Avery's numbers are all over the place...

Hey @Marje and Gracie, so quick update - I bumped him up to 2.75u recently and his numbers have been way better. It's only been twice though and last night I gave him 2.5u out of habit. I really hope these numbers don't begin to drop him too low after a few days. We tried 2.25u for 5 days and the results weren't ideal. With 2.5u we had some good numbers but more often than not, he was over 300. We held him at 2.5u for over a week, so that's why I started to reconsider an increase to 2.75u. One issue we encounter is that we'll find a dose that appears good early on and after a few days he begins to drop very low. Afterward we attempt to reduce his dose and don't get green numbers.

Anyway, the Ziwi Peak is advertised as "air-dried" and here is the nutritional info:
  • Crude Protein (min) 38.0%
  • Crude Fat (min) 30.0%
  • Crude Fiber (max) 3.0%
  • Moisture (max) 14.0%
  • Ash (max) 12.0%
  • Taurine (min) 0.23%
  • Chondroitin Sulfate (min) 3000 mg/kg
  • Glucosamine (min) 1000 mg/kg
  • Calorie Content (calculated) 5000 kcal ME / kg
  • Calorie Content (calculated) 474 kcal ME / level cup
Now, I'm not 100% but wouldn't this suggest low carb? Please let me know if I'm incorrect here. Regarding the Weruva, they're canned wet food with (I believe) less than 10% carbs. The brand name is Weruva BFF and the flavors are both chicken (Topsy Turvy & Take a Chance). We feed him one 5.5oz can, alongside his snacks throughout the day. Here is the info: https://www.weruva.com/pages/cat-nutritional-information

You have to find BFF Play Pate and "view" nutritional info. So if I'm not mistaken, his diet is less than 10% carbs t the moment. If the Ziwi Peak is not low carb as I originally thought, I will stop feeding him. However the Ziwi Peak was only added recently (within the past week) because we couldn't find his freeze dried bricks anywhere.
In order to determine the % calories from carbs, protein, or fat, you have to get the as-feds or dry matter basis values from the manufacturer. Then you could calculate it by using the info in this post.

I agree with Suzanne the ZP does not appear to be dry food.

Our two methods of regulation are there for a purpose: safety. Dosing isn’t done by the caregiver just deciding their cat’s BG “looks better” At a specific dose so that’s what they choose to shoot. Because you were doing SLGS, I advised you Avery had earned a reduction from 2.5u to 2.25u. You chose, instead, to raise the dose. My best advice is to decide which method you will use and then stick to it as it is written.
 
@Marje and Gracie & @Suzanne & Darcy

Sheet updated to "MPM", should have updated days ago. I've read and re-read the thread here; alongside the ProZinc Dosing Method sticky. Based on notion that SLGS can begin to stall progress and that he's already adjusted to low-carb and no dry kibble. We can provide multiple small meals throughout the day while testing at +3, +6, and +9. Will stick to it as written as to avoid avoidable hypo episodes. Under this method, if nadir go anywhere under 50 then reduce dose, if 50-100 hold for more cycles and if 100-200 then increase 2.25. In regard to reductions, we'll reference the last good (or in this case safe) dose which appears to be 2.25 and will report back.
 
Back
Top