Aug 4. |bg 115|

Status
Not open for further replies.

apple

Member Since 2017
Bg.......he's busy with the open windows, will test later :D

Weight: 12.6lbs on home scale

Watched the potty go flush yesterday, but was off last night. Not sure what was wrong, but he was off. Eyes and attitude weren't like they usually are.

This am, we are having a nice break from the heat and the windows are open.
 
I am guessing after feeling really bad for a while, he was just tired last night as he had a pretty good day. Sounds like today is another good day. I hope he gets better every day until he is back to his old self. Really happy he is starting to feel better for you. Healing vines for Apple... :bighug:
 
He's not himself and he's not his after anesthesia self. I'm hoping it because the windows were open and maybe too much fresh air.

He's been given a different brand of bupe, wonder if that may be part of it?
 
pain medications can make them act oddly. I had to experiment with lower doses for mine because she couldn't handle a full normal dose.
He's had bupe for years. Their supplier has changed and vet can't get his usually used brand. The other thing that concerns me is that this brand comes in a vial and you have to break the top off the glass vial. I threw-out one vial, when I opened it, it didn't make a clean break and I could feel the glass shards between my fingers. I'm wondering if I got glass in the second vial I opened and didn't know it.

I also have a civvie down. He got a dose of bupe from the same vial. I find it odd to had two cats "off" at the same time. The civvie never misses a meal and he didn't come when the ff can was cracked. Didn't come when the baby food jar was opened. Something is off. And 22+ lb guy doesn't pass on food.

I'm hoping it's the fresh air. I've closed the windows and turned on the a.c..

I'm really, really, really hoping it's just a silly, warm fresh aired day, that has thrown things off.

When we got up this am, he was chipper and his tail was straight in the air. (His greeting was just like a pre- anesthesia greeting). He even chirped to me, a good morning greeting. It was wonderful!
 
Last edited:
don't know what you are paying for the glass vial....

but I used to get 10 mL for $45 bucks.... no glass to break. at www.diamondbackdrugs.com


much better than the preloaded syringes the vet would give ... 15 of them for $120.
Market price varies, kind of like lobster.

One company is currently dealing with a recall, so the market is going through changes.

I won't accept preloaded syringes. I will only accept bupe in original unopened container. With the bad reaction he had to the 2nd version of bupe, and once it's out of the original container, there is no way to tell the difference, until it's in the cat. I only accept factory packaging. I also only accept full boxes with lot codes and dates for tracking recalls.

I put Buprenex in the diamondback search engine and it said no medicine found.

Thanks for the suggestion.
 
it was bupenorphine .... cheek pouch
and being a narcotic , it might not show up in the search engine....
I think they are open tomorrow, you could call them and ask... find out what they have.

and then if they give you the right answer, your vet can fax in a prescription.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top