Alex&Fayaway
Member Since 2015
I need some guidance re: overdosing.
To summarize, we increased Fay's insulin at a rate of just about 1U/week over the first month she was diagnosed, sometimes longer, as we were seeing no dip in numbers. I should have kept a better log....initially I think there were some 1/2U increases, but as she continued to not respond and I was waiting a full week with number still consistently over 400, we on average went up a full unit/week--sometimes the time frame was longer.
Some of you will say this was too fast, that I should have increased by 0.5U (per protocol found here) because her nadirs were continually over 300.
Early this week, I started finally seeing some movement in her BS--this was around 4U, twice a day....by which I mean finally seeing nadirs dip into the 200s, yippee! However, she persisted in the >200, <300 nadirs for nearly five days, so last night we went to 4.75U (roughly--I don't find the syringes with the half measurements helpful in the slightest, and even on a 1/2U syringe you are STILL eyeballing 0.25U).
Regardless, today her AMPS is 400. Her shot this morning will be 4.75U.
I guess we will press on in this way for a while, but I'd like to hear from some folks who have experienced skipping over their "ideal dose" and how they handled it--e.g. at one point did you back off? Did you go down in 1/2U increments or more (for example, we know she is still high at 4.5U, so if I went back down, would I even bother to hit this dose again?). I'm not 100% convinced that's happening for her, but I would appreciate any insight.
We were seeing some strong changes with the pu/pd, but last night the litterbox was fairly full.
Thanks in advance
Best,
Alex (and Fay =^-^=)
To summarize, we increased Fay's insulin at a rate of just about 1U/week over the first month she was diagnosed, sometimes longer, as we were seeing no dip in numbers. I should have kept a better log....initially I think there were some 1/2U increases, but as she continued to not respond and I was waiting a full week with number still consistently over 400, we on average went up a full unit/week--sometimes the time frame was longer.
Some of you will say this was too fast, that I should have increased by 0.5U (per protocol found here) because her nadirs were continually over 300.
Early this week, I started finally seeing some movement in her BS--this was around 4U, twice a day....by which I mean finally seeing nadirs dip into the 200s, yippee! However, she persisted in the >200, <300 nadirs for nearly five days, so last night we went to 4.75U (roughly--I don't find the syringes with the half measurements helpful in the slightest, and even on a 1/2U syringe you are STILL eyeballing 0.25U).
Regardless, today her AMPS is 400. Her shot this morning will be 4.75U.
I guess we will press on in this way for a while, but I'd like to hear from some folks who have experienced skipping over their "ideal dose" and how they handled it--e.g. at one point did you back off? Did you go down in 1/2U increments or more (for example, we know she is still high at 4.5U, so if I went back down, would I even bother to hit this dose again?). I'm not 100% convinced that's happening for her, but I would appreciate any insight.
We were seeing some strong changes with the pu/pd, but last night the litterbox was fairly full.
Thanks in advance
Best,
Alex (and Fay =^-^=)
