Aug 14 Obie AMPS 560

Status
Not open for further replies.

LindaMS

Member Since 2013
James, I started a new thread for Obie for today for you. Please start a new topic each day, so we can follow him easier and not have to wade through 30 or more posts to get to the latest. Makes it very much more likely that you will get our attention when you need it too.

Obie said:
560 again on alphatrak2. Still at .75

As for his readings today, hold the line. He needs time to settle into this dose. it doesnt happen overnight.
 
James, I know it's so hard to see those high numbers again and again! I have high hopes that this consistent dosing will help him out over the next week or so. We'll all be checking in to see, I know.
 
hang in there James. We have all learned tremendous patience by doing this "sugar dance" with our babies.
Nadine
 
I am waiting on the Alphatrak 2 strips to get here. It doesn't look like they are coming today.
I took a reading with relion and it was 388 about 10 minutes ago (5 hour mark). Is there a scale i Can use to determine/convert what this number would likely be on the alphatrak2?
Thank you for starting the thread. :)
 
The numbers are roughly 30% higher on an Alphatrak, so a 388 on the human meter is equivalent to a 504 (give or take) on an Alphatrak.
 
Not 30% but roughly 30 pts higher so 388 on a human meter is roughly 418 on the Alphatrak.

Basically you'll drive yourself nuts trying to compare meters. Just pick one. Honestly I'd stuff the Alphatrak in a drawer and stock up on strips for the Relion.

Then take what you've saved yourself in strips go buy a juicy steak and have a nice dinner with Obie. :-D

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
418 sounds so much better(I know it's still high as hell). I've been reading up on Rebound Hypoglycemia and it really doesn't seem to be what he is going through.
I find it hard to believe that he would drop as low as it would take for it to happen but it does seem logical that his liver is being a bit of a jerk right now.
Now I do think 1.5u may have been too high of a dose and that is what screwed him up as of late.
But the last few days he has had a lot less and you would think that would start to lower him slightly. Or his body wouldn't fight it as much.
This is going to be a long week if I don't start seeing lower numbers.
 
No offense but sugarcat dads are notoriously bad when it comes to wearing the patience pants. Its the way nature hardwired guys. You're fixers. Lol

But here's a game plan for you. Use just the Relion until Saturday. That way we're comparing apples to apples instead of apples to oranges and back to apples. Plus it'll make it easier for Claudia, Linda and I to see his pattern.

Then Saturday run a full curve testing every two hours from shot to shot. That should show when his shot kicks in and where his lowest point is. Once we know that then I'll be able to tell if he needs to go up either .25u or .5u.

Work for you?

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
I'll try. I may not have much of a choice because the new strips wont be here until tomorrow anyways.
Then I will use both monitors. I may start a new document with the relion numbers and work off of both.
I still need to keep the one chart going for my vet. Besides the disagreement on dosage, and things I still like my vet.
And want to show them in numbers that they like the progress of Obie.
 
Hi James and Obie in this new thread too!

Sometimes the bounce isn't because he's gone into really low numbers, sometimes it just the amount of the difference that causes a bounce. Dakota's thinkin' he's a rubber ball right now because when he does 'dive', he slides down off his 400's about 200 points fairly quickly causing Mr. Liver to show up for the slide party with cake and ice cream.

Would send you a pair of patience pants but I imagine you'd look sort of funny in striped knit leggings.... ;-)
 
Hi back! I would and will be a boatload more patient when his numbers drift down to even the 200's at this point.
:) And If it took a funny pair of pants than I'm game.
It is hard not to be worried.
This board is great. I was even directed here by my vet.
It's hard to gamble with two different paths when it comes to treating my cat.
On one hand, I have read and learned more than I hoped I would have to learn about Feline Diabetes.
I've learned about insulin , and please anyone correct me if I'm wrong(This is where I write how I think I understand how the disease and Insulin works on cats)

Here it goes: In my understanding of Lantus.
Lantus is shot subcutaneously through U100 insulin needles. Lantus must be mixed gently by rolling back and forth in ones hands for about a minute.
It is then used to fill a syringe to a certain constant dose. .25,.50..75. etc..
Lantus sort of sifts through the system like sand pouring through a funnel that you need to keep topping off And a shot given today really doesn't show up for a few days,
so a higher dose may take a day or two to effect the cat. The liver thinks the cat is fine where he has been and rebels against the lower numbers and releases sugars and hormones.
Those blow the numbers up to astronomical heights.My cat being over 500 when he was diagnosed probably felt pretty good in the 300-400s so his liver thinks that is as it should be and fights the work
of the lantus. If the dose is too high it can also cause the same symptoms as going dangerously low even if the cat didn't go that dangerously low.
If the body goes too low too quick it can cause the numbers to rise.
This is my understanding. Some of it may be wrong.

My vet wanted me to stop for 2 days and basically start over at .50u. And everyone told me that stopping was a bad move. I look at peoples charts and a few others have done the same thing. Their cats numbers are better than mine right now. I do agree that what my cat was going through was directly a management problem. His shot was all over the place, I was impatient. I had no knowledge of how much tinkering it took(Or not tinkering) to get a cat into at least a comfort zone.
On one hand,If he gets worse because I didn't follow the exact direction of my Vet whom I like, It's my fault for not following the vets suggestion.
If I had followed my vets suggestion and cut him off, he may have still been skyhigh for these few days,He might have actually been lower, but still high, but it would be starting with a clean slate.
I mean, what do I do if I wake up in the morning and it's still over 500 knowing that his number almost certainly hadn't even reached 200.
This is scary as hell to me.
So many here seem to really know their stuff and have nursed several cats to stable and off the juice altogether! That is awesome!
If many of you aren't vets,you should be!
I will be patient and stay the course on him with the same dose for as many days as I can.

Thank you all for helping me this last almost month.
I'm sure I'll be annoying you guys for months to come. :)
 
Only saw one very glaring error and its a biggie!!

Lantus should NOT BE rolled or shaken. This will damage the insulin. Also never shoot air or insulin once drawn into a syringe back into the pen or vial

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
i read about not rolling it and my vet told me to roll it !!!! how is it that they don't know that? and i have accidentely maybe once or twice in the beginning pushed the syringe and got some insulin back in the vial. do u think i screwed up the insulin mel?
 
Because its a human insulin used in a feline and they are use to either the pet only insulin like Prozinc or old school insulin like NPH which are rolled. In and out insulins are cloudy when properly mixed thus the rolling. Depot insulins are clear no rolling.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
and if in the beginning maybe once or twice shot some insulin back into the vile by mistake do u think i screwed up the insulin?
 
Relion Numbers as of today
Obie was 388 at 5 hours,377 at 7 hours,399 at 12 hours.
Didn't find any ketones in his urine.
 
Rounded up to Alphatrak 2 numbers, it's close to his average at this time.
He didn't seem to move much today, I imagine the lower shot is probably starting to kick in.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top