AvaTaylor
Member Since 2022
BACKGROUND:
Ava is a 10 year old calico female. Diagnosed as diabetic about a month ago.
She was in the 29 mmol/L range. Under vet's instructions, we gave her shots (Prozinc insulin) twice daily for two weeks, then did a 12 hour blood glucose (BG) chart.
She's on all low/no-carb food (Purina DM wet and dry).
Since then we've been measuring her blood levels daily (before meals), and only giving shots when she was over 10 mmol/L (as instructed by the vet).
Here's her most recent history ...
So she hasn't had a shot for 8 days and her BG levels appear to be decreasing.
Any advice on how to proceed? Officially "normal range" is 4.4 to 6.6 mmol/L.
Should we consider giving her small shots to get her lower, or continue on our current path of "no shots if under 10"?
NOTE: I will be consulting our vet later next week.
Thanks for any help!
-- Ava's Dad.
Ava is a 10 year old calico female. Diagnosed as diabetic about a month ago.
She was in the 29 mmol/L range. Under vet's instructions, we gave her shots (Prozinc insulin) twice daily for two weeks, then did a 12 hour blood glucose (BG) chart.
She's on all low/no-carb food (Purina DM wet and dry).
Since then we've been measuring her blood levels daily (before meals), and only giving shots when she was over 10 mmol/L (as instructed by the vet).
Here's her most recent history ...
- Friday April 8, at 7am, Ava's BG was 12.2 mmol/L. We gave her a 1/2 unit of Prozinc insulin.
- Friday April 8, at 7pm: BG 7.6 (no shot)
- Sat Apr 9, 7am: BG 6.2 (no shot)
- Sun Apr 10, 9pm: BG 8.2 (no shot)
- Mon Apr 11, 7pm: BG 8.4 (no shot)
- Tue Apr 12, 5pm: BG 10.4 (no shot)
- Wed Apr 13, 7am: BG 8.8 (no shot)
- Thu Apr 14, 6am: BG 8.3 (no shot)
- Fri Apr 15, 7am: BG 8.1 (no shot)
- Sat Apr 16, 6am: BG 8.1 (no shot)
So she hasn't had a shot for 8 days and her BG levels appear to be decreasing.
Any advice on how to proceed? Officially "normal range" is 4.4 to 6.6 mmol/L.
Should we consider giving her small shots to get her lower, or continue on our current path of "no shots if under 10"?
NOTE: I will be consulting our vet later next week.
Thanks for any help!
-- Ava's Dad.
Last edited: