Baco on ProZinc

Status
Not open for further replies.
Is that okay to stick to you think? And yes if i'm going to give her 2 shots a day i will start in the weekend ofcours so i'm with her. And if you give 2 shots a day, and it goes well, how do you know that she will need less insuline? How do you know/see that she's in 'honeymoon' fase? I really don't know that much about it... I'm sorry..
How is her weight? Is she considered underweight right now? Overweight? Just about perfect weight? In dosing my cat, I determined what her total daily rations (every 24 hours) should be, based on her weight. Then I divided that in half for each 12-hour cycle. Depending on whether or not I will need to "steer" her BG upward during some point in the cycle (say, if her nair # were out of the safety zone) I reserve some of the portion allotted to that 12-hour cycle to do that. Some people like to divide the 12-hour ration into several portions throughout the day (often using the timed feeder I mentioned), especially if they cannot be available to check blood glucose levels - such as when you have to be at work all day.

The main thing about dosing with insulin is to: Test BG, feed, then shoot. And we don't recommend shooting the insulin if your cat's # is less than 200 mg/dL (that's 11.1 on your metric scale). If BG # is not at least that by shot-time, we recommend you stall for 15-30 min while withholding the food (BG # can rise as cat anticipates the meal), then recheck the BG to see whether it's risen to safe-shooting range.

Is this helpful?
 
She weighs 6.6kilo's right now.. Definitly overweight But with the low carb diet she will lose weight, she has to, the vet also told me.
I will read your last post tomorrow real carefully and discuse it with the vet tomorrow.
I will reply to you asap tomorrow cuz i really need to go to sleep now :( i have to be up and running in 6 hours sooooooo! Good night (for you i think its mid day right now? Hihi
 
I mean that in the ProZinc protocol document we have available here, the blood glucose numbers are written in mg/dL rather than mmol/L.
You can see mg/dl it is also in the SS but on the second tab! It converts from mmol to mg/dl
 
Hi Ruby, sorry I couldn't reply before, it's been a crazy day! I'm going to agree with Robin, she's definitely sending you down the right path. I finally figured out how to see your BG numbers in U.S. numbers, I'm quite slow with anything electronic! Lol

Thank you for giving that information, it's very helpful. I don't remember if it says in the ProZinc protocol or not, but with ProZinc, the dose shouldn't be changed until you've gone through 3 full cycles, or 72 hours. Unless you get a test number that is too low or too high, (and that part is really important!) then you adjust accordingly.
 
No, I can see your SS in U.S #s just fine!
What I meant was that this document is not written in metric #s:Protocol for ProZinc/PZI

(Ok, go to bed now; we can take this up again tomorrow!:D)

Oh, now i see what you mean.. and yes I went to bed but it is to early right now :( :( ow men I just had to go to bed a little bit earlier.. well then.
I will talk to the vet today about some good points you've made and will ask her about what she thinks to start with if a will give her 2 shots a day.

Just now (test, eat, shot) i've tested her at 19.9mmol (358mg/dl) so this is the lowest number i've seen before eating in the morning. That is positive :)

Awww.. and she tried to wake me up when my alarm went off, she was giving me a cuddle and pushing her head against mine to make sure I was awake... Because she wanted to eat, and fast!! hahaha so cute.

Well I have to run now, have to go to work but I will watch the forum, see if anyone reply's this (for me) morning... but I think it is pretty late where you live.

@Mogmom and Goofus : No worries, i'm patient ;) Yes it is in the protocol that I can not change the dosis between 3 days (but in case of lowering the dosis because of a dangerous situation, then yes I can) but today is her 3e day of 2IE a day so if i'm going to change the dosis from one shot to two shots a day, then tomorrow will be fine to do that.

@Marje and Gracie : thank you :) I had to figure it out but it worked out perfectly thank you!.
 
Good morning, Ruby!
Awww.. and she tried to wake me up when my alarm went off, she was giving me a cuddle and pushing her head against mine to make sure I was awake... Because she wanted to eat, and fast!! hahaha so cute.
What a sweet way for Baco to wake you in the morning.:joyful: (My silly cat would just smack at a small item on my bedside table - like a pen or a ring - until it falls onto the floor! :D)

Yes it is very late at night here in Arizona, but I am needing to monitor Bat-Bat's glucose # for at least one more hour ... (Had I not needed to keep an eye on her tonight, yes, I would be asleep!;)) So for now just want to say: Will be thinking of you today, and hoping that your talk with Baco's vet about her dosing schedule is a good one! Will look forward to hearing from you later.:)
 
So sorry I haven't been around! It's been a whirlwind lately, and I didn't get a chance to reply last night. I will give you my opinion. Twice daily dosing is the way to go. I don't mean in general. Looking at Baco's SS, every night, at +12, he has been high enough to shoot. It's been close a few times, but he has been high enough. In the morning, before your shot, he is MUCH higher than at +12. So if you were dosing 12 hours apart, you would almost SURELY see lower numbers in the morning. This would mean you had a chance of going lower and lower and heading to remission.

No one can guarantee that every 12 hour shots will lead to remission. I do think Baco has a great chance of it. Looking at his numbers, they are lower than a lot of kitties who arrive here. That makes me think that every 12 hour dosing could lead to remission in time...but I can't give you a time limit or say it will surely happen. I'm with Robin on the dose. 1 unit every 12 hours...and if that didn't work, we could always go up.

I do agree with Bobbie that some numbers after +16 would really help us. That would fill in the missing info so we can see what's happening at night.

Just to be clear, I am NOT bashing your choices. I wanted to give my opinion and explain why. If you have further questions about why I think this, I will be more than happy to answer them!

I'm afaraid I can't give advice about once a day shots. I can't provide a dose because I've never used that method and looking at your SS it doesn't seem to work well enough.

Okay! I'm going to stop talking about dosing now too. :) Remember we really do want to help. We just can only give advice on what we know. We're all opinionated here and we want to be sure we explain what we think.

You are doing a FANTASTIC job with Baco. You've been testing and feeding low carb, and getting information on your own. If you feel that once a day shots is the way to go for now, then go for it! If you decide to do twice a day shots, do that. We will be happy to help with that.

Please let us know what you and the vet decide. If he was mine, I'd do some talking too. Ask about twice a day shots. If what I said makes sense, maybe discuss that with the vet. Not saying change, just see what he thinks. I'd be interested on his opinion!

Please do keep us informed! I would love to see how Baco does and hope he goes into remission!
 
@Rachel : Thank you for your advice. I'm going to discuss the 2 shots a day with my vet today. I think there is a really high change for Baco to get a remission. Also because she has never had any health problem but she used prednison for a period of time for an allergic reaction. The vet thinks her being overweight and having to use prednison for a short time made her pancreas to (temporarily) stop working.. so if she loses the weight and i 'help' her with some insuline for a period of time, her pancreas may will be working on it's own again... so that's the reason (and because of your tips and advice) that I want to give her 2 shots a day to get her pancreas working again.
Her numbers have been going down since she was diagnosed so something is going well, and I hope that means she will get better.

And I wasn't thinking people were bashing me, but everything is so new to me, and in my mind i'm like 'why should i trust advice from people i don't even know over my vet who i think has more experience?' but that just sunk in yesterday night that that is not the case and that you (in the US) have 10 years of experience with ProZinc and my vet just has maybe a couple of months experience. So it's nice to ask for your advice and tips about everything with Baco.

Thank you for your kind words about that i'm doing good with Baco, that's really nice to hear because that's something that i've been in doubt for for the last few day because of all the opinions here, and on the Dutch forum so I was thinking, i'm doing everything wrong! But I wanna do everything as good as I can for my baby Baco :) But now that's sunk in, i'm confident enough and I will take the lead in the conversation with my vet about my opinion and that 2 times a day will give her a bigger change of getting in remission and that's what I want, and Baco (I think) would like that 2 ;)

I will call my vet at around 17:00 o'clock (that will be in about 4 hours from now) so I will let you all know what we've decided together and what her (the vet's) opinion is about the whole matter.
 
Good Morning Ruby~ or afternoon there. So glad that Rachel posted. She knows her ProZinc stuff and was a really big help to me when Bubba was on it.

Glad you mentioned the prednisone. It is often we see cats that arrive with steroid induced FD and after a short time on insulin along with a low carb diet, their pancreas starts to work again! That would be wonderful wouldn't it? Once they get off the insulin it is important to continue with a low carb diet because once diabetic, always diabetic but just in remission. And the twice day dosing will be your best bet at getting Baco into normal numbers the majority of the time.

Good luck with your talk with your vet. Perhaps after he realizes that you have had contact with us and gathered our experience and knowledge, he will understand where you are coming from.

Keep us posted. :bighug:
 
It's already afternoon here ;) Goodmorning to you!
Yes I'm glad Rachel also posted, that post was a great help and i'm so convinced now that in a couple of hours I will talk to my vet about 2 shots a day..
It is a real big possibility indeed that Baco's pancreas has stopped working because of the prednisone, so i'm going to give her 2 shot a day with (in the back of my head) that she will go in remission with also the help of low card food.
She (the vet) is a really nice lady, and understand were i'm coming from. When I talked to her last wednesday I already told her that I was on forums and she was only really supportive towards me because it is a really big help.
So if I tell her that i'm also on the US forum, were people are more experienced (10years) then I will think she is willing to believe what you all say about ProZinc.
 
It's already afternoon here ;) Goodmorning to you!
Yes I'm glad Rachel also posted, that post was a great help and i'm so convinced now that in a couple of hours I will talk to my vet about 2 shots a day..
It is a real big possibility indeed that Baco's pancreas has stopped working because of the prednisone, so i'm going to give her 2 shot a day with (in the back of my head) that she will go in remission with also the help of low card food.
She (the vet) is a really nice lady, and understand were i'm coming from. When I talked to her last wednesday I already told her that I was on forums and she was only really supportive towards me because it is a really big help.
So if I tell her that i'm also on the US forum, were people are more experienced (10years) then I will think she is willing to believe what you all say about ProZinc.
Baco is a very lucky kitty to have you as her human! You obviously love her a lot!
 
I do love her a reaaaallll lot... words can't discripe how much :)
My boyfriend thinks it is sickening how close Baco and I are because she always wants to be with me, on my lap, giving me cuddles, kisses on her head (so cute). To bad for my boyfriend hahaha! and Baco doesn't like my boyfriend at all (after almost 3,5years she does NOT want him to be around) hahaha she just thinks she loves me more then him I think hahaha :D

Baco and I are really close because when I got her, at the time I had two brother cats Sam and Minnie. Sam past away 3 years ago and had cancer. Minnie is still around and is 12 years old.
Baco didn't fit in the group, never did, so she was always with me.. that's why we have a real close bond. She is almost a human in some ways of her behaviour, hihi.
Love her so much! So i'll do anything for her <3
 
I do love her a reaaaallll lot... words can't discripe how much :)
My boyfriend thinks it is sickening how close Baco and I are because she always wants to be with me, on my lap, giving me cuddles, kisses on her head (so cute). To bad for my boyfriend hahaha! and Baco doesn't like my boyfriend at all (after almost 3,5years she does NOT want him to be around) hahaha she just thinks she loves me more then him I think hahaha :D

Baco and I are really close because when I got her, at the time I had two brother cats Sam and Minnie. Sam past away 3 years ago and had cancer. Minnie is still around and is 12 years old.
Baco didn't fit in the group, never did, so she was always with me.. that's why we have a real close bond. She is almost a human in some ways of her behaviour, hihi.
Love her so much! So i'll do anything for her <3
Tell your boyfriend if he starts purring and preening you will love him lots more too. ;)
 
hahahahaha maybe I will ;)

no no, but it's just funny to see the battle (from Baco's side) even after all these years she doesn't like him, althought he is really loving towards her. But she just want to be with her 'mammie' :)
 
Last edited:
Hello everyone. Here is the update you've been waiting for all day :cat:
I finally talked to the vet just now, she was very busy today and called me after work hours.
I've told her about how I wanted to change the dosis from 1 shot a day to 2 shots a day with a dosis of 1IE. I askes her opinion and she was very pleased with my decision. She told me we tried once a day because the representitive of ProZinc in the Netherlands told her about the working hours of ProZinc and that it works longer and it may be possible to help cats with one shot a day BUT 2 shots a day is the best ofcourse. I also talked to her about you guys :D and she was excited about the forum. She literally told me : this product is also new to us, we just started working with it and people in the US have been working with it for 10 years + so if you have questions that I can't answer you have to ask them, it's good to have people that have years of experience on a forum to ask for help. She can help me answer medical questions, put personal use questions is really difficult for her because she just started with ProZinc so she is encouraging me to ask you personal question about ProZinc (you see, I told you she is a really sweet lady ) :)

She wants to learn more about ProZinc herself, and she has a lady working in the office that is a specialist in Lantus and Canisuline and that lady is just learing about ProZinc herself. She wanted to know on what forum I am so I gave it to her. We have a appointment next week to call again with eachother and she wants to learn some 'new' stuff from me by you and this forum so that is a real big plus for her.

I asked her al kind of questions and had a really good discussion about everything, but there is one question that I didn't get an answer and she told me to ask you guys because you have personal experience with ProZinc. So here it goes: I'm going to give Baco 1IE in the morning (IF she doesn't have a BG of 200 or lower (11.1MMOL) and one shot in the evening (12 hours apart). I will give her in the morning 70 grams of BARF and 6 hours later she'll get 15 grams of porta21. the same goes for in the evening hours she'll get barf and porta21.
BUT, I don't have anyone near me living that can give her a shot when i'm away. in 2 weeks 5/10/16 i have to work and then after I have a concert and I can't go home between to give Baco a shot. How is this going to work if I really don't have the time to give her a second shot? this is something that will not happen often, but how bad is it for her to miss one shot?

I hope you guys have got some experience with that?
Please let me know.

ps: i'm really excited to try the new routine out tomorrow. :)
 
Last edited:
Wonderful that your vet is supportive and interested in learning herself! You are right, she seems very nice. So to answer your question, it's always better if you can be consistent every 12 hours but, life happens and if there is no one to give her the shot, it will have to be a missed shot. We can think of it as a "fur shot". That is when you give the injection and she jerks away from you and you only get some of the insulin in her or you go all the way through her skin and it comes out the other side, (yes it happens) With a fur shot, you NEVER want to give another one because there is just NO way for certain to know how much got into her and if you were to give another one it could be an overdose. So, the night of your concert if no one can give it, it's like you gave a "fur shot"

Some vet techs .for a fee will come to your home and give shots. It's an idea for another time or if you go out of town. I recently found a pet sitter who I taught to test and he all ready knew how to shoot insulin. He came 5 times over 2.1/2 days for me and it was a God send. Teach your boyfriend to test and shoot to help you in times you get delayed at work or in traffic.

Hope you are seeing someone good in concert. :)
 
I'm so happy with the support of my vet :) I'm even teaching her some new things. I told her just now : we are in this together, you and I both don't know so much about ProZinc and I can teach you 'personal experience' things and you can learn me medical things. I even told her about de syringes I am using thanks to @Nederland because I was using the once with only 1IE on it and not 0.5IE. So I told her to buy it, and she will because she also thinks that those once are better! haha see, I learned her someting today ;)

Okay, so if it happens to be that there is no way that I can give her her shot, than it is not damaging her?

I know, I want to teach my upstares neighbor (she is really sweet and has 2 cat's herself) so she know'sthe situation with Baco, she became a good friend of mine. But I have to 'massage' it you know what i mean? I don't want to just ask her straight... so she is coming over next week and i will ask if she want to giv Baco a shot for me sometimes...

Yeah, stand up comedian :) he's been of the grid for a very long time and my boyfriend bought tickets a while ago so...

btw: He is going to learn is this weekend how to test her and give her shots. But during the week he is at home at his parents house (he lives there and works there, own company) and during the weekends he's with me.
 
I'm so happy with the support of my vet :) I'm even teaching her some new things. I told her just now : we are in this together, you and I both don't know so much about ProZinc and I can teach you 'personal experience' things and you can learn me medical things. I even told her about de syringes I am using thanks to @Nederland because I was using the once with only 1IE on it and not 0.5IE. So I told her to buy it, and she will because she also thinks that those once are better! haha see, I learned her someting today ;)

Okay, so if it happens to be that there is no way that I can give her her shot, than it is not damaging her?

I know, I want to teach my upstares neighbor (she is really sweet and has 2 cat's herself) so she know'sthe situation with Baco, she became a good friend of mine. But I have to 'massage' it you know what i mean? I don't want to just ask her straight... so she is coming over next week and i will ask if she want to giv Baco a shot for me sometimes...

Yeah, stand up comedian :) he's been of the grid for a very long time and my boyfriend bought tickets a while ago so...

btw: He is going to learn is this weekend how to test her and give her shots. But during the week he is at home at his parents house (he lives there and works there, own company) and during the weekends he's with me.
The upstairs neighbor sounds promising and love the "massage" description. You can ask your vet for some saline solution or sterile water for Boyfriend and neighbor to practice giving the injection.

To answer your question, the skipped shot is not going to "hurt' Baco, it's just not going to help. You are on your way, Ruby!!! I am so happy that you are going to dose twice a day and to optimize the efficacy of Prozinc for your baby girl.
 
hahaha massage is the correct word for it ;) She is a really sweet lady and my friend so i think she will do it.. but maybe she is afraid to do it, what is also understandable, so that's why I want to massage it ;) hahaha..

My boyfriend already tried to give her a shot at the vet's with water, that's the same way i learned it. but you know, practice makes perfect and he only tried it once so he also needs a 'massage' hahaha. I told him when Baco was diagnosed that I'm going to do the shots, but i wanted him to learn it if something ever happens to me, and I can not make it home in time or something that he can help Baco for me.

I'm so happy myself, I have a possitive feeling about this I can't wait untill tomorrow to try Baco's new routine.
And I hope she will feel much better already this weekend.
 
hahaha, you are so welcome.. big thanks to you (just like other people on this page) to have changed my mind about the shots.. I'm going to start tomorrow with 1ie shot in the morning and 1ie in the evening (12 hours apart). @Nederland helpt me with a striked dieet plan for Baco with her BARF food(hahaha) so it will work out great. tomorrow i will also test random during the day and ofcourse before every shot.

just one question.. what, if in time Baco's BG is around 200 in the morning before eating, and i wait for 15 to 30 minutes, and it is still not going up.. then what do you do? don't give her a shot? (picture this with a time limite because I have to work) so I get up at 06:45, test her BG, she is at 200 or lower, then wait, then still isn't getting higher.. then wait.. the still isn't getting higher, and then it's like 07:30 and I HAVE to go to work.. what am i supposed to do in that kind of situation?
 
Last edited:
Well guys, for now i'm checking out, i'm really tired and Baco is also telling me to come to bed.. She is almost sleeping.. see the picture below! haha. We will talk tomorrow, I will keep you updated about how tomorrow goes and I'll try to mesure her BG every 2 to 3 hours.
good night (for you, good day haha)
 

Attachments

  • Baco.JPG
    Baco.JPG
    33.6 KB · Views: 129
Until you have enough data to know how she responds when she gets into lower numbers, it would be best for you to skip it to keep her safe since you are gone all day.
 
what, if in time Baco's BG is around 200 in the morning before eating, and i wait for 15 to 30 minutes, and it is still not going up.. then what do you do? don't give her a shot? (picture this with a time limite because I have to work) so I get up at 06:45, give test her, she is at 200 or lower, then wait, then still isn't getting higher.. then wait.. the still isn't getting higher, and then it's like 07:30 and I HAVE to go to work.. what am i supposed to do in that kind of situation?
I agree with Bobbie's answer above ... (and from the ProZinc protocol document):
Low Preshot Numbers
The general recommendation for new diabetics is not to shoot a preshot under 200, but to wait 20 minutes (without feeding as food raises blood glucose levels) and retest. If the number is rising and above 200, then a shot can be given with perhaps a little less insulin given.


I would say that you want to err on the side of caution where Baco's dosing is concerned because of two things:
- You had mentioned that Baco had recently been on a steroid, which can temporarily cause blood glucose levels to be higher than they normally would have been (it takes a while for the effects of steroids to work out of the system entirely);
- You have Baco on a strict diet now, so is extra-important to be pay attention to her BG#s, as they may drop more as she loses some weight.;)
 
Last edited:
I'm so excited you'll be going to twice a day shots!!! Bobbie and Robin are correct that you should skip if the BG is too low and doesn't go up.

Can't wait to see how the new routine goes!
 
Goodmorning! I can tell you this already is working! when I woke up I tested her and she was at 349. then I gave her some raw food (BARF) and gave her her shot of 1IE after eating her food. now at +2 she is already down at 248! That is amazing I've only see her do that once but that was with that strange curve you guys saw earlier this week. So i'm betting on it that she will be +4 somewhere in the blue numbers! oehh I'm so happy this is working. :)
 
Last edited:
Looking good! Watch out for any numbers 50 and under (on a human meter) or 68 on a pet meter. At that point, you'd want to intervene with a small snack of regular food, retest in 15-20 minutes to see if it is rising. If falling, some gravy off higher carb food or honey rubbed on the gums, retest. We say 3 rising tests before you can relax.

And we'd encourage you not to shoot under 200 at this point (as you get more data, that can change). If you get a preshot under 200, wait 20 minutes, without feeding (which can raise the levels on its own) and retest. You want a number that is rising, not falling and at or very near 200. And then, consider a smidge less insulin than the dose that gave you the lower preshot.

How nice to be able to share the lower range info - paws crossed that you are on your way!
 
Hi @Sue and Oliver (GA) I will watch out for that kind of numbers! I use a human meter, so 50 or less is a no no.
She is down at 169 / 171 +5 / +6 so I'm really happy about that. I have to leave the house right now and will be back in a couple of hours so i'm not able to test her at +8 and up.. that's a shame but she will be fine. And I can test her again in the evening and tomorrow so I get a clear view at what the Prozinc is doing for her.

just on more question.. I've read that you can not give her a shot at 200 or less. but what if she is at 201 - 234 or something like that? do I also wait a bit? because that is near the edge and i'm scared that if I give her her shot then, and i go off to work, she might get in TOO low numbers..
 
Last edited:
You should always go with your gut. You hold the syringe and she is your cat. Above 200 should normally be a good cutoff, but if you are ever nervous about giving insulin, give a little less and be sure you can monitor. The 200 cutoff is good for new diabetics, usually a safe number because she has 150 points to drop before hypo range. As you get more data and learn how the insulin works for her, how much and when she might drop, you can get more aggressive. Lots of people (especially when they look like they are headed for remission and are on tiny doses) shoot in the 160-180 range but plan to monitor that cycle.
 
Thanks for the tips. I have food for her always. She gets raw food in the morning along with a tiny bit of hard food. (What she didn't eat today because she was full from the raw food) and then midday she gets fed with the timer bowl. So there is always food :)
 
I would like to ask and learn something about the levels today. They are 'normal' for an prozinc curve. However, the days before, there was no normal prozinc curve.
This morning the dose was lowered to 1 unit, and this was the first shot ever of a twice-a-day-shot (so no influence of last night's shot, because there was none.
Two things have changed: the food and the dose. What could have caused the change?
Food:
- Today a full no-carbs-raw meal at shot-time, low carb kibble 6 hours after the shot
- Days before: a half no-carbs-raw-meal plus low carb kibble at shot time, low carb kibble 6 hours after the shot.
I can imagine that giving only no-carb food at shot time means the body is given the opportunity to react to the insulin, not being hindered by carbs. The low carb kibble is now used only to help the cat if the levels get too low at the nadir. I think this could have caused a normal curve today.
But the dose is lower, half of what it was before. Could this also mean that the dose the days before was too high? That the body reacted against it? Is that possible and is it also possible that the body forgot all about that counter-action within a day, showing a normal curve now?
Or could it be a combination of the two?

I am really happy that Baco is doing so well, but for my comprehension of the workings of Prozinc it would have been better to have changed one thing at a time .... However, that said, the most important thing is that Baco is doing well, whatever the cause.

Sorry, Ruby, this time I steal your topic ....
 
Hahaha @Nederland no problem, you can always steel my topic, because the questions you have are very interesting, and I would like to know the answer to them too! because I find it strange that the curve is normal today with a half dosis of what she got yesterday. So i'm going to sit and wait for (hopefully) the answer to your questions ;)
 
Really, it could be either one. We often do change only one thing at a time so we can know what causes any changes. However, it was best to change the dose so we'd be more sure it wasn't too high. Itw as also good to go ahead and begin the lowest carb food so we can be sure any dose changes in the future are needed, but not because of food. Basically, we're kind of starting over with Baco. The right food, a lower dose (which we would normally start with here) and two shots a day. From here we will use the data Ruby gets to help decide a good dose...and hopefully get Baco into remission (anti jinx)!
 
This is just wonderful Ruby! Now that you are shooting twice a day, you will get a better handle on the numbers and Baco won't be unprotected so to speak. Good job! Keep asking questions so Jeannie @Nederlands can take back information to the forum in The Nederlands. That's what we do here, we share information. :)
 
Thnx!
Yes I will ask questions here, and I also keep the dutch forum up to date every day how it is going with Baco and info that i have from you guys. And Jennie s also reading this topic so she doesn't miss anything.
 
So I tested baco before her second shot and she was at 265 that was oke for her. then she at some raw food again like this morning and at +2 she was at 340 (what?) so I wasn't looking later on but someone, I think Baco, was eating later on before i was suppost to test her, some hard food. Is that the reason you think she is higher in numbers right now?

btw: can some one take a look at my sheet? it doesn't do a vlookup / re-calculate as from colomn P.. I now re-calculated it myself and put it in the sheet that you can see the numbers, but normally it changes the numbers if I put everything in the sheet with MMOL..
 
I think you're seeing a food spike. Most kitties go high at +2. If you test again in an hour or 2 it will be probably be lower. When you say Baco may have been eating earlier, what do you mean? She was eating in the 2 hour time period before the test?

I'm not great with SS...I just read them. @Marje and Gracie might be able to help.
 
I just told her on the dutch forum to take away the low carb food 2 hours before the shot.
And not to give any low carb kibble aroud shooting time, to reserve that for 6 hours later. Around the shot until 6 hours later only no-carb raw food.
Is that an okay advice?
 
Well this morning I tested her +2 and she was dropped, so that's strange that that didn't happen just now. What I meant was, she get's BARF in the morning and some (really little) hard food but this morning she didn't eat them. 6 hours later she gets hard food out of the timer bowl. and this repeats itself in the evening. but she didn't eat the hard food in the afternoon and in the evening she got BARF, then after that I heard her eat som hard food.. so I think that is what cost the BG to increase..
There is always some food (hard food) for her but normally she doesn't eat that, knowing she will get enough of the raw food but tonight she dicided differently i guess.. hope that she will drop a little in numbers at +4. I've taken away the hard food for now, and she will get some at night (in about 2 hours with the timer bowl)... It's not like she hasn't have anything to eat, because her raw food isn't even finished yet.. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top