hello all,
I have been home testing autumn for four days now, against the vet recommendations. she has been diagnosed with diabetes, only from the blood glucose test - result was 370. vet put her on humulin n, 1 unit, bid. to bring in wednesday , for bg testing, i guess? by good advice, i began home testing anyway. the first day, she got her first dose in the evening, and the nest dose the following am, 12 hrs later. that evening, i brought home test kit, and she read 170 & 162- back to back test , to make sure i got an accurate reading. the monitor is a cheapie, but that is the best i could manage for now. no shot that night, as it seemed kind of close to normal.
5 am next morning reading of 155. pm read was 177 no shot that day.
next day, @ noon- read 221- gave her 1/2 unit. at 4:30 pm her bg was 170.
today at 1:30 pm- reading of 157. at 7pm tonight- 184bg-no insulin yet today.
my thinking is that her numbers are not high enough to give her the insulin, not that I know much , but i do not feel comfortable giving it when she is not even in the 200's.
my vet was insistent that it would be fine to blindly (my adjective) give her the two shots per day,without testing, and to wait a week to test in her office. I am a bit nervous about calling her and telling her that i have not been doing the shots as directed. I guess to talk to her about it is the only way to see if she is going to be flexible, or at least, understanding.
Am i making good choices here? i posted the other day, and am still nervous. do not want to be withholding insulin if i should be giving it.
i am also tapering her off prednisolone, and do not want to make her drop too low, with that factoring in .
any thoughts are so very welcome, and appreciated. I am trying to take in the info here, but have been working unusual hours this week. I would normally be able to check her more methodically. inventory, and one evening shift put us off from taking scheduled bg tests.
thank you,
annette and autumn
I have been home testing autumn for four days now, against the vet recommendations. she has been diagnosed with diabetes, only from the blood glucose test - result was 370. vet put her on humulin n, 1 unit, bid. to bring in wednesday , for bg testing, i guess? by good advice, i began home testing anyway. the first day, she got her first dose in the evening, and the nest dose the following am, 12 hrs later. that evening, i brought home test kit, and she read 170 & 162- back to back test , to make sure i got an accurate reading. the monitor is a cheapie, but that is the best i could manage for now. no shot that night, as it seemed kind of close to normal.
5 am next morning reading of 155. pm read was 177 no shot that day.
next day, @ noon- read 221- gave her 1/2 unit. at 4:30 pm her bg was 170.
today at 1:30 pm- reading of 157. at 7pm tonight- 184bg-no insulin yet today.
my thinking is that her numbers are not high enough to give her the insulin, not that I know much , but i do not feel comfortable giving it when she is not even in the 200's.
my vet was insistent that it would be fine to blindly (my adjective) give her the two shots per day,without testing, and to wait a week to test in her office. I am a bit nervous about calling her and telling her that i have not been doing the shots as directed. I guess to talk to her about it is the only way to see if she is going to be flexible, or at least, understanding.
Am i making good choices here? i posted the other day, and am still nervous. do not want to be withholding insulin if i should be giving it.
i am also tapering her off prednisolone, and do not want to make her drop too low, with that factoring in .
any thoughts are so very welcome, and appreciated. I am trying to take in the info here, but have been working unusual hours this week. I would normally be able to check her more methodically. inventory, and one evening shift put us off from taking scheduled bg tests.
thank you,
annette and autumn