wombat88
Active Member
I'm back home. I actually got home on Tuesday but am still trying to get used to this time zone. That part of travel I can do without! It took over 30 hours of airports and flying to get back to the US and I felt like most of that was spent in a closet. The joys of economy class!
Shaikha was glad to see me and seems to be doing pretty well, despite all that she's been through. She's lost some weight so I need to address that, but it is only a few ounces and given the high numbers plus food changes that's not surprising. She's eating the canned food pretty well, though is less enthusiastic about it than the dry so I've had to do some encouraging to ensure she finishes it all. It is obvious that her brother has been "helping" to clean her plate, so I've been doing some hovering to ensure she gets her fill.
I've updated her spreadsheet, but her numbers the past day or two don't make much sense so I was hoping you might have some ideas. During the boot camp with my vet, he got her down into the 200s, but that was using a mix of IM injections and more frequent dosing to get her lower. With the food changes, he put her on a lower dose after she came home because he was afraid she might start zooming up again. The plan was to stay at 1.5 units to see how she did, and slowly ramp it up if it appeared she needed more despite the canned lower carb food. To complicate matters she's had several food changes because I didn't have lots of cans of foods that were lower carb. She ate Hills i/d while with my vet (24% carb, 29% protein) and after she came home we put her on RC Venison (23% carb, 54% protein). The venison she's eaten before and done well on, plus it is hypoallergenic. She seemed to do well on it and had no problems with the food change. Unfortunately, I only had a couple of cans of the venison, so we had to switch her to RC Intestinal HE. That is a food she's also eaten before and done well on, but the carbs are higher (38% carbs, 37% protein).
Since being home, her numbers jumped to 300s AM and PM PS, then started going into the 400s. My vet said to increase dose slightly, so my friend gave 1.6U (she was afraid to make too many changes). It made no difference. After I got home, I did some mid-day tests and she dropped to 178 at the lowest, but had started out at 435 earlier that day. By PMPS she was up to 474. My vet said to go to 1.8 units. I did that and it seemed to work. She was at 309 the next morning, much better. BUT then she started going weird. The reading at +5.5 was 365 and by PMPS she was at 400. I didn't recheck the mid-day reading, wish I had now. I gave 1.8 units again last night and at +11 she was at 100. I checked twice this time, and the reading was correct. If I didn't know better, I'd say I gave her too much last night, but I know I measured correctly and mixed. I'm jet lagged but competent.
I didn't shoot this AM of course, but she's been rising since then. At +6 she was 336 so I'm sure she'll be nice and high tonight. Could I have somehow gotten a larger than normal amount of insulin granules in the syringe last night? I don't really think the dose is too high, plus she's eating higher carb food now. Tomorrow I plan to try a can of Hills d/d duck and green pea, which she's eaten before but stopped eating due to a food aversion. The d/d has 22% carbs and 38% protein so if we can get her to switch to that for a while that would be great. I can get more of the venison in a week or so when I go to the next city for an appointment. It is a long drive from here or I'd pick it up sooner. I plan to ask my vet for a prescription so I can order online from Pet Food Direct too. I've got one that I used for Petsmart but I can't get there very often due to the long drive. With her pancreatitis we want to keep her on a lower fat food (she seems to do better with that), but with the lowest carbs and highest protein we can get. Her IBD means that novel proteins are best. I know there are lower carb foods out there, but I'm trying to stick to single proteins with no fish that won't give her diarrhea. She's got nice firm stools again and I want to keep it that way.
My vet is hoping we can get the PZI to work, but I don't know. She seems to be so inconsistent on it. More frequent dosing may be the key, but with me working dosing three times per day I don't think will work. Plus it is hard enough getting friends to cover twice per day if I have to travel. It's a lot to ask. If PZI doesn't work then we'll try Lantus or Levimir. He hasn't used the latter. I need to do more research but would love to hear from anyone who knows the differences. I've read some threads that suggest Levimir works better for pancreatitis cats than Lantus, but don't know why. I've got the next few weeks off from work, so if I need to make changes now is the time.
Shaikha was glad to see me and seems to be doing pretty well, despite all that she's been through. She's lost some weight so I need to address that, but it is only a few ounces and given the high numbers plus food changes that's not surprising. She's eating the canned food pretty well, though is less enthusiastic about it than the dry so I've had to do some encouraging to ensure she finishes it all. It is obvious that her brother has been "helping" to clean her plate, so I've been doing some hovering to ensure she gets her fill.
I've updated her spreadsheet, but her numbers the past day or two don't make much sense so I was hoping you might have some ideas. During the boot camp with my vet, he got her down into the 200s, but that was using a mix of IM injections and more frequent dosing to get her lower. With the food changes, he put her on a lower dose after she came home because he was afraid she might start zooming up again. The plan was to stay at 1.5 units to see how she did, and slowly ramp it up if it appeared she needed more despite the canned lower carb food. To complicate matters she's had several food changes because I didn't have lots of cans of foods that were lower carb. She ate Hills i/d while with my vet (24% carb, 29% protein) and after she came home we put her on RC Venison (23% carb, 54% protein). The venison she's eaten before and done well on, plus it is hypoallergenic. She seemed to do well on it and had no problems with the food change. Unfortunately, I only had a couple of cans of the venison, so we had to switch her to RC Intestinal HE. That is a food she's also eaten before and done well on, but the carbs are higher (38% carbs, 37% protein).
Since being home, her numbers jumped to 300s AM and PM PS, then started going into the 400s. My vet said to increase dose slightly, so my friend gave 1.6U (she was afraid to make too many changes). It made no difference. After I got home, I did some mid-day tests and she dropped to 178 at the lowest, but had started out at 435 earlier that day. By PMPS she was up to 474. My vet said to go to 1.8 units. I did that and it seemed to work. She was at 309 the next morning, much better. BUT then she started going weird. The reading at +5.5 was 365 and by PMPS she was at 400. I didn't recheck the mid-day reading, wish I had now. I gave 1.8 units again last night and at +11 she was at 100. I checked twice this time, and the reading was correct. If I didn't know better, I'd say I gave her too much last night, but I know I measured correctly and mixed. I'm jet lagged but competent.

I didn't shoot this AM of course, but she's been rising since then. At +6 she was 336 so I'm sure she'll be nice and high tonight. Could I have somehow gotten a larger than normal amount of insulin granules in the syringe last night? I don't really think the dose is too high, plus she's eating higher carb food now. Tomorrow I plan to try a can of Hills d/d duck and green pea, which she's eaten before but stopped eating due to a food aversion. The d/d has 22% carbs and 38% protein so if we can get her to switch to that for a while that would be great. I can get more of the venison in a week or so when I go to the next city for an appointment. It is a long drive from here or I'd pick it up sooner. I plan to ask my vet for a prescription so I can order online from Pet Food Direct too. I've got one that I used for Petsmart but I can't get there very often due to the long drive. With her pancreatitis we want to keep her on a lower fat food (she seems to do better with that), but with the lowest carbs and highest protein we can get. Her IBD means that novel proteins are best. I know there are lower carb foods out there, but I'm trying to stick to single proteins with no fish that won't give her diarrhea. She's got nice firm stools again and I want to keep it that way.
My vet is hoping we can get the PZI to work, but I don't know. She seems to be so inconsistent on it. More frequent dosing may be the key, but with me working dosing three times per day I don't think will work. Plus it is hard enough getting friends to cover twice per day if I have to travel. It's a lot to ask. If PZI doesn't work then we'll try Lantus or Levimir. He hasn't used the latter. I need to do more research but would love to hear from anyone who knows the differences. I've read some threads that suggest Levimir works better for pancreatitis cats than Lantus, but don't know why. I've got the next few weeks off from work, so if I need to make changes now is the time.