Baco 5/29 dropping fast

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ruby&Baco

Very Active Member
Hello,

See Baco's # from today:

AMPS 398
+2 324
+4 218
+5 130

I find her +5 to be her nadir mostly, but I think she goes down really fast.. Maybe again it's MR.P. who's joining the party because I can't imagin Baco will drop from 398 with a dose of 0.35 like this.
Isn't it a good idea to start giving Baco 0.30.. go down a little bit more?

I just gave her 1 little kibble (dry food) of minnie (with carbs) and some raw food, what she is eating right now to slow her drop down a little...

But I would like some advice on her dose of insuline...
 
Last edited:
5.5 hours till shot time (this is 30 minutes earlier then her am shot but need to get the schedule back before monday)
 
In 1.5 hour it's pmps time @Bobbie And Bubba so maybe you can still catch it before you leave? Do you have nice plans this weekend?

@Sue and Oliver (GA) let's hope not but if I can't shoot tonight, then it is what it is right?

@Rachel don't mind him visiting haha I guess he likes the company he's getting so he tries to visite really often lately! ;)
 
This may sound counter-intuitive to you, but I was just looking at Baco's SS ... and if she is around 180 or above @ PMPS time, I'm wondering if maybe you should keep her at the 0.35 tonight and then for the AM dose when you have to be at work, drop it down to 0.30 (because you won't be around to monitor anyway).

The reason I'm thinking in this way: Look at the drop in PM cycle on 5/27, then look at the bounce the next morning, 5/28. Then that night, Baco was too low to shoot. She had a considerable drop today, even given that she'd probably hijacked that kibble meant for Minnie :)p brat!), so ... you could conceivably drop her to 0.30 tonight (and probably get a decent night's sleep;)), but whether you choose the 0.35 tonight (which you would want to monitor a bit, if possible) or the 0.30 tonight, I still am feeling like you should drop her to 0.30U when you have to be at work tomorrow.

Let's see what @Sue and Oliver (GA) (& other advisors, if they can weigh in here:)) thinks about this idea ...
 
I'm wanting to give 0.35 tonight because yes indeed I have to give her 0.30 tomorrow so maybe if I can push it a little tonight, that would be great. I hope she has a shootable number. Because her +10 was 148 so i'm hoping she went up! Will test her in 30-45 minute (pmps)
 
Let's hope! I like skipping her shot but also don't like it because she bounces from it i find (if you look in her ss)
 
I think this sounds okay. The only variable is Mr. P. And it doesn't look like he came today. I am guessing since she didn't surf, that maybe food was the reason for the higher, then lower number today? But, you can monitor, Ruby, and know how to intervene, and when you are not gone all day is the right time to be a little daring.
 
I retested and she dropped again! 122
Should i leave her ? Or maybe give a little?
Btw i'm going to give her food now because she wants it really bad!
 
Even if she bounces in the morning, give no more than 0.30u.

(BTW: There is no way I would advise you to give a "drop" of insulin later in tonight's cycle, because Mr. Pancreas is showing up here - which is most likely the reason she appears to be hanging onto the dose of insulin longer - and so we do not want to take the risk that she could drop even lower still.)
 
@Robin&BB no I will give her 0.30 NOT 0.35.. I see what 0.35 can do to her during the day.. If I wasn't around today at nadir to stir a little she dropped to low I think.
What if she's in yellow's at AMPS or even blues above 180? I don't feel comfortable to give her 0.30 then when I'm at work...
Please advice.

@Rachel hahaha yes that's for sure! ;) Well technically not, I have to work tomorrow but I can get some early sleep tonight ;)
 
Ruby, don't give something if you're not comfortable with it. What are you thinking for those numbers? Maybe 0.2?
 
If she's right above 180 I would say 0.10 or MAYBE 0.20 if I feel dare devil-ing ;)
If she's above 200-250 I would say 0.20-0.25. Maybe some people find it not enough but with MR. P lurking around the corner I rather be save then sorry....
What do you think?
 
I picture Mr. p as kind of a chubby, rumpled uncle who shows up and sleeps on the couch and then disappears just when you are getting used to having him around. And then, several days later, shows up again.........

It is such a mixed blessing - lovely to think her pancreas is starting to wake up and work, but it makes dosing such a guessing game.

I like your dose ideas for next cycle. You really are getting good at this.
 
I rather be save then sorry....
What do you think?
I agree with you, Ruby - on the day cycles when you can't be there to monitor, less is more ... SAFE! There is no use in giving something that could make her drop too low; you would just spend your whole day worrying --- so what would be the point?
If she's right above 180 I would say 0.10 or MAYBE 0.20 if I feel dare devil-ing ;)
If she's above 200-250 I would say 0.20-0.25.
So I like your dose ideas here, too!:) (You will have plenty of time for fine-tuning things when you're done with this current job.:cool:)
 
OMG @Sue and Oliver (GA) you made me laugh out loud SOOO hard!!!
rumpled uncle... omg hahahahhahaha, still lauging about it!
But I think you discribed Mr.P just perfectly!:D

Thanks both Sue and Rachel. I'm getting the hang off this dosing myself advice thing...
 
hahaha you know, we had a show in The Netherlands on tv (it isn't on anymore) but I picture Mr. P to be this lady..
just chilling, and if NEEDED she is going to stand up and walk to the fridge to get herself a beer.. and maybe some food, and then go back to the couch again!
hahahahah

50_plus-48-1783-0510072033-ma_flodder1.jpg
 
So Baco's #:

PMPS 122 -> NO SHOT
+2 135
+4 144

Can we make the assumption that Mr. or MS (like the picture above) P. is still around?
Because I find it hard to believe without a shot that she’s still this low?
She’s not going any lower, but not really going up high.. you can say that every hour she goes up 5 points..
 
So, had to share..decided to see what was on page 2 of the "rumpled uncle" image search... Bernie Sanders!! Great, now Bernie Sanders is what i will picture forever when i think of a pancreas.... o_O
 
Thanks Robin:kiss:
How long are you going to be up for?
I will be at work in 1,5 hours. :bighug:
Ps I find her amps really nice! (For not having had a shot last night!)

Hopefully she stopped with the bouncing (ANTI-JINX) :p
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top