? Back on mini-dose ... ideas re: dosing?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Robin&BB

Member Since 2013
Didn't like this morning's AM # (nor do I like all those blue-zone nadirs I'm seeing), so put Bat back on the ProZinc @ 0.15U-0.18U (am eyeballing this, so can't be totally exact here). Vet had advised that if I resume her insulin, to do it at her previous dose (0.12U). But as her am/pm #s hadn't significantly changed while OTJ these past 3 days, that doesn't seem all that logical to me ... I considered going with 0.2U, but decided to split the difference for the time being.

So I have a few questions for anyone who has successfully eased a cat on ProZinc out of the type of plateau Bat's been stuck in over these past few weeks:

1) Given that I am available to monitor closely at all times & feed if she drops too low @ nadir, what's the lowest preshot # you'd be comfortable shooting from?
2) How long would you give her to "settle in" to the current dose (assuming her BG#s don't significantly lower) before you'd increase it?
3) What would you try raising the dose to when it's apparent it needs to be increased? (I am using a U100 syringe these days.)
 
Looking at the spreadsheet, it looks like a pre-shot test of 150 mg/dL on an AlphaTrak (about 97 mg/dL on a human meter) might be the lowest you'd want to shoot with those tiny doses. She dropped to an 82 in that pre-shot range with the 0.12 dose. that is pretty close to the lower AlphaTrak limit (69 mg/dL), especially considering the meters may be +/- 20% from a lab value.
 
She dropped to an 82 in that pre-shot range with the 0.12 dose. that is pretty close to the lower AlphaTrak limit (69 mg/dL), especially considering the meters may be +/- 20% from a lab value.

Thanks, BJ! I decided to do a full curve today - good thing, too, as Bat had already dropped to 98 by +3 (for her, an early drop). So fed balance of her daytime ration right then to prevent her dropping more than 50% from her AMPS #; she was @ 119 by +4. Yowza, she sure is sensitive to a mini-dose of insulin! Will be interesting to see what her PMPS is tonight ...

Anyway, even though I've shot her at as low as 143, I believe you're right about making 150 the limit - esp. as I had assumed her nadirs to generally occur at +4 or +5 --- but she just now showed me that she can drop pretty darned fast! (Which makes me wonder what her +3 #s actually were when I'd shot her below 150.) Just goes to show: I shouldn't take anything for granted, as Bat's pancreas seems to always have some new way to surprise me.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top