Awed, amazed and frustrating

Status
Not open for further replies.

CORKY

Member Since 2023
Corky never stops to surprise him, he's had 3 good blue days, today all yellow 1 blue numbers and of course, just before bedtime last test for the night he shows 74, so spiral down from here, fed reg food 3 tbsp of HC or I would find him in the low green BG's by morning. Why does this keep happening so drastically???
 
Maria -

What are you basing your conclusion on that Corky would be in low greens by morning? Rather than jumping to feed him HC, an alternative would have been to feed him is usual low carb and re-test in 30 min to see if numbers were rising. If it were me, I'd re-test in another 30 min. It may mean you will get less sleep but seeing Corky "surf" in lower numbers is a good thing. The more time he spends in lower numbers, the more his system gets used to being in a non-diabetic range.

In some ways, Lantus is counterintuitive. If you look at the spreadsheets of cats that are tightly regulated or approaching remission, you see a sea of green. Caregivers following TR are giving insulin when BG numbers are 50 or higher. Numbers do not necessarily plummet. It can happen but that's why you're home testing. With Lantus, shooting low more often produces a flat curve. The 74 was around Corky's nadir. There's a very good chance that his numbers would have been rising on their own especially with a bump from the low carb food.
 
It's not very scientific but we have an old saying here, no two cats are ever the same.
Getting a cat regulated sometimes never happens. I had one with textbook numbers and curves and a second that was just a mess. I've also tested 10 minutes apart and gotten numbers that made no sense. Even the best meters have a legally allowed margin of error that might surprise you. Lantus is a great insulin but takes practical experience to understand how it affects your cat. Don't tear your hair out looking for perfection, that kind of stress doesn't help.
 
Maria -

What are you basing your conclusion on that Corky would be in low greens by morning? Rather than jumping to feed him HC, an alternative would have been to feed him is usual low carb and re-test in 30 min to see if numbers were rising. If it were me, I'd re-test in another 30 min. It may mean you will get less sleep but seeing Corky "surf" in lower numbers is a good thing. The more time he spends in lower numbers, the more his system gets used to being in a non-diabetic range.

In some ways, Lantus is counterintuitive. If you look at the spreadsheets of cats that are tightly regulated or approaching remission, you see a sea of green. Caregivers following TR are giving insulin when BG numbers are 50 or higher. Numbers do not necessarily plummet. It can happen but that's why you're home testing. With Lantus, shooting low more often produces a flat curve. The 74 was around Corky's nadir. There's a very good chance that his numbers would have been rising on their own especially with a bump from the low carb food.

Thank you I will remember that for the next time he is on the greens and I can understand the concept but he went from mid yellows straight to low 70's just at bed time. and I keep remembering that 31 BG you and I worked so hard to bring back to normalcy
May you have a great New Years Eve!!!:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Caregivers following TR are giving insulin when BG numbers are 50 or higher. Numbers do not necessarily plummet. It can happen but that's why you're home testing. With Lantus, shooting low more often produces a flat curve.
Maria— I just want to clarify that the info quoted above is for Lantus, not Prozinc.

Prozinc and Lantus work differently and so the protocols/methods are somewhat different.

Also, you’re using SLGS, so you would NOT want to shoot a BG of 50.

I know @Suzanne & Darcy has been helping you with dosing so I’ll defer to her for specific guidance.
 
@JL and Chip - you are correct -- I was thinking about Lantus. However, the general principle is the same. Cats that are getting close to regulation and/or remission are overall in lower numbers. That doesn't mean that you skip a shot if the preshot number is green (depending on how low the number is). The modified Prozinc method is also very similar to Tight Regulation with Lantus.

Maria - Cats are notorious for not reading the manual. They fully appreciate their unpredictable nature. After all, they're cats! I had many sleep deprived nights with Gabby -- and I had to be up for work the next day. It's important that you learn how to feed the curve -- what I described above in terms of testing and feeding as a means of keeping your cat in good numbers for as long as possible.
 
I agree with Sienne about him needing to spend more time in green to get used to those healthy numbers. Corky seems to want to drop into lower numbers at night sometimes. I also agree that it was premature to feed him HC food
 
What Sienne described for feeding is what we did that night Corky had a lime green - except for a lime green we did need to give LC (but only once as I recall) and we retested in 15 minutes at first. As his numbers came up, we were able to spread the test out a little bit at a time. With a number like last night’s 74, feed a teaspoon on his regular LC and test again in 30 minutes. If he is stable or rising, then leave well enough alone with regard to food. I’m sorry I wasn’t around last night to help. I had an opportunity to actually go out to eat with my family!
 
Was there anything different last night about his eating? Did he get a good dinner and a snack at +2? I’m thinking he was just being unpredictable, but I wanted to ask. It’s possible that you may be better off getting a +2 and also a +3 test on Corky especially at night. Then if you feel the drop is significant, give another teaspoon of LC. He definitely dropped (not in a bad way but in a good way) between +2 and +4. And look at his spreadsheet and see how his nadir is usually 4-5 (sometimes 6) hours after his shot. So, as Sienne pointed out, he was likely getting close to nadir and would probably have flattened out and (with any luck) would have surfed in green or would have begun to rise on his own without HC.
I know what it feels like to worry about our fur babies dropping into unsafe numbers while we are sleeping. Often, I knew that I was being irrational, because I knew my cat’s spreadsheet and his nadir and his patterns…. But there was another little voice inside my head saying, “ but what If…” so I solved this “problem” of me worrying by either staying awake to test or setting alarms to wake me up to test until I verified that his numbers were stable. I actually wanted him to stay in flat greens most of the time, but it took some getting used to!
 
How are his numbers today? I don’t see anything for today on his spreadsheet.

He's number are crazy and high today, last test before PMPS is 1/2 hour from right now, it bothers me that he does so well one week, and them all goes to S--t, most of the nights as you
know and number are in the low 2's I do not sleep, testing him, there has been no change in his food no LMC, HC, now when I dose it will probably turn around the opposite, so no sleep tonight, thank God I don't need much sleep is the tension and worry, that wears me out. if you can look at today's numbers you will see, you might say he needs an increase but the what??
 
He's number are crazy and high today, last test before PMPS is 1/2 hour from right now, it bothers me that he does so well one week, and them all goes to S--t, most of the nights as you
know and number are in the low 2's I do not sleep, testing him, there has been no change in his food no LMC, HC, now when I dose it will probably turn around the opposite, so no sleep tonight, thank God I don't need much sleep is the tension and worry, that wears me out. if you can look at today's numbers you will see, you might say he needs an increase but the what??
Let me get a chance to sit down and look at his SS. Last time I looked it was several hours ago.
 
Try not to be too frustrated. This is the way it is with a lot of diabetic cats. You feel like you’re taking two steps forward and one step back. That is the reason you sometimes hear it being called the Sugar Dance. Some cats go back and forth between doses on a regular basis. I see other cats who sit with one dose for long periods of time. When I look back on Corky’s spreadsheet though, I see real progress. Look back at how he has less pink preshot numbers and overall better numbers. This is good for Corky and is a testament to your perseverance and determination.
 
Maria --

Before asking the question about dose change, how about going back and reading the Prozinc dosing methods sticky? What is recommended in the sticky note?

I understand, but how about, if I tell you that I know by heart the ProZinc dosing method sticky by heart, I still search for answers from more knowledgeable, members like Suzanne that has guided me in the tightest, situations with Corky and she, studies almost every day to see his progress and removes doubts and answers and instruct me when I am stuck. So, I am not ignorant to the guideline and if I ask is to seek wise advice, sorry if that is not the correct approach, I do not want to make the slightest error because I chose to take an personal decision, please understand that. I want to go forward not backwards when it comes to Corky, his health is excellent I will not jeopardize that in the least.
Have an amazing New Years Eve, and may this New Year bring many blessings. health and joy for you and your loved ones. :bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
I'd encourage you to comment on what you think is the best approach and ask if others agree. I think it will give you more confidence in your decision making vs simply asking what you should do. Building confidence can be important especially if you have a question and there aren't experienced members around to quickly respond.
 
I'd encourage you to comment on what you think is the best approach and ask if others agree. I think it will give you more confidence in your decision making vs simply asking what you should do. Building confidence can be important especially if you have a question and there aren't experienced members around to quickly respond.
Thank you Sienne
 
Hi Maria. When I look at Corky’s spreadsheet and see the 74 from the other evening, he had actually earned a reduction by dropping below 90, according to the SLGS guidelines. It’s okay. Since that was a missed reduction, and he has done okay on the .75 dose since then, you may wish to just monitor him closely (which you already do!) and keep feeding him his LC in the very early portion of the cycle to help smooth things.
 
Hi Maria. When I look at Corky’s spreadsheet and see the 74 from the other evening, he had actually earned a reduction by dropping below 90, according to the SLGS guidelines. It’s okay. Since that was a missed reduction, and he has done okay on the .75 dose since then, you may wish to just monitor him closely (which you already do!) and keep feeding him his LC in the very early portion of the cycle to help smooth things.
It’s such a pleasure when I hear from you. Thank you for your input May this New Year be filled with joy good health and many blessings to you and your family:bighug::bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top