Aug 16 - Monkey - AMPS 304 - bounce again :(

Status
Not open for further replies.
Looks like you have picked up your monitoring and getting pm cycle tests..... That's Great.
And you test enough, so see how it looks tomorrow morning and if you do increase....
be sure and get a +2 . If the number is quite a drop from your pre-shot number, it can indicate an active cycle where you will
want to monitor frequently to catch the lows....

be sure to have enough supplies , gravy foods, etc.... so you are totally prepared .


I like sideways poses too....
 
He just got down to 59 (3.3) yesterday....I'd hold this dose awhile longer

He could just be bouncing off that low number and it takes up to 6 cycles for a bounce to clear.

Also, he's still a newly diagnosed diabetic and on TR, the protocol says:

INCREASING THE DOSE:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
 
As long as I don't get any unexpected lows, what will let me know if she needs a change? I'm sorry I need this explained 100 times, doing my best.

Monkey has been doing a lot better, she definitely has more energy and it looks like she's actually gained a bit of weight back, though I'll have to confirm at the vet.
 
As long as I don't get any unexpected lows, what will let me know if she needs a change? I'm sorry I need this explained 100 times, doing my best

It was a good 5-6 months before I started to trust my own instincts when it came to making dosing decisions, so don't put so much pressure on yourself.....most of us post daily so the experienced people can keep an eye on our spreadsheets and help us make those decisions until we feel like we understand it enough......and I'd still say something like "I'm thinking of increasing....what do you all think"?....just to make sure that my decisions were sound
 
The most helpful way I found to look at a dose is how low is that particular dose taking the nadir. As Wendy noted, the 0.75u dose is bringing Monkey's numbers into the 50s. You really don't want the numbers to drop lower than that (unless you really like an adrenaline rush due to dropping numbers). I agree with Wendy -- hold the dose.

 
Looks like I missed a dip in the night and now she's bouncing again :(

I've been trying to figure out the best times to feed based on when she goes the lowest. I might have to set an alarm for the middle of the night just to make sure she doesn't go too low while I'm asleep..
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top