Baby's Curve is kind of straight

Status
Not open for further replies.
Of course, she was stealing my room mate's kitty crack for three days, stopped yesterday. So I don't know if that might have anything to do with it, but the Lantus doesn't seem to be helping at all?
 
Hi Sarah.....and yes, if Baby was eating kibble (aka Kitty Crack), that could have a lot to do with it! Lantus also works by building up a storage shed, before you see much action from it. Give baby's system some time to get the kitty crack out and then see how the numbers look......keep testing at AMPS & PMPS (of course!) and getting spot checks as you can. Good for you for learning how to hometest!
 
The interesting thing about this insulin is that a rather flat curve...slighty downward...is the ideal curve. It allows for you to continue shooting once you start getting those low numbers, ya know, like 120 or so. In your future I hope.
If you see a curve like this tomorow...and your pmps produces no major upswings I would say you can inch up your doses by a tiny amount. like .2 at a time.
Now if kitty continues down tonight....you may want to wait for a rising number to shoot and stay with the dose.
But so far...good for Baby...and you too Sarah!
 
Sarah,
the lantus is doing "something", otherwise Baby's numbers would be climbing out of control. I think you should stay with the 1u dose for tonight, unless you hear from someone else before then that can give you advise on an adjustment either up or down. I don't feel real comfortable advising dose changes for an insulin I've got no experience with.

But Baby's numbers are not off the charts. I know you'd love to at least see some yellows (or even some blues) :smile: . Try to keep testing in between shots and that data will help people evaluate her entire cycle.

Carl
 
How is Baby today, Sarah?
The 427 this morning, could be from her going lower than she is used to, last night, or it could mean that she needs a little more insulin. Some middle of the night tests, say around +6 would help to determine which. I set an alarm at night time, and get up and test at around the time I think nadir is. I don't always wake up to it :roll: I can pretty much wake up, get up, turn on the light, fumble for the meter, load the strip, test, and go right back to sleep, again.
Kitties will often go lower at night time. My kitty was red this morning, too, but he was green last night, so he bounced.

I hope you and Baby are doing well.
 
OK, Sorry I haven't been posting. Baby has been on Lantus for one week now, and her numbers are still consistently in the 300's. my +6's are all in the low 300's. Baby did have a relapse during the middle of the week for three days she was sneaking down and eating my room mate's kitty crack. I don't know how long I should wait for her to bounce back from that.

I don't know how to increase the insulin by .2 because my syringes only mark units and half units. I am thinking that she probably does need to go up a bit, but as I said, I don't know how to judge.

The other issue is that I pretty much never do the shots 12 hours apart, but they are always at least 10 apart and never more than 14. The one 427 reading that I got was after 14 hours. This is really what I need to do with her shots so I don't know if anyone has any suggestions about that.
 
Sarah, I would say it is time to increase. And that is conservative by all standards.
You may not find an exact .2,
What you do is look for that .5 measurement and try to go just an incy bit beyond it.
Yep, a drop can make a big difference.
It is true!
Sooooo, time for a little raise.
 
Hi Sarah.
I don't know how to help you with the shot schedule. Each time you shoot early it's like a dose increase and each time you shoot late it's like a dose decrease. Is there anyone else that can shoot for you, so you can get closer to a 12 hour schedule?
For now, please write in your spreadsheet the times you shot the doses. IE: AMPS at +10 or PMPS at +14, so we can see more how to help you.

To go from 1.00 to 1.25, you would want to have the top of the plunger (the part that meets the insulin) right between the 1 unit mark and the 1.5 unit mark. The main thing with Lantus is to be consistant (like I'm one to talk, lately :roll: ).
I bought reading glasses at the dollar store, to help me see the tiny doses better. I take a used syringe and decide where my next dose is going to be, and then pull it to that dose. Whenever I measure my insulin, I compare the sample syringe with the dose I'm measuring, to try to get it as close to being the same as I can... which I'll admit the 1.25 dose is very hard for me to measure for some reason :roll: . I can measure a fat 1.00, and a skinny 1.5, but that 1.25 is not easy for me.

With your 10 and 12 hour schedule though, I don't know what to say. Hopefully, others can help you more.
 
Hello!
I second the reading glasses. Stella is at 3.25 and I couldn't do it without them!!! :lol: Also, please start beefing up your spreadsheet with as many BG tests as possible. Try to get some in the late night area as well. Please check out Stella's SS...and I am only beginning to understand how Stella handles her dose. Lots and lots of patience. Try not to yank her dose around too much ;-)
 
Have beefed up spreadsheet a bit. now am giving the + time for amps and pmps. the increase is definitely working, as her bs's are down to 200's. will stick with this one for a week to see if they go down more. Sadly, the dose times are going to have to remain a little bit messed up, but I am going to try as much as possible. if it would have to be more than 2 hours off, I am going to ask roomie to do it, but i don't know if he is going to be able to do BS, so i am weighing the risks there.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top