Baco on ProZinc part 4

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ruby&Baco

Member Since 2016
Hi everyone,

Just made a new one, again, because the other one was getting to long.
I have a question, because i'm seeing a pattern for the first time !
Baco's # are almost identical now after the PM shot, as it was after the AM shot, don't you think?
What should I do now? because she is at 223 at +4 now but that is (what I may believe) her nadir, just like after her AM shot... but I'm worried she may drop out of the blue... what do you think when you look at her SS?
Are these # good? because of the pattern?

@Sue and Oliver (GA)
@Rachel
@Bobbie And Bubba
@Robin&BB
 
Hi Ruby ~ wow, her PM cycle does look like her AM cycle. Hopefully that is a good sign that she is not rising and it will be interesting to see what you get for an AM number tomorrow. And depending on that number maybe it'll help you decide to increase to .40 or .50. It would be great if you could get another test in sometime later if you were to get up to go to the bathroom. It would be nice to see if she dipped into the blues and how far.
 
It's so freaky right! totally looking like her AM cycle haha, I was really surprised!
Well I will try to test her at +6, but to be honest, this tight scedule with Baco, testing, feeding, shot, testing again etc, is draining me a little bit. So like last night I put my alarm on at +6 and +8 but I was so tired I couldn't get out of bed to test her in the middle of the night... so I will try again tonight, but I'm not going to promise that this will work.. I need my sleep as much as I can right now :(:nailbiting:
Tomorrow's AM will be 0.35 but maybe when she will get other # I will increase her dose at PM with 0.40...
 
Hello again! i've picked up the U100 syringes, and they are working really well. I gave Baco at PM a dose of 0.40 (1.0 with the U100 syringes) The only thing is, if I want to lower her dose in a couple of days (maybe) I have to buy new syringes U100 because they don't have the half units on the syringes, so that's not good to have!
She is doing very well (I think), She was at PMPS at 292 and +3 was 248. So she isn't dropping like crazy (like before) but is doing a slow drop, I think that is what we want right?
I will check her +4 for sure, and maybe +5 (don't know yet if I can stay up that long, will try though).
 
Btw, I wanted to share something with you all.
Picked up the U100 syringes today and gave Baco's shot at PM with the U100, but before I did that I was unsure if the dose was correct (converting you know) so my BF suggested to suck up some water in the U40 syringe, pull it up to 0.35 and let it out on another plate and do the same with the U100 up tot 1.0 and let it out next to the U40 water... GUESS WHAT!!! Now ( I think I know) why Baco's # were all over the place.

The U40 ones didn't let everything out (the water) and I tried it with 3 different new U40 syringes and they all did the same thing.. no wonder why Baco was bouncing a lot!
The U100 let's everything out (untill the last drop) but the U40 isn't even getting everything out OR not even letting anything out of it's needle.
So it's good to know now, but a little frustrating because I think by myself, if the syringes were working properly then I maybe had Baco already on the right dose... But yeah,, that's a little bit of a bummer...
 
Good experiment! The problem with all syringes are they can be terribly inaccurate and some of the zero lines are actually more like a 1/2 unit. :banghead: I like what I see this cycle :)
 
I started with the U100 syringes this week as well. Its nice to be able to give a more precise dose! Hope the .4 works well for Baco :) That is wierd about the U40 syringe holding some of the liquid.... I don't know what your vet charged you for the syringes but you can order them online if that would work better. This is 100 needles and the container for the used ones:

http://www.adwdiabetes.com/product/ultiguard-ulticare-pet-insulin-syringes_2278.htm
 
Good experiment!
Yeah my BF can be smart sometimes ;) hahaha! I wouldn't be thinking of that kind of things... hihi!
I'm also liking this cycle a lot, she just ate some raw food so I'm guessing her +5 (in 20 minutes) will be a little higher than +4 but that's okay.
She's doing great with this cycle I think so far.

@Sarah Smith : Yes it is nice to give a more precise dose, that's why I also switched to the U100.
Hope it does work for Baco, but this cycle she is showing us that she's doing great, and i'm loving it :p
It is really weird, but i'm not taking any more risk and I'm sending them back to the company because I think it is dangerous not to know what you're giving your kitty..
The U100 syringes are way better. Well she owed me 10x the U40 ones, but I've had a chat with her and told her that (because every one on the forum was suggesting it to me) that I wanted to use the U100 ones.
So she didn't charge me anything because I already paid for U40 ones 10 pieces... So I switched them..
But the extra ones i have (I've got a box of U40 ones 100 pieces) I ordered off the internet ofcourse, because at the vet they charge a lot for the syringes, so much more than online, I figured that out myself when it was the moment Baco was diagnosed ;) hahaha the only thing I buy at the vet is the prozinc, the rest I buy online ;)
But thanks for the tip Sarah, I appreciate it a lot!:bighug:
 
Maybe this is a stupid question, but Baco is doing okay today, just like yesterday.. going down but not to quick so that's a good thing. she started with 306 at amps, +2 302 +4 266 and now at +6 going up to 275.
She ate just 30 minutes ago, so that could be an explanation, but I wanted to ask the following question.
It's beautiful weather right now in the netherlands, and we are laying in our back yard and Baco (and Minnie) are also joining us! They will walk in and out of the house/backyard.. But is the warm weather having an effect on her numbers? Or is that just my feeling that isn't thinking the right way :) ?
 
Hahaha thanks! Just wanted to make sure that her # are accurate and not being affected by warm weather.. But she's chilling in the shadow, she loves being outside in the garden!
 
So good to hear she (and you) can take some time to enjoy the sunshine. I think we need to give this new dose a few cycles to see if she continues flat or starts to lower. Both the increase and the food can take awhile to work together.
 
I will let this cycle 'sit out' for a couple more days.. But like I just posted on the Dutch forum, I get a feeling the 0.40 dose workes for her being steady, BUT it looks like it's not enough insuline because you (we) would like to see blue # instead of the yellow/purple ones..
Just like right now, +8 is already a higher # then her AMPS, what should not really be the case considering she has to wait almost 4 hours untill her next shot....
 
Well that wasn't the case with Baco today then... She was going up in # so i figured, maybe it's because she's feeling hot because of the weather but that isn't the case.
Thanks for the info !

@Sue and Oliver (GA) : Yes she (and Minnie) love getting in the garden and playing, and when they are done playing they will lay next to me when i'm sunbathing !
 
Goodmoring, well someone decided to be a little grumpy today?! Baco didn't want to eat her raw food, i tried everything but the flavor I had laying in the fridge (salmon) isn't her favorite apparently.. So i tried another flavor and mix it with the food Minnie gets (it's also wet food but that ones containes some carbs) she didn't want that and then she vomite! Omggggg so i was fed up with this situation, so i gave her a little food from Minnie, she just ate a few bites.. And then I wanted to give her her shot and she was hissing at me !!! :banghead::nailbiting: So i eventually managed to give her her shot but she is totally not happy with me and didn't eat that much either.... Well i guess she doesn't want to eat because she vomite earlier.. her amps was really high so I don't think it's a real problem that she didn't eat that much ?
 
Hi Ruby, hopefully she will eat some more for you later since she only had a few bites. How is she doing now? Anymore vomiting?
 
Hi! No she ate every thing (the food that minnie gets) and she's getting some raw food in 30 minutes. The problem with the raw food is that if she doesn't like the flavor, i can't give her anything else because that type of food needs to be frozen in the freezer, and i'll take it out of the freezer and put it in the fridge the night before so I can give her that in the moring. So if she doesn't like the flavor she will get some of minnie's food unfortunately.
No she didn't vomit anymore, it just happens sometimes, especially when she doesn't like the food (she's a picky one) !
I'm trying out all the types of flavors there are to see wich ones she preferes and wich ones she don't like so I don't or do order it the next time.
 
Question! I've been giving baco her dose of 0.4 since almost 2 days now but i'm seeing worse # than before. She's almost constantly being in the purple ones! What should I do? Give her more insuline? I'm getting a little frustrated, thought she was doing better but since 2 days she almost constantly in her purple #. Especially after her AM shot she's doing terrible and staying in the purple #, but it's crazy that after her PM shot she is going in to the yellow #. she get's the same food so that is not a thing that can manipulate her # going up or down during the 2 cycles... you would think that her cycles should be almost the same...
 
Last edited:
Glad Baco didn't vomit again and ate for you. It looks like this dose isn't doing much for her. If you go up the next cycle can you monitor her?
 
I can monitor her at PM +2 +4 (maybe +6) but not later that that because tomorrow I have to work again.. so I can't monitor her the following week. only ofcourse the AMPS and when I return from work and at PMPS...
but I told you, next tuesday i'm not going to give her a PM shot because that is the day i've got that concert..
 
I think increasing would be fine, but I'd try to get an early test in (your times may work if she has an early nadir as she sometimes does) and maybe ask a friend to come over and observe her around +6. Also leave some food it - cats sometimes eat if they feel themselves dropping low.
 
Thanks @Sue and Oliver (GA) .
What should I increase it to? 0,5 again? Or 0.45?
There is nobody who can monitor her, so that's really hard during my work week.. My BF is not around this next week, and nobody else knows how to monitor her (with the testing and stuff) and if I increase, should I let some dry food out when I'm working? Just a few kibbles next to her raw food?
 
Maybe try 0.45? If that doesn't work in a few cycles, increase again? Since 0.50 brought her low once, maybe 0.45 will bring her down but not too far.

Is there anyone who could just keep an eye on her? Not test necessarily but know the signs of a hypo and be able to give you a call if she is acting odd?
 
Thanks Rachel! I will increase to 0.45 at PM tonight.
No unfortunatly not, my upstairs neighbors can but they also have a fulltime job so they can't watch her.
 
Well that's the negative thing about having to work fulltime and heaving a diabetic kitty at home.. I just can't monitor her during the week around her nadir (after AM) at PM i'm almost every night home so that isn't a problem. Only on weekends I can monitor her.
 
Then you plan to be more adventurous with dosing on the weekends and more careful during the week. If you are tempted to feel you can't do as much as you want to do for her, remember you have chosen to treat her and keep her safe by testing her. So many people, when presented with the diagnosis, just give up and have their cats put to sleep, or go home with insulin and give shots, having no idea where the cat's levels are, until one day they hypo.

You're doing a great job - give yourself the credit you deserve. :bighug:
 
Thanks so much Sue for the lovely encouraging words!
I'm doing everything I can to get Baco better ☺️!
Only one question, on the Dutch forum they tell me I have to wait 3 days (6cycles) before changing up her dose. Is this a problem now? Because her dose isn't already 3 days but +\- 2 days.
 
We don't have hard and fast rules because we are big on that every cat is different thing. Some cats here are on a sliding scale with the dose tailored to each preshot; some need consistency and need 3-6 cycles before they really start to respond fully to a change. Again, do what works for her and with your life.
 
Okay so I have an urging question right now because Baco is at PMPS at 238 (at +8 she was still at 340) so in almost 3 hours she made a drop of 100 points..
She didn't eat anything between +8 and just now so why is this drop such a plunge? and should I continue giving her her 0.40 shot just to be sure? because now I'm a little scared that her # will go hypo # if I give her 0.45.
This is sooo strange! hope to hear from you soon because I have to give her a shot in 20-30 minutes!
 
That is not a huge drop but unusual coming later in the cycle . We didn't like her early nadirs so I imagine this seems worrying to you but remember both numbers are in safe ranges. My concern would be that she is rising, not still falling when you shoot. So another test in 20 minutes without feeding. If she is rising, then 0.4 would be okay. If you could monitor, the 0.45 would most likely be okay, but I know that was going to be an issue.

These aren't scary numbers, just a late downward trend. Maybe the raw food is starting to work its magic.
 
Well she didn't drop that low ever at her pmps (just once) so I'm a little concerned.. She just ate,, so that testing her in 20 minutes without feeding is going te be a problem....:banghead:
What should I do? I can monitor her tonight, that's no problem...
 
If you can monitor, then 0.4 would probably be safest. It's a nice normal pmps but lower than she has been.

So, next time you get a pmps that is lower than the rest of the cycle, plan to withhold food and retest. We want a rising number, not a falling one. It is not a big deal with the numbers she is getting, but is a good practice. If she is ever, say, at 180 or lower at preshot and still falling, shooting could mean you might be adding insulin when the previous dose is still working or when the pancreas is working. Not a good idea as she could then drop early and fast. Make sense?
 
Hi, I will stick with the 0.40 for now because of her lower PMPS (although her amps today is again like yesterday high, 356)
But i'm not around during the week to monitor her, so maybe this weekend if I still feel her # aren't dropping enough I will change the dose next weekend.
 
Hi you all!
so I just came home from work and Baco is +11 at 214.
she almost will get some food (in a couple of minutes) but what should I do now?
wait for a bit with food and test her again? because maybe the insuline is still working?
 
Well I did what I thought was good.. I waited 20 minutes withouth giving her food. then tested her again and she was going up. But I thought maybe stall for an extra 20 minutes because she knows when I get home from work she will get food so maybe she was really excited and that was why her BG was rising.. but that wasn't the case! so I tested her PMPS now and it was at 265, so its a good #. hopefully this is the beginning of her getting some lower # and when I give her her shot now, she will begin to drop again! that would be nice.
 
Perfect! I like the lowering pmps numbers.

We need to think about why amps is higher - lower number at night and bounce, more food/less food, more running around/sleeping. Or do we need to look at 11/13 to balance out the numbers. Do some thinking and maybe by next weekend, we can have a plan ready.
 
Well that was what I was thinking also. On the dutch forum they told me it could by because of hormones in the morning?
She doesn't do that much, she is a lazy cat you know... haha! but during the day she's more active than at night (but then her # are lower so that doesn't make sense)..
I get the feeling the dose is okay for her the 0.40 but indeed why are her AMPS's that high....
What do you mean with the 11/13?
 
Last edited:
Well her # didn't drop but even got higher after her pm shot. I think it's good to give her a higher dose this weekend don't you think?
 
11/13 is a dosing technique we us sometimes. Since Baco has higher AMPS, it would mean you would shoot at +11 in the morning and +13 in the evening. Make sense? Sometimes that works great for kitties who have those higher numbers at one preshot number.

I wouldn't want to try to guess at a dose for this weekend yet. Let's wait and see where Baco goes first.
 
Thanks Rachel. We will talk about it this weekend then. I'm a little sick so i decided to stay home today, so during the day I can monitor her but later I will not give her a shot because I have to go to a concert we planned months ago. So i'm not happy about that but it is what is it... I asume I cant give her a light dose around +8? So she has some extra in her system? I don't think it works that way right?
 
Nope, I wouldn't do that. That's pretty early for a dose and if Baco has insulin in the system the more is added, it can cause a sudden, steep drop.

Don't worry about it Ruby. Your life doesn't stop because you have a diabetic cat. Sometimes we have to skip. You'll get her back on track pretty fast.
 
Oke, thanks for the info! that's a bummer, I know my life doesn't stop but she is getting more stable by the day! so it's frustrating that she can't have a shot tonight...
Please look at her SS if you have the time! she's doing great today so far :bighug: She's got a blue # at +4 / 198!
 
Yes she's doing great today! Luckely for me i'm home to witness this amazing drop :)
Sorry to ask, but what does anti jinx mean?
 
Haha anti jinx is our way of trying to not give bad luck. It's something we say when we talk about a cat going in remission or something good happening after tough times. :)
 
ohh hahahah! well for sure this needs ANTI JINX then ;)
will test her in 15 minutes, hopefully she's still dropping a little... fingers crossed!

update! she is still dropping! down to 185 at +5 now:joyful:
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top