Baby - Sudden BGL Drop - Please Help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lendsey Kersey

Member Since 2017
Hey guys,

as you can see from my chart, baby is normally in the 300s for the past few weeks. This morning, I took the AM test and he was at 77. I let him eat half a 3oz can of Fancy cat (classic) and retested and it was 79. I gave him a quarter more can with some maple syrup and 30 minutes later it was at 109. I have to go to work so I don't think I should give him any insulin.

Thoughts?
 
Hey guys,

as you can see from my chart, baby is normally in the 300s for the past few weeks. This morning, I took the AM test and he was at 77. I let him eat half a 3oz can of Fancy cat (classic) and retested and it was 79. I gave him a quarter more can with some maple syrup and 30 minutes later it was at 109. I have to go to work so I don't think I should give him any insulin.

Thoughts?
Yes no insulin below 200. Until u Hv more data.
 
What dose did he receive last night?
Have you decided which protocol you'll follow? Since you won't be home and he's below BG of 90, for SLGS you would skip. Just leave him a some regular Low Carb wet food out.
 
From SLGS:
Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.
  • Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
 
Thanks everyone!!! Super helpful! I did not give insulin and left out another quarter can of food. Now that I think about it, I would leave a bit of dry food out (like less than 1/8 cup) just so they wouldn't starve while I was gone but I haven't done that in two days. This explains the change and it may very well be that no dry food is the solution to his diabetes. Thoughts are also
Welcome on this! Much love and thanks!
 
What dry food were you leaving out? I mean if they're totally OK with new wet food diet, then keep dry out of the picture :) and reduce insulin dose. Also still curious if she got her usual dose last night of 1.0U? ;)
 
Yes, high-carb dry food is probably the most common cause of diabetes. Getting your kitty onto a low-carb wet food diet will quite often make a big difference in numbers.
 
Hey all,

So my cat has gone without insulin for about 4 days now. His numbers you can see in my chart (signature block). I'd love all the advice I can get here - just thoughts on whether you guys think this is where it needs to be or if his numbers are too low. I've had to add a touch of honey to his food to try and get the BGL back up to where I feel comfortable (around 100). I didn't expect his numbers to drop so suddenly, although I'm glad he's not in the 300's anymore. Anyway - SAY NO TO DRY FOOD. It made all the difference.
 
Without giving insulin, you shouldn't need to give him honey to raise his natural BG. Some kitties naturally run on the lower range of normal numbers. No insulin administered = no hypo :)

Start your trial day countdown! :D
 
Congratulations on no insulin for 4 days!!!

If he's not receiving insulin, then, theoretically, his numbers can't drop too low. If you are getting low numbers, that is his normal BG without aid from insulin, and you shouldn't have to worry about a hypo! :):):)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top