AUSTRALIA. Highest no.s in a curve since she settled on FF

Deborah Jordan

Member Since 2021
Bonnie has been doing well except she became increasingly hungry despite no rise in activity. After talking in the FB group and with Admin I started giving her extra. Her PS Numbers went up immediately and haven't settled back down. There's no greens any more. The ONE good thing was her graph was a text book line downwards! Absolutely perfect BUT no greens!!!!
She has become lazier and stopped playing and is begging for food every time I go to the kitchen.

This is exactly what happened pre FF but she was in the red and black too often. I don't want her getting worse bcoz in 7 days ny grown up son will be moving in. He has been in hospital for 3 months and is very anxious about leaving the safety of the hospital. I'm VERY anxious as I'm responsible for some of his medications and will be hiding them once a week so he can't O/D again. There is a lot of tension between us and I'm worried that Bonnie will go up again.

However meanwhile should I stop the increase to Bonnie's food? She's not as active as she was so shouldn't need the food but her curve was so text book perfect (started high and went down in a nice line) Help pls!
 
@Deborah Jordan
Hi Deborah
I'll tag a few members for you
I did notice on your SS you were using the Alpha Trak then switched to the human meter, on July 16th, the last 2 color codings on the SS up top still reflect a pet meter
Going to tag Bhooma for you to change them for you and draw a line above the date you switched and highlight it so members can see it , I see you did put a line above on the World Tab and highlighted it ,can you do it on the US Tab also
The dark green will be 50-99
And the lime green will be BG <50
What dosing method are you following for Glargine? I don't see it on your SS or in your signature
Here is the link for the dosing methods
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

Deborah I wish your son all the best! :bighug::cat:
I'm sorry there is a lot of tension between you and your son, I know it must be hard on you :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last edited:
Bonnie has been doing well except she became increasingly hungry despite no rise in activity. After talking in the FB group and with Admin I started giving her extra. Her PS Numbers went up immediately and haven't settled back down. There's no greens any more. The ONE good thing was her graph was a text book line downwards! Absolutely perfect BUT no greens!!!!
She has become lazier and stopped playing and is begging for food every time I go to the kitchen.

This is exactly what happened pre FF but she was in the red and black too often. I don't want her getting worse bcoz in 7 days ny grown up son will be moving in. He has been in hospital for 3 months and is very anxious about leaving the safety of the hospital. I'm VERY anxious as I'm responsible for some of his medications and will be hiding them once a week so he can't O/D again. There is a lot of tension between us and I'm worried that Bonnie will go up again.

However meanwhile should I stop the increase to Bonnie's food? She's not as active as she was so shouldn't need the food but her curve was so text book perfect (started high and went down in a nice line) Help pls!
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Bandit's Mom
@Wendy&Neko
@tiffmaxee
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
Thank you ladies
 
Deborah:

I do have a hunch that part of the problem is that you've been holding the dose for way too long. This is particularly the case if you've been following TR. You need to evaluate the dose every 3 days/6 cycles. If Bonnie's numbers aren't in a normal range, the dose needs to be increased. If you hold a dose that isn't getting the numbers into a normal range, you risk glucose toxicity developing. That sounds a lot worse than it is. What it means is that your cat's system gets used to being in higher numbers and treats those higher BG levels as the new normal. I'd encourage you to review the TR Protocol and do your best to stick with the guidelines.

In addition, can you try to get at least 4 tests per day? With TR, the minimum is your two pre-shot tests and one test during both the AM and PM cycles.
 
Deborah:

I do have a hunch that part of the problem is that you've been holding the dose for way too long. This is particularly the case if you've been following TR. You need to evaluate the dose every 3 days/6 cycles. If Bonnie's numbers arei
@Deborah Jordan
Hi Deborah
I'll tag a few members for you
I did notice on your SS you were using the Alpha Trak then switched to the human meter, on July 16th, the last 2 color codings on the SS up top still reflect a pet meter
Going to tag Bhooma for you to change them for you and draw a line above the date you switched and highlight it so members can see it , I see you did put a line above on the World Tab and highlighted it ,can you do it on the US Tab also
The dark green will be 50-99
And the lime green will be BG <50
What dosing method are you following for Glargine? I don't see it on your SS or in your signature
Here is the link for the dosing methods
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

Deborah I wish your son all the best! :bighug::cat:
I'm sorry there is a lot of tension between you and your son, I know it must be hard on you :bighug::bighug::bighug:

n't in a normal range, the dose needs to be increased. If you hold a dose that isn't getting the numbers into a normal range, you risk glucose toxicity developing. That sounds a lot worse than it is. What it means is that your cat's system gets used to being in higher numbers and treats those higher BG levels as the new normal. I'd encourage you to review the TR Protocol and do your best to stick with the guidelines.

In addition, can you try to get at least 4 tests per day? With TR, the minimum is your two pre-shot tests and one test during both the AM and PM cycles.
 
Deborah:

I do have a hunch that part of the problem is that you've been holding the dose for way too long. This is particularly the case if you've been following TR. You need to evaluate the dose every 3 days/6 cycles. If Bonnie's numbers aren't in a normal range, the dose needs to be increased. If you hold a dose that isn't getting the numbers into a normal range, you risk glucose toxicity developing. That sounds a lot worse than it is. What it means is that your cat's system gets used to being in higher numbers and treats those higher BG levels as the new normal. I'd encourage you to review the TR Protocol and do your best to stick with the guidelines.

In addition, can you try to get at least 4 tests per day? With TR, the minimum is your two pre-shot tests and one test during both the AM and PM cycles.
 
She's on SLGS
Deborah:

I do have a hunch that part of the problem is that you've been holding the dose for way too long. This is particularly the case if you've been following TR. You need to evaluate the dose every 3 days/6 cycles. If Bonnie's numbers aren't in a normal range, the dose needs to be increased. If you hold a dose that isn't getting the numbers into a normal range, you risk glucose toxicity developing. That sounds a lot worse than it is. What it means is that your cat's system gets used to being in higher numbers and treats those higher BG levels as the new normal. I'd encourage you to review the TR Protocol and do your best to stick with the guidelines.

In addition, can you try to get at least 4 tests per day? With TR, the minimum is your two pre-shot tests and one test during both the AM and PM cycles.

I can't use a spreadsheet so Chris did the changes for me when I became active. I haven't a clue how to modify the more technical side of things hence Chris Rosonski fixed it for me.
 
Last edited:
She's on SLGS and Chris put the line between pet and Human when I switched to the human meter so I could see how bad she was. I only joined the FDMB bcoz her numbers got out of control so I need a reference point to show how far she's come.

Testing has been hard bcoz I'm up and down to the hospital which is a 6 hour+ round trip so I get what I can. The curves are run weekly when I can but I manage to miss a dose and not be able to run it bcoz it will be artificially high & low bcoz of missed dose. I write in the notes what's going on.

She hasn't had a green for ages which is the problem. I can't change the dose until she goes to light green - that's how I understand the SLGS. She was on 8U so she's done really well and usually gets a dose drop when i run s curve. Unfortunately she hasn't dropped on a curve or anywhere so i can't lower it yet. I was told she should be eating more so her numbers went up and now I'm stuck. She will eat just bcoz there's food regardless of hunger which is why I asked if I should put it up and was told yes. Then of course her numbers went up as I expected and that's the problem!
 
Last edited:
@Deborah Jordan
Hi Deborah
I'll tag a few members for you
I did notice on your SS you were using the Alpha Trak then switched to the human meter, on July 16th, the last 2 color codings on the SS up top still reflect a pet meter
Going to tag Bhooma for you to change them for you and draw a line above the date you switched and highlight it so members can see it , I see you did put a line above on the World Tab and highlighted it ,can you do it on the US Tab also
The dark green will be 50-99
And the lime green will be BG <50
What dosing method are you following for Glargine? I don't see it on your SS or in your signature
Here is the link for the dosing methods
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

Deborah I wish your son all the best! :bighug::cat:
I'm sorry there is a lot of tension between you and your son, I know it must be hard on you :bighug::bighug::bighug:


She's on SLGS and I was using a pet meter and Chris Rosonski changed my SS so I had a reference point . I've posted a full reply explaining the situation but lost it?? - now it's appeared again!! I'm not used to using a SS or posting in here yet.

Debbie
 
Last edited:
You are correct about dose reductions. However, if the numbers are. higher than you want them to be, you need to think about increasing the dose.
 
Back
Top