BABY BLUE! 09/08 Blackie AMPS 325; +6 128; PMPS 144

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 09/08 Blackie AMPS 325

Blackie I am not liking these pinks, time to come down to yellow at least.
Hoping for some better numbers for Blackie and a great day for both of you
 
Re: 09/08 Blackie AMPS 325

All I can say is, pink is better than red. Hope Blackie comes down to a pretty yellow, at least, for you, Angela. :smile:
 
Re: BABY BLUE! 09/08 Blackie AMPS 325; +6 128

Ya'll got your wishes. She threw us a baby blue #: +6 128 @ 11:31 a.m. :)

Don't think she'll stay in the blues as I think she'll move on up to the PMPS #, but it's a start. :)
 
bump.... let's try to keep everything together

Are you going to be home to monitor?
Do you have strips?
Do you have HC?
 
then I say.....ssshhhhoooooooottttttt! (if you are comfortable of course)

test, shoot and feed!
and get a +1.

You are in control... there is no reason to be scared. It is likely that Blackie will bounce... it's just a matter of when.
 
I agree with Helene.

For future reference, if you are going to stall shooting, do not feed.

You have three options when you get a low number.
  • Stall. Retest in 15 minutes to see if numbers are rising, falling, or surfing. Do not feed since food will cause numbers to spike and you won't have a clear idea regarding what's really happening. You have to weigh the effect that stalling will have on your schedule since the next shot is 12 hours from whatever time you actually shot.
  • Shoot a BCS (big chicken sh*t) dose. Reduce the amount that you would be normally shooting.
  • Skip the shot.

Each of these options has an impact on the shed. You want to try to avoid stalling and reducing the dose. This has double the effect on the shed since the delay also acts as a dose reduction.

Also, it probably would have been better to have changed the subject line in this condo to ask for help than to open another condo.
 
Hi Angela,
The number you get right before you give the shot will be your pmps. Im imagining its a little higher with the food and delay (an hour ago??) than it was at shot time (144). Maybe not. May seem petty, but you want to know what number you are shooting for the rest of the cycle, and future data.

Also, when you are going to stall...its often best to hold on the food and see if its a rising or dropping number. If you retest in 15-30 minutes and its rising, you may feel more comfy sticking with the dose. If its dropping, it may make you feel better to do a bcs or keep stalling to see how far they are dropping. kwim?

New territory is scary, for sure. You will both do great tonight! :mrgreen:
 
it's normal to be scared... I was a big chicken... probably the size of a turkey.
Reduce doses are often down 0.25 or 0.5U from the regular dose.... but your shoot what you are comfortable shooting. Blackie is your cat and you're the boss.

When you are home though and you are equipped with the proper tools, you could give yourself the chance to 'study' how Blackie reacts to insulin. You CAN control the blood sugar.

Remember this for tonight though... despite the reduced shot, you will have the shed working for you... remember the shed, it's not like PZI... you're not totally out of the woods. You'll still need to monitor.

If you want, consider it a test... and next time you can try something else.
Have a look around at other SSs, you'll see what others are doing.

Other little bit of important information which I would like to mention is that you shouldn't feed the 2 hours prior to shoot time. That way, your pre-shot number is not inflated by food.
 
see sienne said it all much more clear, probably. ;-)

Just to overload you more :lol: ...if you put ambg or pmbg (#), that tells people you have not shot yet. amps/pmps makes one think thats the number you shot. Might get more eyes between changing subject line in original post AND posting ambg/pmbg. I know when I see that I always think, "hhhmmmmm, wonder why that person didnt shoot?" :roll: ...then I peek in.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top