At my wits end!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Harley Baby & Michele

Member Since 2018
I finally give up and don't know what to do so I am asking for help.

As you can see on spreadsheet, I have dropped way down to 0.25 unit. I highly doubt Harley is going into remission as he still spikes some highs. I think the low sugars are because he is so mind numbingly picky! He is not eating what his body needs. Weight is stable.

I do not think he is nauseated as he will Lunge for Friskies Temptations Treats, turkey and ham deli meat, and bacon as if he is starving to death! I have even caught him licking the butter as I have read other cats have done. No vomiting but I am going to purchase some Slippery Elm Bark Powder today just for kicks. I don't know what else to do to make him eat.

BTW, I also tried a variety of canned food and he will eat it for one meal then turn his nose up: Friskies, Fancy Feast, Paws, 9 Lives and Special Kitty.

I don't know what else to do about his insulin. If I hold it, he will spike. If I give a tiny dose, who knows.

Help! :(
 
Try parmesan cheese sprinkle some on top of food, I've heard cats love it
I tried and waited a ton of food to find something bella would eat, hes now eating primal chicken freeze dried raw
 
You did the right thing by reducing as the 30's always warrant a reduction. The last pink was a delayed bounce from the low on 8/15. They yellows yesterday also look like a bounce from the 30's or he may have gone lower overnight too. I'm not sure what "held" means....is that a NS (no shot) or did you hold the same dose? Sorry he's picky, I had one of those too and pulled my hair out. Are you still leaving out the Dr. Elsey's kibble? Is he eating that? Have you tried sprinkling Fortiflora on his wet food or freeze dried treats? Let the numbers guide you as you've been doing.
 
Thank you! I will try the Parmesan and Forti Flora to start. "Held" means I did not give a shot. Another term to use?? I never see him eat the kibble. He was eating a scant amount for a while and has quit, again. I did not give insulin this morning for BG 95. Will see if he eats, how high it goes. Maybe a bounce as stated. Will see how he is tonight and then start allover again at 1/4 unit with the SLGS method, I guess.
 
"Held" means I did not give a shot
We use "NS" meaning no shot :) A way to determine if he's eating any the dry is to measure a specific amount once a day and then measure again later to see if he's eaten any. He might go higher today, with the NS, just ignore it and stay with the .25 tonight. The picky eating is enough to drive you crazy. Here are some additional tricks you can try How To Stimulate a Kitty's Appetite . Glad you're testing for keytones with his history of DKA. Be sure to keep up on that and hang in there.
 
That is a frustrating chart. I agree to stay the course with 0.25.

Appetite issues are the hardest. If Harley is a good weight or a little underweight, then I would feed him whatever he wants.:bighug::bighug:

Sometimes with Leo, he is a bit picky. I put some 2 carb crunchies next to his fresh FancyFeast. He eats the crunchies, then moves to the FF.
 
Yikes! I see Harley dipped into the 20's yesterday!! He has earned another reduction to .1u. He hasn't had consistent shots (understandably) and a few skipped shots in the last few days. Here is a picture of how to draw the .1u dose. Don't discount the possibility of him going OTJ. Has his appy picked up? Going to ask @Wendy&Neko to take a look at your SS. I didn't see a new thread yesterday but we usually post a new one daily.

01unit-1.jpg
 
I'm glad you reduced today as per Karen's suggestion. Harley isn't used to these nice green numbers yet, they are still new to him, hence the bouncing. Hopefully you'll find a small dose to keep him in safe greens for a while.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top