steer with food if needed. It's hard to know what to tell you to do for sure since the pancreas may be kicking in and we don't have data at these lower numbers. If for any reason you feel uncomfortable with this or unable to stay up and monitor, you can skip.
 
Well that was then and now her needs could be different. She is starting to see better numbers and we want to keep that going and keep her safe. If it were my cat, I would go .35 or .40 and monitor. Let's see if Rachel has a different idea.
 
Okay, i've got an idea.. Why don't I wait for an hour.. see what her BG is then? and if it is really going up quick then give her a dose of 0.20?
Or should I just go for it now and go with the 0.10?
 
It's possible the dose may be too small, but at least it would be something in her system and hopefully it would keep her in a very gentle curve with no sudden drops. :) What do you think?
 
Ruby, I am much more of a dare devil but, you need to be comfortable with it so go with what Rachel suggest if that makes sense to you and your comfort level.
 
Okay, you know what. I trust you a lot, so I will go with 0.40.. due to the fact I can monitor her.
+5 is always (mostly) her nadir and I can be up then.. if needed I've got HC so I can stir her up.. I need to do this because now I'm around in the weekends.. I need to be a dare devil in this one..
Okay.. keep your fingers crossed okay? Will give her her shot now!
 
Thanks Bobbie (and everyone) thanks so much.. If it wasn't for you guys I wouldn't have ever gotten Baco this far as that she is right now! :bighug:
 
Sounds good, Ruby. And I'd test her one hour after the dose and also at +2 so that you can get a good idea of where she's heading, ok? (But don't panic and feed any hc stuff until after you post the numbers to the forum ... she's probably going to do just fine, and we're all around to help you anyway.:bighug:)
 
I'm loving it 2! But still a little scared because she's not at her lowest point yet, and she hasn't dropped really much, a lot of times she has let us see that her drop will be bigger at +3 and +4 and +5.
So i have to test her later.
+3 will be in 12 minutes so i'm curious to see what that will be.
 
I'm loving it 2! But still a little scared because she's not at her lowest point yet, and she hasn't dropped really much, a lot of times she has let us see that her drop will be bigger at +3 and +4 and +5.
So i have to test her later.
+3 will be in 12 minutes so i'm curious to see what that will be.
I understand but she is no where near a hypo numbers. All is good. :)
 
And i'm realllllly tired! Because I only slept for 4 hours today. Soo i'm making myself a cup off:coffee: to stay awake till +4
 
Ruby, you've pretty much gotten the EXACT same numbers at PMPS, +1, and +2. Very interesting. Looking back, you don't ever really have that food spike we usually see at +2, probably because of the lower carb food you use. +3 and after is normal for the larger drops. It is to be expected. Hopefully she'll drop gently to a safe, green number and then slowly rise back up.

I know it's a big nerve wracking but remember this is good! This is what we want! A nice cup of coffee sounds good. :) Looking forward to seeing where this cycle take you!
 
Well she ate at pmps, and after that hasn't really (maybe 3-4 bites) but since she went on a whole raw food diet she's not eating that much. She's fine with what she gets and leaves it to eat later in the evening/night. So that might be the explanation why she doesn't get a food spike!

Coffee is really needed right now :banghead: can't keep my eyes open :facepalm:
 
Me too and sorry you are so tired. It's a good thing tomorrow is Sunday and you can catch up on sleep. This is great information for you and I am so glad that decided to go with the .40 at the very least. I'm thinking had you gone with a much lower dose you could possible be back up in high yellows right now. It would be lovely to see a nice high green number as a nadir and then a nice decline down. (We can hope right?)
 
Thanks Bobbie.. Will tomorrow morning test,feed (shot if needed) and then go back to bed for 2 to 3 hours... need to get some sleep. I'm feeling like i'm getting a little crazy because of the less sleep.
I've had the pfeiffer disease a year ago, was really tired all the time, and still it hasn't fully recovered so this couple off hours I get off sleep the last couple of weeks are really taking it's toll now.. :banghead:

I am so glad that decided to go with the .40 at the very least
me 2, it was a good choice to go with. I think she would be in her yellows indeed if i did give her less yes..

Hope she will show me a nice green # :D

Thanks Rachel! I'm happy about it..
 
What should I do tomorrow? What will be the # limit to shoot? and what dose should I give her?
My guess is if she's lower than 180 DON'T shoot, and if above ? 0.40 again?

@Bobbie And Bubba Don't torture me :arghh:
Will try to stay up, or set an alarm..But can't keep my eyes open I feel..
 
Yeah Rachel, that was my plan.. but the only thing is, If I go to sleep I won't wake up because of the pfeiffer still being there in my body and draining my energy...
So I will think about it how I will handle this...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top