At my wits end!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patty & Tiger

Member Since 2012
Tigers numbers are up and down from hour to hour. This is so frustrating trying to get it consistant. I was giving .80 for about 3 weeks and the numbers were basically in the 300's and 400's. I started giving him 1u now for 2 days and it is in the 200's and 400's. It can be low 200's one hour and the next hour be a little higher, then the next hour be back lower again. He eats 4 times a day and is still playing and grooming. He is peeing smaller amounts and hardly drinks any water (I am adding water to his food). Should I keep giving the 1u or up it to 1.20 and see what that does? I don't know what to do at this point. Can someone please help
 
I answered on Health but am glad to see you posting here. It's more likely that you'll get specific ProZinc dosing replies here. Here's what I said

It's good that he is peeing and playing and eating. The high preshots are frustrating. It does seem that the insulin is wearing off early, which can suggest a higher dose is needed. You could give the one unit another cycle or two or up the dose to 1.2, watching that midcycle number to see if the cycle becomes more smile shaped - lower at the midcycle and then going up slower from +6 - 12. If you increase, monitor.

Everything else is good - low carb food and treats? No chance of a tooth or other infection?

Check Carl's reply on Health also.
 
I'm glad you came over. Lets figure out Tiger!

I don't visit Health very much so I don't know your history so far. I'll go read Tigers story in your profile but if you could add any other details here that would be great.
 
I check Tigers BG at 5:40 AM and 5:40 PM during the week and weekends and usually at +6 in the PM. During the weekend I try to do a curve to see where we are at. I check level, then he eats and while he eats or right after I give him his shot. I want to make sure he eats good before I give the shot. I give the shot in the scruff, he tolerates that better than in the hind quarters. He eats FF and Friskies Pate in the morning, noon, evening and a little at bedtime. Let me know if you need to know anything else, I will be happy to tell you anything that you think might help. :smile:
 
It's good you can get curves on the weekends. From the last few days it looks like you can raise the dose to 1.2u safely.

I know how hard it can be to raise the dose during the week when you work but from the last few days it looks like it would be safe.

I work full time too and would only raise the dose on weekends when I could be home to moniter the cycle, maybe that would work for you too. Slow and steady increases.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top