ATTN: Anyone online!

Status
Not open for further replies.
are you saying Bear's BG is 69 @ +8?
Not a bad thing, bear could have a late nadir like my cat does. You might want to feed some MC or of you're scared HC food to keep him from dropping
 
Good morning. Just took a quick look at last night's thread. This BG is not hypo territory, but is probably why you've been getting such high numbers as it's low enough to cause him to try to "protect" himself.

If you're preparing to give him insulin this morning, don't do that yet. Test every 20-30 minutes until he has come up on his own (without food).

If he drops any lower, and you have some wet food with gravy see if he'll eat some of that - mostly gravy, if you can. You don't know where he is normally low in his cycle yet since you've just started home testing. This should be a safe number for him, he's just not used to it yet.
 
Just a couple of quick comments before I jump in the shower for work.

I see you're going to start over at 1.0 units, and are probably about an hour from shot time now. You might even have more data since your post was old by the time I saw it but as long as he has come up on his own the 1.0 units is fine to shoot and he will need the insulin to counter the big bounce that's coming.

He will get used to all the pokes for tests. He may not always like it, but it will get much easier. Also, you can dab a little neosporin on his ear if it's sore, or make your fingers cold with cold water or ice and apply some pressure after a test.
 
OK! Now you are seeing the benefits of testing... awesome.
You are also seeing that the dose WAS way to high.
I hope you have not given any shot yet, as you were wise to go back to 1u but remember that the shed has to drain.
I can't say for sure but you may be good to just skip the morning shot and then depending on how his numbers are from tests during the day, you can give a shot tonite.

Thank goodness you are testing him now huh!

Go to your first post in this thread, then uncheck the box for the 911 symbol.
People are watching now and can help you get Bear back up into some less scary numbers. That 69 is not a hypo but we want to be sure he does not keep dropping alot more.

Please post when you have tested again and keep your spreadsheet updated so that everyone can keep an eye on your progress.

Well done my dear! Bear has a great bean in you!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top