Frasier's Mom
Member Since 2018
Hi Friends! This is a follow up from my introductory post here, but I'm in desperate need of help and advice.
Frasier came home yesterday afternoon after spending two nights at the ER. He looked very rough around the edges, but the doctor said he was doing better - eating, drinking, and his blood sugar went down to 101. I was really surprised and very excited that things were turning around. She warned me that he would be exhausted and would most likely sleep heavily when he came home (which he did). He was prescribed Metronidazole and Cerenia, and we were told to continue 2 units of Lantus twice daily unless things change. We were also told to continue using the Denamarin and Clavamox in addition to what he was prescribed.
So When we get home, I notice he seems more alert, he's not wincing in pain, and his breathing looks better. He drank some water and ate a little bit of food before falling asleep. He didn't eat or drink for the rest of the night, and the next morning I noticed he didn't seem as alert as he did before. I check his BG and it's jumped to 401. I put out his favorite plate of Friskies Turkey Pate, but he wouldn't eat any of it. He usually has a strong appetite (his nickname is meat cat) so I knew there was something wrong when he didn't even bother licking his food. His doctor couldn't make sense of it either since he ate so well in the ER. She told me to increase his dosage to 3 units and keep an eye on him. I gave him all his meds (which he would later throw up), and hoped and prayed that things would get better.
His numbers only got worse through the day, though, and he started to become dehydrated. He slept a lot and would find places to hide while he rested. He occasionally would walk around, but it was mostly to say hi to our other cat (who was none too pleased with his new scent). I was becoming really concerned about his appetite, so I called our vet again to get a prescription for Mirtazapine. He became hungry, but still wouldn't eat!! I tried feeding him three different brands of wet food but he would only lick at it before walking away. I found he liked turkey and turkey broth baby food, so I decided to force feed him so I could administer his next shot of 4 units (recommended by his doctor).
It's now almost 2 hours past his pm shot, and his BG is at 516. I've once again been crying my eyes out because I worry we'll never find a resolution, but I'm not giving up on my meat cat! We're waiting to see how things change tonight before we take him back to the ER. Any suggestions or tips would be much appreciated!!
Frasier came home yesterday afternoon after spending two nights at the ER. He looked very rough around the edges, but the doctor said he was doing better - eating, drinking, and his blood sugar went down to 101. I was really surprised and very excited that things were turning around. She warned me that he would be exhausted and would most likely sleep heavily when he came home (which he did). He was prescribed Metronidazole and Cerenia, and we were told to continue 2 units of Lantus twice daily unless things change. We were also told to continue using the Denamarin and Clavamox in addition to what he was prescribed.
So When we get home, I notice he seems more alert, he's not wincing in pain, and his breathing looks better. He drank some water and ate a little bit of food before falling asleep. He didn't eat or drink for the rest of the night, and the next morning I noticed he didn't seem as alert as he did before. I check his BG and it's jumped to 401. I put out his favorite plate of Friskies Turkey Pate, but he wouldn't eat any of it. He usually has a strong appetite (his nickname is meat cat) so I knew there was something wrong when he didn't even bother licking his food. His doctor couldn't make sense of it either since he ate so well in the ER. She told me to increase his dosage to 3 units and keep an eye on him. I gave him all his meds (which he would later throw up), and hoped and prayed that things would get better.
His numbers only got worse through the day, though, and he started to become dehydrated. He slept a lot and would find places to hide while he rested. He occasionally would walk around, but it was mostly to say hi to our other cat (who was none too pleased with his new scent). I was becoming really concerned about his appetite, so I called our vet again to get a prescription for Mirtazapine. He became hungry, but still wouldn't eat!! I tried feeding him three different brands of wet food but he would only lick at it before walking away. I found he liked turkey and turkey broth baby food, so I decided to force feed him so I could administer his next shot of 4 units (recommended by his doctor).
It's now almost 2 hours past his pm shot, and his BG is at 516. I've once again been crying my eyes out because I worry we'll never find a resolution, but I'm not giving up on my meat cat! We're waiting to see how things change tonight before we take him back to the ER. Any suggestions or tips would be much appreciated!!