Autumn is HOME!!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

MommaOfMuse

Member Since 2010
Well she is now missing 8 teeth, 2 additional BBs and had her anal glands all cleaned out so she is one sore little girl, but very hungry so off to feed her before she eats one of the other members of the Fur Gang

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Awesome to hear you got home before the storm and she is doing ok (although sore, poor baby). PLease give her scritches from me.

So sad that she had so many BBs in her. I hope the person who did that gets the appropriate karma returned to him/her (but probably a him).
 
Hey, Just checking to see how Ms. Autumn has been feeling. We received the edge of your storm - heavy wet snow. Not enough to get away with working from home, but enough to make the commute a butt clencher. :lol: How much did you get?
 
Autumn is awesome, and getting onto everything since we had her anal glands seen to. I raised her dose again since she was sent home on a sickenly sweet amoxicillian for antibiotics, but she decided that it didn't need to go up and handed me a 37 at +6 today. And tonight her pmps was 73 lovely lovely green, just keep it up baby girl. So I reduced her back down to where she was before the dental, and I called her vet to get the antibiotic switched to something without sugar in it and will pick up the clindamycin on Monday if the second snow storm does resnow us in.

Well according to the TV news we got 9 inches...yeah right! That is why just shoveling off the apron on our garage we have a mountain of snow taller than me...I'm guessing we got closer to about 15 inches, since it was up to the top of the tires on the truck where it hadn't drifted. Basically shut everything down yesterday and we finally got out around 10am today when our neighbor used his snow blower to dig our truck out.

Now we have another snow storm headed our way for Sunday and Monday, but it is only suppose to dump 1-4 of new snow on us so that won't be too bad, just hate these almost spring snows because they are so wet and heavy. Of course I would be happy if I never saw snow again...lol

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Lovely numbers.

I didn't know amoxi had sugar in it. Does it always? Amazing what they put sweeteners into isn't it?

The snow here was that heavy wet stuff. About 3-4" judging by the stuff I shoveled off my aunt's driveway. Tonight we are getting a dusting of powdery stuff after temps were above freezing and the streets got wet. Now they are refreezing - very slippery.

Hey, Mel, just be glad you didn't get the 34" that my sister in CT got with that storm out there a few weeks ago. Yikes! I have never experienced anything like that. A couple of 20+ inches and several 12-15" once (and a 27" one - the "famous" blizzard of '67) when I was a kid.

That was nice of your neighbor to help get your truck out.
 
I don't know if amoxi always has sugar in it but this stuff sure does, when I gave her the first dose of it the night she came home she flipped her head around and I got a little bit on my hand and it was so sticky, so I decided to lick my hand....sickenly sweet and bubble gum flavored...ick. I don't eat a lot of sweet stuff so I usually can taste sugar right off the bat, and this stuff is super make your teeth hurt sweet.

I'm pretty sure even her vet didn't think about it having sugar in it, but the receptionist looked it up when I called and like the second or third inactive ingredient was dextrose...not good for a diabetic, so she was going to have the vet switch it out for us...plus Autumn is the only animal that I have ever known that is easier to pill than she is to give liquid to, that girl can clamp her jaws like a vise when it comes to liquid but a pill she will gobble up like candy. :roll:

Yeah this isn't the worst snow we have had here but it is up there and we have more coming on Sunday. My first year back here from NC we got 22+ inches on the first day of spring, the day before I had been laying out and gotten sunburned, then next up to my hiney in snow...Welcome to Nebraska the bipolar state. There is a joke here that you truly know you are from the Great Plains if you have used the snow blower and the lawn mower on the same day.. :lol: :lol: I love having seasons I just wish we didn't get all four of them in the same week.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
I just looked up the amox suspension ingredients. First, it looks like the suspension is designed for humans (hence the bubble gum flavor and pink coloring). Second, it has 2.7 gm of sucrose per teaspoon (5 ml). I'm guessing the "cat" dose is more like a 1/4 tsp. Third, their package insert cautions against using it if you have diabetes. I know you have a great vet, but you'd think that would be common knowledge, wouldn't you? I'm just glad I know that now for future reference with my FDs.

I totally agree about giving liquid meds to cats. I don't think I have ever had one that tolerated it very well. I remember my vet telling me that they liked the banana flavored deworming med and would "lick it right off the dropper". Yeah, right.
 
Well we were all in a hurry to get out of there as the snow was really starting to fly by the time I picked her up, hence why I didn't even look at what they handed me, and secondly the vet that actually prescribed it is new to the practice and is doing her internship there, so I haven't quite 'trained' her yet. She is the one that saw Duvessa the other day and asked to take her in the back to do a skin scraping so that I didn't get scratched up...lol As well as I ended up giving Duvessa her shot while we were there because this vet was having problems getting it in her scruff. She is going to be a good vet I think she has the compassion part down, now I just have to fine tune her feline diabetes skills. As I know when I took Autumn in she was asking the receptionist while I was there with Autumn if Autumn was a diabetic where her curves were...to which the Bonnie and Kelly just laughed and said they're there, see the web link go pull up her chart...Mel home tests and runs her own curves, she just sometimes fills us in on what is going on...She is one of our special owners that knows more about diabetic cats than we do...lol

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Oh, so it wasn't the one that does c-sections on hamsters then, lol? Well, if she is still learning....

My vets don't even talk about FD with me anymore - I mean they don't offer advice on it and I constantly get told "no one tests their cats as much as you do" - and I don't test a lot. That really means, no one else home tests so no one else gets more than a test a week on their cat and a curve every so often when they bring the cat in. This is not a good thing.
 
lol No not the one that does c-sections on hampsters although that one is the one that actually did the dental on Autumn, just she was still in surgery when I went in to pick up Autumn and all Dr. Tami had put on Autumn's chart was to make sure she sent home Antibiotics not which ones and Autumn's chart does have a big red DIABETIC written on the top and underlined. But since this one is still very new I'm thinking she just didn't even think about the sugar in the Amoxi drops.

Basically from what I understood from Tami, this girl use to be a tech that decided that she wanted to go on to be a vet, so Tami is helping pay for her schooling with a promise that when she graduates that she has to come back and work for the clinic for 3 years. And has to do her intership with Tami, so Tami can train her the way she wants her for the way Dr. Tami runs the clinic as in Animals first, money second.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
How is Autumn doing these days post dental?
I see she had a red last night- was it the medication still? At least she was in the yellows this morning :-D .

Still snowed in or are you able to get out and about?
 
I think that red last night was a bounce off that 47 at her pmps the day before, plus the dose reduction. She is definitely way more out of her shell now since the dental was done, she is everywhere and on everything these days...She is getting to be a funny little girl now and her purrsonality is really beginning to shine. She is now sleeping with us every night and loves to crawl under the covers for a snuggle or two before settling down for the night, Only problem with that is it is always me that she wants to crawl in with and I already have Lady Jane and Arabella under the covers and Maxwell stretched out on the pillows (yes, he is big enough these days that he takes up BOTH pillows) so I get a postage stamp piece of the bed. :roll:

Her lastest trick is she comes running to be tested and gets her first treat, she will sit on the file cabinet until she sees the treats, then jump on her spot on the desk for the first treat, if I'm not quick enough and she finishes that bite before I'm ready to test she jumps back to the file cabinet until she gets a second bite of chicken, then she will come back to her spot to be tested, and of course immediately starts looking for her post test treats.. :lol: In fact she has gotten so demanding I had to go buy a new keyboard as she went to head butt the treat container and head butted a full diet coke all over the desk. :roll: :lol:

We switched her from the amoxicillian to clindamycin and that seems to have helped with the numbers now that she is no longer on a sugar high.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Awww, so nice to read about her blossoming personality!

Cami is very aggressive about treats too. I seem to constantly have a bandaid or healing tooth mark on my index finger. Guess I am not fast enough!

BTW, did you know you can stick a keyboard in the dishwasher? I have not done it, but it is supposed to work. You just have to let it REALLY dry out (air dry) before trying to use it.
 
No dishwasher here but me...lol. And even if I had one I probably couldn't use it. Remember the old Green Acres where they had the kitchen all rigged up with numbers on all the plugs and she could only plug in things that added up to a certain number...well that is our house, you can run the electric frying pan and the toaster, but not the electric frying pan and the microwave, and if you are going to cook at all you must turn off the space heater regardless of what room it is in, I also can't do laundry and cook at the same time or you get a sudden trip to the planetarium...lol. I even still have the old white ceramic sinks that you have to scour with comet about once a week.

The house was built in 1916 so not exactly wired for technology of any kind. Eventually we want to tear out all the walls and have it rewired as it is still the old 2 wire stuff, but it just isn't in the budget and while we sorta own it, we don't completely as it is actually Jon's dad's house although we have the ability to do anything we want with it except sell it.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top