Back from vettie bean......

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sheri & Spyder (GA)

Member Since 2009
MAY have found an underlying issue......yep, it's his ears. He does have that "something" yeast infection, so yay.......I get to mess w/his ears even more.

He said he looked really good for a diabetic; wouldn't know by looking @him. His teeth, aside from missing a couple, look very good. His eyes- good; heart- sounded good. :-D

Told him I was there to teach him, lol He was very very impressed w/my spreadsheet, and said he will not tell me what to do. Gave him a copy of that and the curve I did. We did discuss the "possibly" of using R, but I will not make any changes until I see what happens when I get his ears cleared up. (oh, and he didn't know that that's where we test them)

And the gal that had him by the scruff of his neck was good! He growled and hissed and tried to back off the table......all this on 3/4 tab of ace too (soooo glad I gave it to him)

So I took advantage of his somewhat calmer state when I got home, and went ahead and cleaned out his ears, well sort of, and put the drops in them (not quite sure if I actually got 10 in each one or not :roll: )

Don't much care what his BG ends up being tonite; will probably hold him @ the 1.5 unless I see him going higher (oh, and no ketones)

So onward we go dancing_cat
 
At least the vet is willing to learn and respects your experience level. Some vets get their back up at "being told" something they didn't know.

Here 's to hoping that the ear thing is a causal factor that can be fixed and help the whole cat feel better. How do they get yeast infections in their ears? Anyone know? I have never had a cat with that - only had to do proactive mite treatment on the girls as kittens and Jeddie had something in one ear that wasn't mites - big clumps of dark stuff, but I was able to clean it every day and it cleared up after 3-4 days.
 
Happy to hear things went well for you at the vet! I am sure you are going have fun with the drops. :lol: I had a kitty who got a yeast infection in his ears, also (he had polyps and allergies and it was hard to keep him cleaned up, even tho he would purr when I did it :o ) but he didn't love the drops.
It sounds like you have a great vet. That is so important.
I would do the same with the R, too. We use it, but I only started it after doing everything I know to figure out why Missy is so high dose/unresponsive. I cringed at her having such high numbers for so long. I am not sure I would have been brave enough if Lu-Ann and Grayson hadn't started on it. I could watch them and see how it went, first.
Can I ask what ace is? My civvie male is terrified of going to the vet. I used Rescue Remedy the last couple times and it helped a LOT, but I am always looking for something to ease his stress level. Missy is a trouper. The vet techs said she was their easiest blood draw ever (she is the sweetest girl) but Phoenix barely can be uncurled for an exam, poor boy.
I hope treating the ear infection helps with his numbers!
 
Yeah, he's a super guy. I'm glad to have him.

I do not know what causes a yeast infection in the ears (failed to ask) but he did say that some are prone to repeats and it would be a good idea to keep stuff on hand for "just in case". I'll also be tackling that task AFTER his AM/PMPS....lol

Ace is short for acepromazine, which is a tranquilizer. I also use rescue remedy as well, but knowing that he was considered "slightly" fractious, I wanted to be as safe as possible and for him to be as calm as possible.

Oh.....and now we had a PMPS = 324.
I'll take it!!
 
Thanks! I will have to check into it. He has pooped on the table (of course they were removing a drain from an abscess) and peed in the carrier before, so anything that would calm him down would be a good thing. Phoenix isn't 'fractious', (great word!) he doesn't do a thing but.......but is so obviously terrified I feel bad for him. He is a BIG kitty and picks fights with Missy all the time, but he is the biggest chicken in the world. I will have to see if my vet will prescribe it.
 
Hi Sheri,

Congratulations on adopting Dante from DCIN!...and a belated welcome to the Lev ISG!

I've been following your and Dante's posts or "condos" as some call them. What medicine did the vet give you for Dante's yeast infection? Was it Tresederm by any chance? My Princess gets yeast infections in her ears and we need to use Tresederm from time to time. If it is Tresederm that drop contains a steriod which in some cats can raise the BGs. This is not an issue for me as Princess is a civie, but Mel's Musette had to have Tresederm and it sent her BGs into the stratesphere for the time she was on it. You may have to give more insulin to counteract the steroid while he's on the drug, or ask your vet for a different drug.
 
Laura and Harley (GA) said:
Hi Sheri,

Congratulations on adopting Dante from DCIN!...and a belated welcome to the Lev ISG!

I've been following your and Dante's posts or "condos" as some call them. What medicine did the vet give you for Dante's yeast infection? Was it Tresederm by any chance? My Princess gets yeast infections in her ears and we need to use Tresederm from time to time. If it is Tresederm that drop contains a steriod which in some cats can raise the BGs. This is not an issue for me as Princess is a civie, but Mel's Musette had to have Tresederm and it sent her BGs into the stratesphere for the time she was on it. You may have to give more insulin to counteract the steroid while he's on the drug, or ask your vet for a different drug.

I questioned him about the Tresaderm. He insisted that since it was topical that it shouldn't affect him......maybe it is, and maybe it isn't. Kinda hard to tell, since he hasn't budged much anyways. I'm gonna let him settle on the 2u for 3 cycles at least.
 
Sheri & Spyder (GA) & Dante said:
I questioned him about the Tresaderm. He insisted that since it was topical that it shouldn't affect him......maybe it is, and maybe it isn't. Kinda hard to tell, since he hasn't budged much anyways. I'm gonna let him settle on the 2u for 3 cycles at least.

For what it's worth at this late date ;-) , I concur on the raise and letting him settle in on 2u for 3 cycles. Each cat is different but I personally have found that I can usually tell how a dose is going to go after 3 cycles of Lev - assuming that all outside variables like food intake, physical condition, etc. have not changed.

I'll be watching and rooting for you and Dante!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top