CheshireKitten
Member
Hey all,
It's been a while since I've posted. On the last episode, I had mentioned that Avery was going in to have a tooth extraction. Well, tooth turned to teeth and he had to have the canines on the left side removed after the dentist took X-ray. Anyway, we were really hoping he'd be better regulated after the surgery but alas... Anyway, he's recovered and soooo lovable again. I mean, he was always lovable but now he wants affection from us.
Besides the surgery, I've awoken to a hypo episode where he was extremely disoriented. His AMPS was 47 despite appearing within a very normal range the night before. He's better now and his nadirs were decent for most of Jan/Feb but we're seeing a lot of variance.
Now, I will admit that I've been dose-surfing a bit so you'll see a lot of doses between 2 and 2.75. Eventually I stopped and try to stick to 2.5 and only drop if his pre-test numbers are low. However, there are multiple tests in between shots where he's testing in the 400's. Initially I thought they were just bounces but I can't explain everything away as a bounce and I've (for the mosty part) have been keeping him at 2.5u). He appeared to be doing very well today, I gave him his usual PM shot and at +3 and +5 he's testing at 400, up almost 200 points from his PMPS around 200. I don't know what to do anymore. His diabetes is... aggressive. Fighting to stay in the 400's. If his diabetes were a person I would do violent things to it that would get me arrested.
I don't know if I'm overthinking things but his numbers are bizarre. I never know what I'm going to expect - sometimes a 2.5 is perfect, other times it drops him slightly under 50 points, and other times it has no effect. We're feeding him Weruva BFF (less than 10% carbs) and hydrating small chunks of single-ingredient freeze-dried food as a snack. Here's his feeding:
09AM: Test, 3.5oz of Weruva chicken and shot
03PM: Test + 1.5 oz of Weruva chicken
09PM: Test, 3.5oz of Weruva chicken and shot
12AM: Test + 1.5 oz of Weruva chicken
02AM: half a brick of hydrated freeze dried food
He's a little over 10 lbs so he's getting his body weight in food and gets no kibble. Additionally, I noticed that towards the end of our previous bottle of ProZinc he wasn't getting much better. It was honestly like I wasn't giving him a shot. I tested from a newly purchased vial and he appeared to respond immediately. I asked on the FB group if this is typical of ProZinc and many members mentioned that ProZinc can sort of poop out towards the end of a vial. So yeah, I through out the remainder and just switched to the new vial. Now it's happening again and sometimes he respond very well and other times it's like I'm skipping a shot. I'm very careful not to get fur shots and tend to inspect for any wet fur after I'm done.
Now, everything else appears normal. He's eating, drinking water, cuddling and using the box. He had bloodwork done in Jan before his surgery. So what am I doing wrong if anything? Should we start to consider switching to Lantus? He can get better on ProZinc but it's so volatile that it feels like a coin flip as to where his numbers land.
Idk I'm considering raising to 2.75u but I'm worried because the 2.5u does the job most of the time. I've tried to go down to 2.25u but it doesn't seem to be enough. I drop to 2u/2.25u when his pre-shot numbers are already in the green. I'm happy we're getting as many greens as we are reds but the variance is startling and sometimes his BG goes up after his shot. Long term, I don't want to stress his organs as he remains in high numbers 50% of the time...
I feel like I'm going insane. I'm gonna tag @Sharon555 so we can cry together.
It's been a while since I've posted. On the last episode, I had mentioned that Avery was going in to have a tooth extraction. Well, tooth turned to teeth and he had to have the canines on the left side removed after the dentist took X-ray. Anyway, we were really hoping he'd be better regulated after the surgery but alas... Anyway, he's recovered and soooo lovable again. I mean, he was always lovable but now he wants affection from us.
Besides the surgery, I've awoken to a hypo episode where he was extremely disoriented. His AMPS was 47 despite appearing within a very normal range the night before. He's better now and his nadirs were decent for most of Jan/Feb but we're seeing a lot of variance.
Now, I will admit that I've been dose-surfing a bit so you'll see a lot of doses between 2 and 2.75. Eventually I stopped and try to stick to 2.5 and only drop if his pre-test numbers are low. However, there are multiple tests in between shots where he's testing in the 400's. Initially I thought they were just bounces but I can't explain everything away as a bounce and I've (for the mosty part) have been keeping him at 2.5u). He appeared to be doing very well today, I gave him his usual PM shot and at +3 and +5 he's testing at 400, up almost 200 points from his PMPS around 200. I don't know what to do anymore. His diabetes is... aggressive. Fighting to stay in the 400's. If his diabetes were a person I would do violent things to it that would get me arrested.
I don't know if I'm overthinking things but his numbers are bizarre. I never know what I'm going to expect - sometimes a 2.5 is perfect, other times it drops him slightly under 50 points, and other times it has no effect. We're feeding him Weruva BFF (less than 10% carbs) and hydrating small chunks of single-ingredient freeze-dried food as a snack. Here's his feeding:
09AM: Test, 3.5oz of Weruva chicken and shot
03PM: Test + 1.5 oz of Weruva chicken
09PM: Test, 3.5oz of Weruva chicken and shot
12AM: Test + 1.5 oz of Weruva chicken
02AM: half a brick of hydrated freeze dried food
He's a little over 10 lbs so he's getting his body weight in food and gets no kibble. Additionally, I noticed that towards the end of our previous bottle of ProZinc he wasn't getting much better. It was honestly like I wasn't giving him a shot. I tested from a newly purchased vial and he appeared to respond immediately. I asked on the FB group if this is typical of ProZinc and many members mentioned that ProZinc can sort of poop out towards the end of a vial. So yeah, I through out the remainder and just switched to the new vial. Now it's happening again and sometimes he respond very well and other times it's like I'm skipping a shot. I'm very careful not to get fur shots and tend to inspect for any wet fur after I'm done.
Now, everything else appears normal. He's eating, drinking water, cuddling and using the box. He had bloodwork done in Jan before his surgery. So what am I doing wrong if anything? Should we start to consider switching to Lantus? He can get better on ProZinc but it's so volatile that it feels like a coin flip as to where his numbers land.
Idk I'm considering raising to 2.75u but I'm worried because the 2.5u does the job most of the time. I've tried to go down to 2.25u but it doesn't seem to be enough. I drop to 2u/2.25u when his pre-shot numbers are already in the green. I'm happy we're getting as many greens as we are reds but the variance is startling and sometimes his BG goes up after his shot. Long term, I don't want to stress his organs as he remains in high numbers 50% of the time...
I feel like I'm going insane. I'm gonna tag @Sharon555 so we can cry together.
Last edited: