AT Lolly-- What's going on?? AMPS/172, .25u,+9/112,NS +3, 91

Status
Not open for further replies.

Martha and Lolly (GA)

Member Since 2015
I slept through Lolly's insulin alarm... didn't wake till 3 hours later -- :mad: horrible! -- but then I checked her numbers --91??? I wouldn't shoot that any way.

She had .25 u this am, was planning on .25 this pm, with the thought that I probably have to go back up to .5.

I can give her another .25 tomorrow, see what her bg is when i get home.

Does this sound good? Or go down to 12.5?

I started with the Relion Confirm- I've been using it in tandem, can someone tell me if the numbers look good? I thought the first reading, 41, was wonky. they are both listed in my Spreadsheet, but here they are:

AT/RC AMPS 172/41 +9 112/73 +391/64 She ate around +9.5

Thanks
 
Whenever you get a wonky number, re-test.

And nice numbers! Have you determined if she drops in response to food? That would be an indicator that her pancreas is waking up.
 
Hey Martha

I think either the 172 or the 41 this morning was a bad test. My guess is it was the 41. If you get w weird number like that, retest it.

If it were me, I'd pick one meter and stick with it instead of running both meters.

I'd see where she is in the morning. Let me look at her SS a bit more before I make a suggestion, ok? BRB.
 
My husband has to test tomorrow, and he doesn't want to use the Relion until I've showed it to him, so her numbers will be AT tommorrow. I just wanted to test that it was working.
 
I wondered what happened, I hadn't seen y'all so checked your SS and saw no shot. Has there been no other food since +9.5? She's surfing but thats a long time with no food and may be why. It is scary shooting lower numbers but we all do it...once you have data (+ HC & plenty of strips) you work your way down and shoot lower. They typically don't have big drops on the micro doses. There is a saying you have to shoot low to stay low. Mainly you don't want to skip shots and have swings/bounces. But you have to do what you are comfortable with. If you haven't fed, you could wait 20 minutes and restest to see if its rising. Or you can shoot a BCS dose, in this case .10.

And yes, those AT to human comparison look right....human runs 30-40% of AT. The one this morning seemed wonky though.

Glad you got some sleep though
 
Last edited:
How about this, then....just put the AT numbers in the columns and then in the Remarks, put the comparison numbers for yourself. If you switch meters, you can just put a line across the SS indicating where you changed meters.

Athough she hasn't earned a reduction, it would be good to see what she would do if you could shoot twice a day. You could reduce to 0.1u so you'd be getting a consistent dose of insulin in her twice a day. Picture below of 0.1u.

image.jpg
 
You do need to pick and stick to one though...its too confusing AND expensive...and will make you crazy comparing constantly.

Do you see why we were worried about you that first night now that you see the difference in read?....that night you had shot the 1.5u into basically a human 40. YIKES!!! Boy have y'all come a long way!!!!!!
 
Truly Martha, what's important is figuring out what YOUR .25 or .10 is, then trying to draw that same amount the next time. Its not about being exact but moreso being able to replicate closely as possible the next time. Yours may be somewhere in between. But I agree you want to try to avoid skipping more shots.

...though as usual Lolly barely skips a beat
 
Last edited:
Yeah Betty -- I've come a long way from my vet :rolleyes:.;)! Thanks to all of you!. I'll convert on Sun -- but DH needs to stick to AT tomorrow. ".1" aaarrrrghh-- I just figured out .2, and even that's not too accurate. I'll try.

BTW I now have 100 AT test strips. Came today
 
Has anyone explained drop dosing to you?

Using a colored liquid, so you can see it more easily, fill a syringe to 0.5 units.
Slowly squeeze out equal-sized drops, maybe by twisting the plunger, until you can get the same number of drops per 0.5 units every time.

Now, you can draw up more than the amount you need, and squeeze out drops to the dose you want.
You discharge the excess into the sink.

Decreases may be done a drop at a time.
 
Its ok to do either, or somewhere in between....just figure out what you do so you can draw that same amount tomorrow nite.

Do you remember I said this is sort of what happened with Hank?...I kept getting numbers I was afraid to shoot, so would do a BCS intending to be temporary, but it would stick and become the new dose. That's partially how we worked down quickly like we did. Lolly just is ready for this all to be done it seems!!

We've been telling you to get the human one, I think you'll be so glad. You can always sell the AT strips on eBay...or maybe to your vet ;)
 
Got it, consistency. I absolutley guarantee, DH is not loading up any .1s. He balked at the .25 with him, .1 will not fly. I'm not sure how to jump that hurdle. I think I can get all the shots except T and Th evening.

She ate at +9 and +4 in the evening.
 
I've tried the drop dosing. I went very slowly, and got two large drops per unit! I think because I went so slowly, the surface tension on the drops held longer. I'll figure something out.
 
For kitties coming down the scale and getting down to these lower doses, we like to see if the preshot will come down if you feed at +8/+9, just a tsp or so. If her pancreas is working, then PS should come down.

Edited to add: I never had any luck with the drop method. I couldn't get consistent drop sizes but two drops in a unit is not enough. Usually, it would be about five in a unit. Most of us use calipers to dose with. You can easily dose 0.1u consistently using the calipers.
 
When was the +4 meal in relationship to the test?
Can we get you to feed more frequently...just small meals but more often? That's a long stretch between meals.
But I think you said she also has access to food in interim?....is it LC canned you leave out?

Leave him a colored water display syringe out showing where to draw the dose. You can do the .25. You just want to not be skipping.
 
Something else you can try when you're ready to drop the dose again is to take the syringe and push the plunger in REAL hard, and then insert it into the insulin. As you release the plunger, there's just enough vacuum that a tiny amount of insulin will automatically be sucked up into the syringe.

It's best to test it first though. Try it and then see if when you push the plunger in again, you get a drop or 2 of insulin coming out (you'll end up wasting it, but there's hardly enough to worry about wasting!)
 
If you use the method Chris described, you will get less than 0.1u. Doing that method will give you just one drop; 0.1u is more than that. When I dose 0.1u, I can actually see the insulin in the barrel. When I dose one drop, I cannot; it's all in the needle.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top