Back into the Stinky Pinks

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Logan & Sandy, Feb 19, 2021.

  1. Logan & Sandy

    Logan & Sandy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2020
    @Deb & Wink @Shelley & Jess @JanetNJ At 1. unit Logan is back into the pinks..amps(708)bg341. at(857am)+2 bg403. .. geez but then when we raise him to 1.25 he goes to low.. arggh. At least he has his buddies to snuggle with.
     

    Attached Files:

    Shelley & Jess likes this.
  2. Logan & Sandy

    Logan & Sandy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2020
    @Deb & Wink @Shelley & Jess @JanetNJ. somebody must have heard me.. cuzz Logans been in the blues today with the exception of amps and a +2 amps(708am)bg341. at(857am)+2 bg403. at (232pm)+7 bg184. at(351pm)+8 bg170. at(5pm)+10 bg132.
     
    Deb & Wink and Shelley & Jess like this.
  3. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    So Logan is going lower, and lower this cycle.

    What do you think you want to do for PMPS?
     
    Logan & Sandy likes this.
  4. Logan & Sandy

    Logan & Sandy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2020
    @Deb & Wink @Shelley & Jess @JanetNJ I'm not sure Deb,.. i would think that he will be back at least past 150 by 7PM CALIF. time when i will need to test. I just find it weird.. altho I AM NOT complaining!!!! I wasn't able to be home earlier to test today.. I'd like to give him 1 unit..and if he's say 145bg I would still like to give him 1 unit.. What do you think??????
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  5. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    You shot 1U before when he was 157. You might want to try and get a +11.5 before the pre-shot test. To see how far he rises in that 1/2 hour time frame, between the +11.5 and the PMPS.

    What I think is that I be in bed fast asleep by 7 PM California time. ;)

    Sorry, my sense of humor is running away from me. Tired from snow shoveling this evening, and I have to do it all over again on Saturday. :(
     
    Logan & Sandy likes this.
  6. Logan & Sandy

    Logan & Sandy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2020
    @Deb & Wink ok thx.. I will do that.. sorry u have to shovel so much... how much snow is over there? how much do you have to shovel>>?
     
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2021
  7. Logan & Sandy

    Logan & Sandy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2020
  8. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    If the PMPS isn't rising, you'll want to stall without feeding.
    If too low, less than you have ever shot before, you need to monitor more closely if you give the 1U.
    Other option is to give him a reduced dose. Either 0.5 or 0.75U.

    5 inches of snow earlier today. At least another 3 since I shoveled. Still coming down. Ocean effect snow, with the winds coming off the water and some heavy snow bands moving through.
     
  9. Logan & Sandy

    Logan & Sandy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2020
    @Deb & Wink @Shelley & Jess @JanetNJ. THANKYOU Deb.. i have a feeling he's going low.. will test at 7 (u may be in LA LA Land Sleeping by then).. if I have to depending on 7pm +12 reading is or 715pm +12.25 i may just give him a skinny dose (a hair under 1.unit,,not .75) and monitor... thanks again.I may be up late with Logan,,,.
    Sounds very pretty over there... not sure what ocean effect snow is,. but sounds mystical.. and sleep well.
     
  10. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Yes, it does sound like you may have a late night.

    Ocean effect snow is when the wind is blowing off the water, it brings moisture inshore, and we get more snow. So cold air, blowing over warmer water, picks up moisture. The same thing can happen around large bodies of water, like the Great Lakes. Grew up just east of one of the Great Lakes, and we had TONS of snow when I was a kid. Of course, it was more fun to play in it then it is to shovel it. :p
     
  11. Logan & Sandy

    Logan & Sandy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2020
    @Deb & Wink. Stalling bg 134 at +12.25. he went up a tiny bit not much tho, i THINK he may get 1 unit...i may just shave off a cat hair of insulin tho,, will photo needle before i shoot after next test in 10mins then he eats then shoot,, etc

    your area sounds nice.. I grew up suburbs around CHICAGo.. talk about subzero.. and LOTTSA SNOW.. snow one day then warm the next... freezing temps.. too much snow.... don't miss the weather there. my bro. still lives there. Shoveling sucks,
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  12. Logan & Sandy

    Logan & Sandy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2020
    @Deb & Wink @Shelley & Jess @JanetNJStalling at(708pm)+12.25 bg134 at (727pm)+12.50 bg136PMPS. I don't get it, why he went low.. feeding him now. Deb you are probably catching zzzZZZzZZs now.
    My plan to give him a hair under 1.0 yeah i know i said this.. but am reiterating it.. insulin needle will be posted with dose,
     
    Shelley & Jess and Deb & Wink like this.
  13. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Haven't even made it into may jammies yet!
     
    Logan & Sandy likes this.
  14. Logan & Sandy

    Logan & Sandy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2020
    @Deb & Wink @Shelley & Jess @JanetNJ . Stalling at(708pm)+12.25 bg134 at (727pm)+12.50 bg136PMPS. He got a SKINNY 1.O hopefully he will be ok,, will anyone be up late?? I plan to test in 2 hours,.. and then later...
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1 S.jpg
      1 S.jpg
      File size:
      12.2 KB
      Views:
      146
    Shelley & Jess and Deb & Wink like this.
  15. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Looks like he was just having a longer duration yesterday.
     
  16. Logan & Sandy

    Logan & Sandy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2020
    @Deb & Wink @Shelley & Jess @JanetNJ You would think that after Mr Logan having a bunch of blues earlier on feb 19th where he continued to drop and I had to stall etc and I still gave him a SKiNNY 1.unit that he wouldnt have continued to be in the pinks during the nite until
    +5 .. and what I wonder is IF i Had dropped his dose yesterday to ,75 which I ALMOST did,, then maybe he may have gone into the REDS? I don't know, But everything went fine last nite.. amazing,, and Logan's appetite is HUGE.. The only thing that wasn't Fine was ME,.. cuzz I thought I may have been STUPID by giving him almost a full normal dose.!!
    feb19(fri)at(843pm)+1 bg280. at(943pm)+2 bg311. at(1044pm)+3 bg323. at(1148pm)+4 bg319. at (1252AM)+5bg297. This AM another PINK at AMPS bg370,,/
     
    Shelley & Jess and Deb & Wink like this.
  17. Logan & Sandy

    Logan & Sandy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2020
    Shelley & Jess and Deb & Wink like this.
  18. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    With that nice string of blues today, and the green 83 at +5 today, 2/20/21, it looks to me like the 1U dose was a good one.

    I think the next time that Logan is lower at pre-shot than you have given insulin before, you are going to need to lower that shoot/no shoot/reduce threshold and test a whole heck of a lot.

    So a well stocked hypo toolkit, with plenty of test strips, LC, MC, HC food, some sort of simple sugar (maple syrup, honey, corn syrup, etc) plus some sort of treat for you (chocolate works for me) if you need to stay with Logan and test him.
     
  19. Logan & Sandy

    Logan & Sandy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2020
    @Deb & Wink @Shelley & Jess @JanetNJ. thankyou Deb.. just tested Logan at +6 and his bg is now 90 !

    Yes I have a well stocked toolkit..kayro syrup mc/hc/lc etc but NO Chocolate!!! (OOOOOPS!).
    **How low should i have my threshold?? if he continues this green trend (which is welcomed..) we may be stalling tonite. Last nite I shot at bg136, just about a full unit.. I guess tonite will tell me.. where if he's lower, than last nite.. maybe lower it to .75.. Did u have to shovel again today?? Here its crisp and nice with scattered clouds,, and our cats are doing what they do best,,. sleeping,,, Photo features Bunny in the front, Logan then Rocky and Joey in back.
    siblings and Joseph.jpg
     
    Shelley & Jess and Deb & Wink like this.
  20. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    It's not only the green at pre-shot, but if you can test and monitor him if you give the full dose.
    How would you feel about doing a +11.5 test, and then a PMPS test tonight?
    So you can see how much the rise is in that 1/2 hour.
    That way, if the BG is rising, you shouldn't have to stall.
    In that case, you might consider giving the full dose.
    How would you feel about making your new threshold pre-shot be 135 for the full dose?

    That is a nice "surf" that Logan has going. A nice string of lower blues and the high green BG's.

    p.s. Yes, shoveled about 4" of snow last evening and another round of 2" this morning. Good thing was, the sun came out today and helped melt the snow off my steep driveway.
    At least the new fallen snow hides the blood and the pile of feathers that the Cooper's Hawk left behind after her meal of Mourning Dove yesterday.
     
  21. Logan & Sandy

    Logan & Sandy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2020
    @Deb & Wink ok I can do a 11.5 test then pmps tonite like last nite. Last nite he only went up 7 pts from 621PM to 727PM.. my guess is he may do the same tonite.. i don't know. is just a few pts considered rising? last nite he went down a couple pts then back up..and i know there's that variance with the meter,
    OK if he got a full dose say at 135bg.. like he ALMOST did last nite (a hair under 1.U)... he could go hypo,,,?? I don't know. i know i was nervous last nite after i gave him his .90 unit,, I didn't know if i would really pay for it with Logan,, but he ran high most of the evening till i stopped testing at +5 when he went to bg297.. so do you think I should slow the drop, by giving him some food? if he went up to bg97 at(241pm)+7.

    ps "How would you feel about making your new threshold pre-shot be 135 for the full dose?" is the purpose/goal to see how low he will go during the nite?? as last nite in the later hours he was in the pinks..

    Is the Coopers Hawk a neighbors hawk or a type of hawk?? well you know they have to eat... they can't go to a grocery store like us... our cats catch birds here,, I'm not a fan of that,, as they are fed 2 or 3 times a day,,, but can't stop it.. unless I don't let them out into our fenced yard,, then they wouldn't be as happy and not be able to kill the birds we try to feed...
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2021
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  22. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    No.
    That isn't much of an increase in the BG. Within meter variance.

    Yes, that is possible. So it's your call Sandy, on what dose to give Logan. You know Logan and your situation better than we ever will. It's a a judgement call. So use your best judgement.

    When the drop is earlier in the cycle, you can certainly give him some food to slow the drop.
    Next time, think about giving Logan a teaspoon or less of his food when he drops to the low blues ( or into the greens).
    The hard part is that if you feed him too late in the cycle, when the insulin is mostly used up, the BG numbers are likely to rise fast.

    It's a real balancing act, and you won't always guess correctly.

    https://www.audubon.org/field-guide/bird/coopers-hawk
    I have plenty of Mourning Doves, 20 or more regulars that come in to feed. It's ok with me that the hawks catch and eat a few.
    https://www.audubon.org/field-guide/bird/mourning-dove
     
    Logan & Sandy likes this.
  23. Logan & Sandy

    Logan & Sandy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2020
    @Deb & Wink thanks,,,,, well i guess when i gave logan an almost full dose last nite he was at +10 132 then at the latest test for pmps at+12.5 136 I played Russian Rullet as by meter variance he really wasn't rising in 2.5 hours,,,(5 pts.. not 7) arggh, but things went fine last nite,,,i'm hoping for Logan to go into REMISSION.. I guess we all hope for that,,, Paws CROSSED. just tested LOGAN AGAIN at +8 (339pm) his bg is:123 so for tonite he probably will be FINE!



    thx for the link on coopers-hawk.. we have hawks around here and vultures, deer, foxes, racoons and skunks, possums and I'm sure others that I haven't noticed... The Coopers Hawk are quite pretty,, we have a pretty secure pen with fenced ceiling to protect our chickens too,,, as our neighbor lost some of her chicks to hawks,,

    in the last 2 weeks or so our cats killed 3 birds,,... 2 small ones and one large one,, and they ate most of it,, at least it wasn't just killing for fun,, which quite often cats do, what do u do for fun besides play on the internet in this group?
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  24. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Garden, bird watch in my yard, read, a little yoga every morning, cooking (more in the last year with the pandemic), email/talk with friends, watch the sunset over the marsh, have a good snuggle with my cat.
    Not much gardening this time of year, since the yard is buried in 2-5 feet of snow. More snow where the plows have moved the snow off the driveway. Pile by the side of my garage is taller than I am! :joyful: It will melt eventually.

    Basically I try to "Treasure Every Day". Lots of "unfun" stuff too, like way too much laundry it seems.
     
    Logan & Sandy likes this.
  25. Logan & Sandy

    Logan & Sandy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2020
    @Deb & Wink last test at(452PM)+9 bg169.. so no worries about a full shot tonite! (are my thoughts!).. I still will do the 11,5 test before preshot and the preshot,,

    Yes thats a good phylosophy. to treasure every day,, cuzz none of us know what the future will bring,,, we planted 15 fruit trees this year,., (this is our 1st yr at this house) and most likely we will plant 1 or 2 more,., and we have a garden that is in progress,, and ofcourse over 100 bulbs were planted this year,,, I've never really done yoga,,, altho it probably would be a good idea to try,, and i can use more flexibility,,, couldn't imagine 2-5 feet of snow here,, altho,, 2 feet is possible,, when i lived up in the mtns,... the snow would/could bury your car over night,, that was rough living,, and laundry isn't exactly fun.. but we all have to do it..
     
  26. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Nice rise for Logan. "Don't count your chickens before they are hatched." It's possible that Logan could dip lower later in the cycle. Some cats have a "double dip". So it's always worth checking for the pre-shot. I suggested you test at the +11.5 time, because some cats also increase their BG levels quickly in the tail end of the cycle.

    I planted about 1900 bulbs this past year. Not enough sun for fruit trees here. Mostly shady yard.
    Check out the youtube videos Yoga with Adriene. Search and you can find a yoga routine for just about any situation. https://www.youtube.com/user/yogawithadriene
    If I don't do my stretching exercises in the morning, getting my socks on is HARD! Us old ladies need to keep up our flexibility with some regular daily stretches.

    I went through a couple of serious illnesses a dozen years ago. Because of them, I think it made dealing with the pandemic a bit easier in some ways. One of my good friends also had a bout of cancer, and she feels that experience made her stronger and more capable of dealing with what is happening this past year.
     
    Logan & Sandy likes this.
  27. Logan & Sandy

    Logan & Sandy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2020
    @Deb & Wink at 11.5 253 and for pmps 269.. why was i fretting earlier!!! yeah having folks getting sick and dealing with the pandemic definitely does do something to you.i am really tired of covid.. i guess join the party right?? 1900 bulbs is extremely ambitious,,, send over pictures in 5 months or when they are in bloom,,! i know i need to stretch but haven't.. need to start, but glucosamine helps.. stretching and maybe starting yoga could help too.., can i ask how young you are?? if not then ignore this.. i will be 63 next month,, can't believe it., i'm a spring baby. good suggestion about testing in the 11.5 cycle.. I'm hoping at some point that he will get regulated.. altho i know he's not there yet.. take care. you probably are sleeping now,
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  28. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    I'm a little bit older than you. Rather not say exactly.
    Bulbs should start around mid-April some time, with the snowdrops first, then the species crocuses and other things and then the narcissus last.

    I'll be taking pictures for sure.
    All those bulbs was my response to the pandemic. A hope for the future and getting through this.
     
  29. Logan & Sandy

    Logan & Sandy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2020
    @Deb & Wink .. its ok... !!! yOu are very smart from what i can see.. and I appreciate all of your help...a lot..!

    some of our bulbs are coming up..and 2 little fruit trees are starting to blossum.. altho.. too early.. but until mid april... they are at risk cuzz of frost and snow,,, and yes I hope we all can get thru. this stufff.. am tired of it. ps 5 feet is a LoT of snow!!
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2021
    Deb & Wink likes this.

Share This Page