Baco on ProZinc

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ruby&Baco

Very Active Member
Hi Everybody. I've been reading everything that is on this topic. Let me introduce myself, my name is Ruby and i'm the owner of Baco (the cat that you've been talking about) with the strange curve :)! Jennie told me about this forum and that she was asking you all questions about ProZinc, and i'm curious myself what your experiences are with ProZinc. Yesterday I was really suprised myself about Baco's curve because at first she was getting hire numbers and later in the day / evening she was getting lower ones (strange) I'm still learning about prozinc myself everyday and about the food that I have to give here so she doesn't get as many carbs than she was used to. @Rachel I will test her every 1 to 2 hours this Saturday to get a nice curve. I just tested her every half hour yesterday to see what ProZinc does to her body but that will be the only time I will test her every half hour (poor kitty) I will put the curve up on tis topic on Saturday for you if you want to see it? For now I will only read the comments on this topic, if you have any questions for me regarding Baco, please let me know :)
 
Although I hesitate to do this since Murphy is not a normal, easy to regulate diabetic cat, he has been on prozinc since August - please click on the blue hyperlink under my signature and look at his spreadsheet - the amps and pmps = am preshot blood glucose reading and pmps=evening preshot blood glucose reading the U=number of units of prozinc given then +1, +2, +3, etc = number of hours since the prozinc was given - you can see (mostly) the smile effect - he has high preshot numbers as the prozinc doesn't seem to last long enough for him - you can see his nadirs do vary some from day to day - mostly between +4 and +6 though a few times, his pmps has been low and the insulin lasted longer than 12 hours - when this happened, I figured it was too high a dose given in the am --
 
Welcome, Goof was the same way in the beginning, but not anymore. I'm a ProZinc user and have always followedthe test, FEED, shoot method. In a year and a half, we've only experienced 2 hypo's. One was when I started using u100 needles and my husband misread my note (I was out of town) as to what dose to give. One was very early on in this journey.

There was period of a about 3 weeks, where Goof only needed insulin once a day, we don't know why, but it worked for him.

If you've been keeping a log of Baco's numbers, it'd be really helpful if you could enter that info into our spreadsheet. Marje helped me get set up, but I'm sure there are several others who would be willing to help. It's so much easier to get an accurate picture of what's going on. Also, if you could enter some info into your signature, that would be very helpful. That way if a new set of eyes joins in, they'll have the basic info so they don'thave to go back and look for it in the previous posts. The info we'd like to have is: your location, date of diagnosis,meter used, food and type of insulin used.
 
Last edited:
Hi, I will try to figure out how to make a sheet on this forum. I have one on the dutch forum about ProZinc but not on this forum.
When I'm home (in about 1,5hour) I will try to figure out how to put it in my signature.
She was diagnosed at 06.04.2016 and i've been keeping a log of the numbers since 16.04.2016. And i've made just 2 curve's , one last saturday and one just yesterday (and that was the time the smile effect happend) low numbers, from +7 she was starting to get lower and lower numbers (what is great) but that it kept on going so long is really new and strange to me.. althought, everything is quite strange and new to me because I just started with this whole new life style for Baco.
 
althought, everything is quite strange and new to me because I just started with this whole new life style for Baco.
Hi Ruby - we all know and understand quite well the whole new life style associated with this -I"m still trying to come to terms o_O what part of the Netherlands are you? I'm half dutch (Zeeland)
 
yes, you have to find a balance in your personal life and work and do everything for your cat as well.. it's working out just fine right now, but the first few days was hard! also with the waking up early thing... men that was terrible because i was used to sleeping in during the weekends so i could recharge for work on monday again.. but i must say, i'm used to getting up early every day now, even in the weekends and i feel much more fit than i have ever been.. :) so that's a plus ! hihi. I come from Noord-Holland near to Aalsmeer (you know that?) and i live in a small town called Kudelstaart. So you speak Dutch?
 
Hi Ruby - both of my mother's parents were born in Zeeland - she was born in US. I only know a few words my Grandmother used to say, but I'm not sure if they are Dutch or Flemish :confused: I went there about 10 years ago to try to find if I had any relatives still around - the area had been pretty much destroyed in the two world wars, so not many old buildings were left. I was treated royally by everyone and absolutely love Holland. Wish I could have found some relatives.
 
Oh that's a shame ;) haha! I think it will be Flemisch :p they have a dialect in Zeeland. That great that's you've visited Holland i've visited the US quite a few times, New York, Florida, LA, San Francisco, Las Vegas.. I love how welcomed you are in the US, love how people are and the culture.

@Mogmom and Goofus : I've put all the info in my signature. If there is anything missing, please let me know. I update the sheet daily but I already saw that the way you all fill in the sheet is different from mine? If I test Baco it works with MMOL. So she started today with 20.4MMOL and +10 (just now) she was at 16.9MMOL. I hope that is clear for you all because I don't know how the number work that you all work with?
 
Don't have much to add here, but must tell you that I had to laugh when I saw the name of one of the foods that your Baco is eating: BARF (raw).
In English, the word "barf" means ... to vomit!:p (Regurgitate the food.)

(Am I correct in assuming that your work schedule prevents you from being able to dose Baco with ProZinc twice per day?)
 
@Robin&BB : hahahahaha I know right! I always say it in dutch to Baco "do you want some BARF? " haha :D well she likes it and that's the whole point ;)
Yes that is true, but also the vet told me they have some cats on ProZinc also once a day and that works perfectly. So yes, work is not letting me do twice a day but if I must, in the future, I will work my way around it...
 
I had to laugh when I saw the name of one of the foods that your Baco is eating: BARF (raw).
In English, the word "barf" means ... to vomit!:p (Regurgitate the food.)
Robin, in the UK a raw diet is often called 'BARF' too. It's a (rather amusing) acronym for Biologically Appropriate Raw Food. :D
.
 
So yes, work is not letting me do twice a day but if I must, in the future, I will work my way around it...
Time will tell.:) And will hope that works out for you. But that said ...
the vet told me they have some cats on ProZinc also once a day and that works perfectly.
Once a day dosing on ProZinc is actually not the most effective schedule, regardless of what this vet would like to have you believe.
Here's why: It is not a 24-hour insulin. Please understand that I am in no way saying that it's not possible that Baco's diabetes can be controlled in the way the vet says works for "some" cats he/she has seen; it's just that it may be more difficult to achieve good glucose regulation in that way (nor is dosing once every 24 hrs. the schedule recommended by the maker of ProZinc). Again, only time will tell if this works for you. Will certainly hope that it does.:bighug:
 
Once a day dosing on ProZinc is actually not the most effective schedule, regardless of what this vet would like to have you believe.
Here's why: It is not a 24-hour insulin. Please understand that I am in no way saying that it's not possible that Baco's diabetes can be controlled in the way the vet says works for "some" cats he/she has seen; it's just that it may be more difficult to achieve good glucose regulation in that way (nor is dosing once every 24 hrs. the schedule recommended by the maker of ProZinc). Again, only time will tell if this works for you. Will certainly hope that it does.:bighug:

That's true, time will tell. On the Dutch forum they are also sceptical about once a day shot but I would like to try it this way first. And if it doesn't work for Baco then I will give her 2 shots a day. But the problem is my work and my personal life you know. During the week I can possibly give her 2 shots but in the weekends that means no going out, no diner with friends/family because I have to give her a shot extra...... So that's really difficult for me because I have a busy work week and that doesn't mean i'm gone al weekend ( that's not the case) but if i sometimes would like to go away for a long day, i'm not able to do that because then I have to give her a shot in the beginning of the evening. I've talked to my boyfriend about giving her 2 shots a day (we don't live together yet) but if I have plans and i'm on a scedule with 2 shots a day, that's gonna be a problem if I give her her shot later you know what I mean? It's not that I don't want to give it to her, but I don't have someone in the area that can give her a shot if i'm going to be late at home.... so if this works for her with one shot, it would be an outcome for me.
 
Let me introduce myself. My name is Ruby and I live in The Netherlands, and I have a 9 year old cat named Baco. She is diagnosed with diabetes on the 6th of April.
I've been giving her one shot ProZinc a day (the vet's orders) instead of 2 shots a day. She tells me that there are more cats in the clinic that she put on 1 shot a day and are doing great. I'm a little sceptic about everything also because in The Netherlands ProZinc is just now on the market and there aren't a lot of people who are on ProZinc so I don't know what to expect of it.
She gets 2IE a day (I don't know if the term IE is common for you?) I use U40 syringes (maybe that make sense to you?) I made a curve just yesterday, you can find it in my signature to see what her curve does.
It seems that ProZinc (or something else) is working later in the day, because she is getting lower in numbers what sounds strange to me. How do you guys see that with your cat? how is there curve on a day? I would like to learn more about ProZinc and the behaviour of the cat's curve.
If you have any question, please let me know!
 
Hey Ruby, first of all ProZinc is to be dosed twice daily 12 hours apart as per manufacturer. It only last up to 12 hours, (sometimes in some cats it might go longer) So if you are only dosing 1 time a day, Baco is going in higher numbers when the insulin wears off.

Prozinc, according to the manufacturer -
- onset by +3
- nadir/peak between +5 and +7
- duration of 10 to 14 hours
From petdiabetes wiki
Action in cats:
onset 2-5h,
peak 12-24h
duration: maximum 36h.

Generally, depending on an individual cat’s reaction to the insulin and the dosage, BCP PZI will lower blood glucose levels for 10 to 14 hours with a peak in the +6 to +8 timeframe. However, some cats experience shorter or longer duration and earlier or later peaks.

I peaked at you SS and it looks like it only goes to +16. Look at ours and you will see that it is 2 twelve hour cycles. Here is an explanation of how to read ours.

AMPS is the AM Pre-shot test (always test before shooting to make sure they're high enough to give insulin)...then the U column is for "Units" (how much you gave)

The +1, +2, +3, etc are for how many hours since shooting...so +2 is 2 hours after the AM shot, +9 is 9 hour after, etc.....Since we're all over the world here, saying "he was at 148 at 8pm" doesn't tell us anything...we need to know how long since his last shot

At the end of a 12 hour cycle, it's PMPS time! (PM Pre-shot) and the whole thing starts over.

Here is the protocol that Sue and Oliver put together for ProZinc users.

http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/protocol-for-prozinc-pzi.109077/

Hope this info helps.
 
Hey, I know that the it is recommended 2 a day, but my vet told me we are going to try it with one dosis a day. There are some other cats that she has treated and the are also on one shot a day and they are doing great. So i'm going to wait to see what it will do for Baco. Yesterday Baco's nadir (peak) was at +14 (that was really late) that was +14 after her shot in the morning. She was at 10.9 (what was really okay considering that she is normally above 20!).

what do you mean with BCP PZI? (sorry, i'm not that good in English haha)

Yes it's true that my SS only goes to +16 but that's because she only get's 1 shot a day in the morning around 07:00 and around +16 it's bed time for me ;) so that will be the latest point that I can check her on a day.




The +1, +2, +3, etc are for how many hours since shooting...so +2 is 2 hours after the AM shot, +9 is 9 hour after, etc.....Since we're all over the world here, saying "he was at 148 at 8pm" doesn't tell us anything...we need to know how long since his last shot

What do you mean? I keep in my SS what time (so +8 +9 +10 ) what her MMOL is.. so that's fine right? I've written everything in my SS. Please look at her curve from yesterday, you can see how it goes during the day.
 
Ruby I am not sure how to interpret your numbers compared to ours. Let's see if someone with more knowledge than me can help you with your curve.

As far as the once a day dosing,I would be quite surprised if you could get Baco regulated or even off the juice with a once a day dosing, IMHO.

As far as our SS goes, so +8 would be 8 hours after injection. We talk in + terms as we are all from all over the world and it helps us understand better what is going on.
 
yes, +8 is 8 hours after the shot ProZinc so the +8 or +9 and so on is the same for you as for me.
I hope someone can help me with a sheet (SS) that can translate it for you....
 
Ruby, would you like to use a sheet in which you fill in the mmol-value, and which automatically (in the cell below) fills in the mg/dl-value? So the people in the US see the values they are used to (and we in The Netherlands see mmol)? You just started, so you could also fill in the few old values in the new sheet
 
We have sheets that calculate from mmol to mg or back. In Belgium they use mg, in The Netherlands mmol, so we deal with this issue on a regular basis with our Belgium members from the dutch-speaking part of Belgium. The idea is the same as on your sheets: een mpre en apre value just before the shot, the +1 one hour after etc. and the eh column for the units. The coloring may be a bit different, however.
 
You are welcome. I wasn't sure if it automatically converting but it did! Good.

Since you are only shooting once a day, it would be interesting to see if you could get some numbers beyond your +16 ( I know that would make you having to be up in the wee hours of the morning) but it would fill in the puzzle as to what happens during those hours. Interesting that you got a nadir at +14 today but that was after you increased to 2 units but on the 18th of April, the nadir was more typically at +6 when you shot 1 unit.

Like we said before, twice a day for Prozinc 12 hours apart is going to help you get Baco better regulated so that she will be above the renal threshold. I do understand how confining it is as you stated on the Nederland thread but it could be the difference of better regulation and /or going off insulin (OTJ) Prozinc is a bit more forgiving in that if you are a little late shooting or a little earlier ( say around 30 minutes earlier) it's not a huge deal.

Another important thing is food and we promote a low carb wet diet under 10% carbs. Not sure if that was discussed in the other thread or not.
 
Another thing, we like to see the increases in units of .25 rather than whole units. The reason is that you could go past the ideal dose when you increase in whole units. Also to keep Baco safe and not to go into a hypo situation.

Does your U40 syringes have .50 unit markings? If so, you can eyeball between a unit and the 1/2 marking or you could use U100 syringes which is what a lot of the Prozincers use so they can make those micro dose increases and decreases. If you go with the U100 syringes you will need a conversion chart which we can post for you if you need it.
 
Yes it turned out good :) again, thanks!
It is interesting to see what it will do for her if I measure her after +16, but I can not say when I will do that. I have to check when I have the time to do that because during the week I have to get up early for work. So I need to do such a thing when I'm free from work and have a couple of days left to rest from such a nighter ;) So I can't promise you that I will do that this weekend.. maybe next week because then I'm free thursday untill sunday (so maybe then).

with the dosis of 1.5IE you're right that the nadir was at +6 so that's why I find it strange that the 2 days later with 2IE she get's a nadir at +14.

I do understand how confining it is as you stated on the Nederland thread but it could be the difference of better regulation and /or going off insulin (OTJ) Prozinc is a bit more forgiving in that if you are a little late shooting or a little earlier ( say around 30 minutes earlier) it's not a huge deal.
I don't quite understand what you mean by the above, can you explain ? (sorry, my English is good but with this kind of stuff...)

Well I give her in the morning Porta21 (I don't know if you know that brand?) on the Dutch forum they told me to use that because it is low carb. So she get's that in the morning 30grams at 07:00. Than at 13:00 she get's 10 grams of porta21. than in the evening 19:00-20:00 she gets no carb food, fresh meat / fish. and then late at night she gets 10 grams of porta21 again 01:00.

I called with the vet yesterday about her new syringes and I told her they are much more precise so if needed I can give her 0.25 more/less instead of 0.5 or 1. So she told me that was a good idea but for now, because of her curve from yesterday, the vet didn't want to change the dosis just yet. I have an appointment with her tomorrow on the phone about Baco and the curve that I made again so I will let her do the talking tomorrow and we will decide what is going to happen. the U 40 syringes have 0.5 unit markings yes.!
 
I do understand how confining it is as you stated on the Nederland thread but it could be the difference of better regulation and /or going off insulin (OTJ) Prozinc is a bit more forgiving in that if you are a little late shooting or a little earlier ( say around 30 minutes earlier) it's not a huge deal.
What I meant by the above is that you had mentioned that it would be hard for you to shoot with your work schedule and social life so that is why I offered to you that if you do choose to start shooting 2 times a day, 12 hours apart, you can be a bit flexible with the times being 30 minutes earlier of later without it causing harm to Baco.
 
The ultimate aim is to reach a honeymoon / remission, not having to use insulin anymore. That can only be done if the cat is well regulated, with twice a day shots, trying to keep him under the renal treshold of around 13 mmol as long as possible during the 24 hours. The body is then able to recover, or not to deteriorate more because of unregulated diabetes. That is also why lantus has such a high honeymoon-rate: they aim at normal values during 24 hours on the tight regulation protocol. The pancreas can recover (no promise, but a very good chance)
Do I say this correctly?
 
The ultimate aim is to reach a honeymoon / remission, not having to use insulin anymore. That can only be done if the cat is well regulated, with twice a day shots, trying to keep him under the renal treshold of around 13 mmol as long as possible during the 24 hours. The body is then able to recover, or not to deteriorate more because of unregulated diabetes. That is also why lantus has such a high honeymoon-rate: they aim at normal values during 24 hours on the tight regulation protocol. The pancreas can recover (no promise, but a very good chance)
Do I say this correctly?
Exactly!
 
@Nederland : I'm listening to what you are saying but this is the way i'm going to give Baco her insuline right now, just like i've discussed with the vet. If this is not working the way it should then I will discuse the possibility of giving Baco ProZinc twice a day. I'm not going to change it just because people tell me to do it. And ofcourse a lot of people on the forums are experienced, even more than a vet (maybe) with diabetic cats but I will not change anything without a vet's opinion about it. I'm just on forums to get tips and advice on food, and testing etc but I will not change the dose out of the blue.
 
I know, Ruby. But we can express our opinion about it, just like you can. We only mean to inform you as completely as possible, just like your vet does. It's up to you to decide what to do with the information you get from all sides.
I only explained in my posting what Bobby and Bubba said in posting #28 and what you asked a question about in #30, because you didn't understand what it meant. You asked for an explanation, I gave it.
 
That's the beauty of forums, to gather information and opinions. We would be remiss to withhold information that we know to be true about the best way to use ProZinc. Everyone has freewill. No judgements here. (unless of course I think someone is endangering their kitties life, then I open my big mouth) :blackeye:
 
Hi again, Ruby - glad to see you have this thread & have added a SS that we goofy Americans can understand.:p (We who live in the only developed country in the world that still does not use the metric system.:banghead: )
I'm not going to change it just because people tell me to do it. And of course a lot of people on the forums are experienced, even more than a vet (maybe) with diabetic cats but I will not change anything without a vet's opinion about it.
I will offer this up to you now, Ruby, and then I will let it go: The manufacturer of ProZinc recommends twice a day dosing - not once a day. I'm sorry, but I think your vet is just telling you it's okay because either she doesn't realize that once every 24 hours is not really an effective way to get a cat regulated OR she knows that some of her patients would prefer not to have to stick to a "once every 12 hours" schedule. (We all know that it isn't exactly easy.)

No veterinarian is a "god" - and there are many, many (including me) among our membership here at FDMB who can tell you we HAVE learned - sometimes in a very hard, even heartbreaking way - that veterinarians can be mistaken in their beliefs about how to "effectively" treat feline diabetes. They are only human, after all - like any of us - and they are capable of making just as many errors in judgment as any other human being, regardless of education. (Sometimes ego get in the way, too, especially where veterinarians or other doctors are concerned! We laypeople historically have tended to put them all on "pedestals." More's the pity.)

Of course, it is entirely up to you what you do: Whether or not you want to take one vet's word for it vs. reading through the drug manufacturer's recommendations for dosing (based on actual studies). And whether you want to take into serious consideration what the bulk of the experiences of ProZinc users here can inform: That if you desire to get your newly diagnosed cat well-regulated as quickly and effectively as possible, you'll understand the wisdom of twice-daily dosing. (You can always use a timed feeder to make sure your cat is eating - to help guard against hypoglycemia - if you cannot be around to test at certain times after a shot of insulin.)

Please know this: No one is really trying to bash you over the head about your choices; rather, we want you to realize that once-a-day dosing will just make it take that much longer for you to get your kitty regulated. (I would assume that your goal is to have Baco 100% healthy as quickly as possible and in full remission, correct?)

On that note, I'll let it go about the dosing issue. I sincerely hope the best outcome for you and Baco - as I know everyone who has written on this thread does, too.:bighug: - Robin
 
So tomorrow i'm going to call the vet again about Baco's curve from yesterday, and the numbers from today and tomorrow. What is your advice (if you look at Baco's SS) to do with the dosis? I'm giving her now 2.oIE a day (one shot) and I would like to keep trying this with one shot a day for a couple of weeks to see what it does. What would you'll advise be for me? change the dosis with 0.25 up? and when should I change the dosis? and how much MG/DL is good to be on each day.
And what would you recommend me if i would give 2 shots a day? how much would the dosis be then?
 
Please know this: No one is really trying to bash you over the head about your choices; rather, we want you to realize that once-a-day dosing will just make it take that much longer for you to get your kitty regulated. (I would assume that your goal is to have Baco 100% healthy as quickly as possible and in full remission, correct?)

And yes, ofcourse I would love it for Baco to be healthy again and even get of the ProZinc so she doesn't need it anymore.. if that means I have to give her 2 shots a day and you can tell me for sure that that is going to work to get her of the ProZinc, then I will do it....
 
And yes, ofcourse I would love it for Baco to be healthy again and even get of the ProZinc so she doesn't need it anymore.. if that means I have to give her 2 shots a day and you can tell me for sure that that is going to work to get her of the ProZinc, then I will do it....
Remember, there are no guarentees, we can only go on what research point to. Someone should be along soon to help you with your dose questions. If you go up to the right corner of your screen and click on "edit title" and change to a question mark, it will get more attention. As I said before, we are very short handed with ProZinc advisors right now so please be patient.
 
Thx! I've changed it. I'm going to bed now, hoping that i will receive a message from a ProZinc expert soon, so I can talk about the advice with my vet tomorrow.
Thank you again for the help! I will wait ☺️
 
I would like to keep trying this with one shot a day for a couple of weeks to see what it does. What would you'll advise be for me? change the dosis with 0.25 up? and when should I change the dosis? and how much MG/DL is good to be on each day.
I cannot give you any advice on dosing just once a day. For all we know, if your vet based the starting dose on the in-clinic blood glucose result alone, she could have started Baco off on too high a dose from the very beginning of treatment. (Noting how high and flat he has remained, with few exceptions in the hours after dosing.)
And what would you recommend me if i would give 2 shots a day? how much would the dosis be then?
And yes, of course I would love it for Baco to be healthy again and even get off the ProZinc so she doesn't need it anymore.. if that means I have to give her 2 shots a day and you can tell me for sure that that is going to work to get her of the ProZinc, then I will do it....
Before I answer this: Are you serious about possibly changing to twice a day? If so, what times, 12 hours apart, would work for you? (A half-hour deviation from the 12-hr. schedule is not the end of the world, by the way ...)
 
I cannot give you any advice on dosing just once a day. For all we know, if your vet based the starting dose on the in-clinic blood glucose result alone, she could have started Baco off on too high a dose from the very beginning of treatment. (Noting how high and flat he has remained, with few exceptions in the hours after dosing.)
Before I answer this: Are you serious about possibly changing to twice a day? If so, what times, 12 hours apart, would work for you? (A half-hour deviation from the 12-hr. schedule is not the end of the world, by the way ...)
Yes i'm considering after all the posts to giving her twice a day a shot because the changes of getting her of the insuline is higher in that way.
So yes, i would like to hear from you all what type of dosis she is supposed to get with a twice a day shot so i can discuse that tomorrow with the vet.
And i don't think the vet gave her a high dosis because she was a lot higher mmol when she was first diagnosed with diabetes.
But i would like to hear what you think about it.
 
Thx! I've changed it. I'm going to bed now, hoping that i will receive a message from a ProZinc expert soon, so I can talk about the advice with my vet tomorrow. Thank you again for the help! I will wait ☺️
Unfortunately, my message above posted 5 minutes too late ...

About a starting dose for twice a day: After looking closely at Baco's SS, if she were my own cat, I would start with just 1.0U dosed 12 hours apart - because you can always increase the dose later on. (As long as there are no ketones or other medical complications, 1 unit dosed this way should be a good start-point for 12-hr. dosing.)

Why do I think this may be a good place to start? Just look at her BG#s when that morning dose of insulin is wearing off (night hours) - look at how much lower they are in the 12 hours or so after that dose was given, when it's starting to wear off/ has worn off. (That should tell you that something is a little bit off about the dose ...)

Please check for ketones regularly. AND monitor her blood glucose levels closely the first days so that you can see when she hits her nadirs each 12-hour cycle. If you have your weekends off, I would recommend that you start her at the beginning of your weekend, as you will be able to monitor her more BG #s well. You will need to set an alarm to wake up to test during the night cycle a maybe 2-3 times at mid-cycle, but believe me: That little inconvenience will pay off by providing you an understanding of how her body is processing the insulin both day and night.

About ProZinc, we often say, "Start low, go slow." Please read through that "ProZinc Protocol" document again (I'm sorry, but you'll have to convert the U.S #s to metric.:oops:)
 
Sorry, I was editing my above post in the last few seconds, so you may want to go back and re-read that ... (Please note this is just my own opinion; others here may have another idea as to what your starting dose twice-a-day should be.:)) I tend to be conservative when it comes to dosing for a recently diagnosed cat - would rather err on the side of safety.
 
Thank you so much for you advice. I will talk to the vet tomorrow about it.
What would i do with food? She gets porta21(low carb hard food) in the morning 30 grams then later 13:00hours she get's it again but then 10 grams (timerbowl) then at night 19:00 (when she should get her second shot) she get's no carb food (BARF ;)) and then at night with the timerbowl 10 grams porta21.
Is that okay to stick to you think? And yes if i'm going to give her 2 shots a day i will start in the weekend ofcours so i'm with her.
And if you give 2 shots a day, and it goes well, how do you know that she will need less insuline? How do you know/see that she's in 'honeymoon' fase? I really don't know that much about it... I'm sorry..
 
And there is another saying we use a lot on the ProZinc forum as relates to dosing: "Better too high for a day than too low for a moment.";)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top