Baco on ProZinc part 2

Status
Not open for further replies.
She looks a little flat this cycle, but I would give this new dose a few more cycles. Some cats take a while to "settle" in when you change the dose. And having a shootable pmps is a gift. It gives you the opportunity to easily manage giving 2 shots daily and hopefully to relax a little.

Meanwhile she is in nice lower numbers, giving her pancreas time to heal.
 
These # are nice low numbers? I thought she needed to be around 234 or lower to give her pancreas some time to heal. But these # are also good for her pancreas?
 
Hello everybody, so i've given Baco today 2 shots of 0,5 and she's doing well (i think?) she is really stable in her # and staying in the yellow #. What do you think of this cycle? And why is this today so stable compared to the days before?
 
Hello everybody, so i've given Baco today 2 shots of 0,5 and she's doing well (i think?) she is really stable in her # and staying in the yellow #. What do you think of this cycle? And why is this today so stable compared to the days before?
Hello Ruby! My guess is that her body is getting better at working with the insulin and a new diet. Remember that insulin is not a drug, it's a hormone and there are lots of variables. This is all good. You are really doing great with Baco. It makes me so happy!
 
These # are nice low numbers? I thought she needed to be around 234 or lower to give her pancreas some time to heal. But these # are also good for her pancreas?
This is one of those ranges we debate about. Some people feel anything under 280; others like 250 at the top end. In the early days of the sugar dance, anything not pink, red or black looks good to me. She may "settle in" and drop more, or in a few cycles, you may want to tweak her dose up - time will tell. I am happy at this point that you can shoot twice daily and there are no extremes.
 
@Bobbie And Bubba that would be my guess also that her body is better at cooping with the insuline now. I'm happy that her # aren't all over the place. Hoping this patern will hold for the next couple of days.
Thanks it makes me happy 2 :)

@Sue and Oliver (GA) haha yes so yellow is a good thing right now ;)
What does tweak mean? Reduce her dose is that what you mean?
 
Tweak means to change the dose by a tiny amount. Sorry - your English is so good that I forget it is a second language for you.

My children lived in Amsterdam for several years and the Dutch language was always a challenge for them.
 
Oh okay!
Haha thanks! I've been raised speaking Dutch, Portugese (my dad is portugese) and English (my mom and dad in the early years spoke English with eachother) so yes English is not a challenge but some words I don't understand :)

Oh really they lived in Amsterdam? For a study? Yes Dutch is a really hard language to understand and speak i've heard that from a lot of people... The grammar is really hard..
 
We have so much slang and so many idioms in English. My daughter and son in law opened the first Kinkos in Europe - it is a copy center that was big in the states at that time and expanding, but has since been bought out by Fed Ex. They were the managers and had all Dutch employees and customers. It was a real learning experience! My DH and I also exchanged houses for 2 weeks with a Dutch couple who lived on the canal in Haarlem. We had a wonderful time biking and exploring your beautiful country.
 
Oh that should have been a great experience for your daughter and son in law. Haarlem is a great place, but I assume you've visited Amsterdam ;) that's can not be compared to eachother in my opinion :).
I live near Haarlem and Amsterdam, i'm living in the middle of them you can say.
 
I forget all the time that English isn't your first language!

Yeah, I think Baco is in really good numbers. As we get some data, we can change the dose if needed. For now, as Sue said, we're just glad to have 2 shootable preshots!
 
Haha well thanks for the compliment :)
I will test her again tomorrow just like i've tested her today. But it's going to be tricky because I ordered new teststrips and they will be delivered tomorrow, but I hope they will be on time in the beginning of the day. This because I only got 6 teststrips left....... So it may be so that I can't test some hours during the day due to the fact I may run out of strips..
I'm going to bed now, it's 01:00AM right now and need me some sleep :) have a great day today and I will keep you updated tomorrow about her # during the day

And I'm calling the vet again tomorrow to talk about how everythings going. So I will give an update about that conversation also!
 
Don't worry, we on the Dutch forum will not be 'chasing' any cat on ProZinc soon, as we don't have the experience yet. We watch and learn here, but will be very hesitant to do this with cats on our forum. We would refer them to you for the time being .... a long time being ....
We do however a kind of similar thing with TR on Lantus. If the level is too low, postpone for an hour, still too low, another hour, then if high enough: shoot the normal dose. If still too low: shoot a lower dose. But Prozinc isn't Lantus.
 
Very true. The 2 insulins work so differently.

Do let us know if you have questions about any of your kitties situations. We're happy to help in any way we can. Our goal here is to get as many kitties healthy as possible!
 
hello, Baco started today with 349 amps, she ate but not that much. then I gave her a shot. now at +4 she is at 83 and at +5 (just now) she is at 59. Isn't this a little to low?
I've already gave her some porta21 between the +4 and +5 and she ate it but it concernce me that she is going lower after the kibbles.. What do you think I should do?
maybe this indicates that the dose of 0.5 is a little to high?
 
Yeah, she is going low with speed. Glad you are home with her. Can you give her some higher carb food to bring her up to a more comfortable number. Something with gravy in it, a few teaspoons.
 
She is probably clearing the bounce and she is at +6 so this could be the lowest she goes. So don't overdo the HC food. Maybe a teaspoon and then recheck her in 30 minutes to see how she responded.
 
Yes, you should test every 20 minutes to make sure she doesn't drop below 50. Her regular food for now, but if she'd drop to 50 or below, give her some gravy off or a teaspoon of high carb food. Of some honey rubbed on her gums.

The goal is to keep her in the 50s or moving up with food.

That was a big fast drop. Looks like she might like less insulin next time.
 
well tonight, how much should the dose be? maybe go back tot 0.35? ps for now i will give her some kibbles again..
 
yes I meant dry food. well she is eating dry food right now and I will give her some wet food.. then test her in 15-20 minutes.
 
Yes - kibble if you don't have any high carb wet. We think kibble takes longer to get into the system and raise the number, but if that is what you have, fine. Just a little bit each time so she doesn't get full when you need her to eat more and raise the number. Or honey rubbed on the gums if she drops below 50.

Having a high carb wet food in your hypo kit is a good idea. It is easy to feed just a little bit of just the gravy - which has the carb.

You want to see 3 rising tests before you relax.
 
well she ate just now the dry food.. that's okay.. and now she got some low carb wet food. and I will give her a table spoon of the high carb wet food that Minnie eats.
 
Thanks so much Sue... I hope she will go up and stay up! I have to leave in 1,5 hours but my boyfriend is her to monitor her. I've got an interview :) new job maybe. So I have to leave in 1,5 hours.
 
Last edited:
We should know by then. Fascinating how yesterday the cycle on about the same level in the yellows and with the same dose gave you yellows. Today, low greens. Might tell us she does need time to settle into a dose. If the pattern repeats, then yes.

As she is at +6, she should be moving up anyway and with the extra carbs, that should help. Tonight the number may be quite high - not only a bounce but all the higher carbs. But we still will advise dropping the dose to below 0.5
 
now 20 min later after +6 she is at 74. so I test her just 2 times more, and if it is going up THEN i can relax right?
What do you recommend with the dose tonight? 0.5 or less?
 
Well I think she was dropping so low, because the food she got this morning was a flavor she didn't like so she didn't eat that much. Normally she eats the whole bowl during the morning, but now she just eat a quarter of her food. So she isn't getting that flavor anymore..
 
Always make sure she eats enough before you shoot. If it's a flavour she doesn't like, throw it away and give something else. Diabetic cats need to eat.
 
Yes, that will impact the numbers downward. Less food on board to counteract the insulin. Still think I'd lower the dose a tiny bit. Another of our annoying sayings: You can always add more if needed for the next dose, but you can't get it out once it's shot!
 
Well she eat enough before I gave her a shot, but normally after the shot she will eat again, but this time she didn't... so I guess that is the reason she was so low in #.
Like I said, this flavor is going out and never returning into my fridge.

@Sue and Oliver (GA) okay.. well I will consult with you about it later today.. I think it is best that if she is really high in # tonight, she can have 0.5 and if she is in her yellow numbers then I will give her +/- 0.35. what do you think? Do you think that is good?
 
I will try to be around but tag Robin if you need help. (My DH broke his neck a month ago and I have been meeting myself coming and going....)

My thinking with the lower dose is that any high number may be "artificial, not true" because it will influenced by high carb and a bounce from greens she is not used to. A lower dose may not be enough, but that is fixable the next cycle. Giving too much means you might be up all night watching her. She is your cat. My job is to give you measured, cautious advice because she is not my cat. :cool:

Netherland -
Amps 349
+4 185
+5 83
+6 59

Did you get another test, Ruby?
 
yes, I will give her less then tonight but I will consult on the forum just to be sure in a couple of hours. If I can't reach anyone I will make her dose 0.35, just to be sure.
yeah, she is going up, silly cat! she is laying around on the couch and loving the fact that she got a lot of jummy foods!! haha.
She is up to 112 just now, so she is doing fine.
 
Yes, she should be fine. Maybe one more test before you leave, just to be sure the upward trend continues.

Good luck on your interview!

How about starting a new thread tonight when you get an evening number so people can see it.
 
Yes I will test her before I leave and in the meantime my BF will test her and keep an eye on her.
thank you so much :)
Yes I will start a new thread (part 3) haha! I will make it when I come home because then is the time I'm also going to call the vet about Baco, just an update.
 
The food she gave is not really high carb, the felix wet has 6,5% carbs in the dry matter, the porta21 dry around 11% (and it's what Baco is used to getting around this time, I think). Ruby will know. But if it's the food baco is used to around this timie, there will be no unusual influence on the bsl. Although she probably ate more than she was used to getting.
I hope Ruby will confirm (or deny) to make matters more clear.
 
She is used to getting 15grams of porta21 around this time ( a little earlier) but! she doesn't really eat it because she gets a really big bowl (70 grams) off barf what she will eat during the day.. she maybe eats 2 bites of the porta21 dry food during the day. but at the time that she is hungry again, i'm already home from work and give her some barf food later on just after her PMPS.
I think she will be higher than normally around PMPS because she ate, like you said, more then she is used to getting... And the felix (brand of wet food) is like you said higher in carbs than she usually get's so that is going to be a spike in her bloodsugar i'm guessing...
 
Hi, Ruby & all - Just woke up to have my :coffee::coffee::coffee: & deal with Bat-Bat, & jumped onto this thread to read of Baco's latest adventures ... Wow! She decided to "take the plunge" to green BG#s in a big way, didn't she? Quite an active cycle; good job "steering" her back up, Ruby:) - & so glad that @Bobbie And Bubba & @Sue and Oliver (GA) were up & about (and in different time zones than mine;)).

Hooray for Baco - more progress!:cat: (Even if it made you bite your nails :nailbiting: for a little while; looks like she'll do fine now.) Good luck with that interview for a new job, Ruby!:D:bighug:
 
I agree the lower numbers were likely due to the small amount of food she ate, but I like being safe rather than sorry. And yes, more food, a little higher carb food and a bounce are all likely to mean a higher than usual pmps. Not the same number you might have normally gotten, but higher. And I would want to shoot a dose that is lower, knowing factors other than the insulin probably caused the higher number. But if she is super high, and you are willing to monitor, it is your cat and your choice.
 
I agree the lower numbers were likely due to the small amount of food she ate, but I like being safe rather than sorry. And yes, more food, a little higher carb food and a bounce are all likely to mean a higher than usual pmps. Not the same number you might have normally gotten, but higher. And I would want to shoot a dose that is lower, knowing factors other than the insulin probably caused the higher number. But if she is super high, and you are willing to monitor, it is your cat and your choice.
Yes, I'm in agreement with Sue about this.:) If Baco were mine, I'd rather err on the side of caution.;)

(Another old expression: "Slow and steady wins the race.";);))
 
Just popping into say I agree! If you need to raise the dose later you can...but I tend to be cautious in my advice. I would lower the dose some if Baco were mine. Some cats can be more sensitive to insulin after a hypo too.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top