Gas Runkey
Member Since 2018
Would the next step down be 0.10 of lantus? I would like to keep my furry one (Gas Runkey) on two times a day. The good news is that since Nov. 19, when she started Lantus after diagnosis, she's gone from 1U two times a day to 0.25 (dropped in 1/4 increments each time). Each reduction has been prompted by the fact that her numbers would get too low for a second shot again and again. Been working closely with my vet on all this. And now, even 0.25 has her around 140-145 (alphatrak) at the second shot time (I am doing no shot under 150). There have been a few times when she's still too low at 24 hours. The average, however, has been about 190 at the 24-hour mark. So her numbers aren't horrible and I can tell her pancreas is burping out insulin.
I plan to do a full curve in a few days. Problem has been her cycle has until the past few days meant no a.m. shot, so I haven't been able to do a glucose curve in the day. Yes, I could stay up all night, but ...
Of course, I am super curious right now to see what her nadir is. From the other curve, however, and watching how she acts, her nadir isn't at the 12-hour mark, but about the average 3-5 hour.
Anyway, if anyone's inclined to answer without me giving more specifics (I don't have a spreadsheet here and won't be doing one on here as I have one at home that works best for me), that's great. Basically, I would love to be able to get her on steady twice a day pancreas support, and my basic general question is what is the next step down is from 0.25. Technically, I know it's 0.125, but how in the heck would one even do that? Do I just do 0.10?
I plan to do a full curve in a few days. Problem has been her cycle has until the past few days meant no a.m. shot, so I haven't been able to do a glucose curve in the day. Yes, I could stay up all night, but ...
Anyway, if anyone's inclined to answer without me giving more specifics (I don't have a spreadsheet here and won't be doing one on here as I have one at home that works best for me), that's great. Basically, I would love to be able to get her on steady twice a day pancreas support, and my basic general question is what is the next step down is from 0.25. Technically, I know it's 0.125, but how in the heck would one even do that? Do I just do 0.10?
Last edited: