My Samson was diagnosed on October 1, 2011, and was still having very high numbers at the end of last week, when we had the last BG test at his vet's. He was at 3 units of Prozinc every 12 hours, and was continued at that dosage, to come back for another BG in 2 weeks.
Even though I was getting different numbers from the 3 glucometers I have, I was confused, but still testing. The high numbers continued over the weekend, and the first of the week. Then, Thursday morning his BG was low enough that I called the vet and told him I though it was going down, and he lowered the dose, and told me to bring Samson in this morning. His BG was up enough last evening to give the reduced dose, and this morning, too, but by the time I got him to the vet this morning, Samson's BG was down to 20 on the vet's meter. I had taken in the iPet meter the vet had gotten for me, and it read 70....but the vet was going by his and we started feeding that little boy like crazy.
He is not taking any insulin tonight or Saturday morning, and then I am to give him 1 unit each 12 hours starting with Saturday night, and back to the vet on Monday morning. I will not, of course, give him any injection without testing first,.
If I had been blindly giving the 3 units every 12 hours until late next week, which would have been when he would have been due to go in, Samson might have not made it to that appointment.
So.....like everyone on here says......TEST, TEST, TEST.
They can start needing a lot less insulin all of a sudden, and if you're don't know it, well.....
So, again, I'm ever grateful for having this forum.....
Even though I was getting different numbers from the 3 glucometers I have, I was confused, but still testing. The high numbers continued over the weekend, and the first of the week. Then, Thursday morning his BG was low enough that I called the vet and told him I though it was going down, and he lowered the dose, and told me to bring Samson in this morning. His BG was up enough last evening to give the reduced dose, and this morning, too, but by the time I got him to the vet this morning, Samson's BG was down to 20 on the vet's meter. I had taken in the iPet meter the vet had gotten for me, and it read 70....but the vet was going by his and we started feeding that little boy like crazy.
He is not taking any insulin tonight or Saturday morning, and then I am to give him 1 unit each 12 hours starting with Saturday night, and back to the vet on Monday morning. I will not, of course, give him any injection without testing first,.
If I had been blindly giving the 3 units every 12 hours until late next week, which would have been when he would have been due to go in, Samson might have not made it to that appointment.
So.....like everyone on here says......TEST, TEST, TEST.
They can start needing a lot less insulin all of a sudden, and if you're don't know it, well.....
So, again, I'm ever grateful for having this forum.....