? At .25 dose numbers are too low for second shot...

Gas Runkey

Member Since 2018
Would the next step down be 0.10 of lantus? I would like to keep my furry one (Gas Runkey) on two times a day. The good news is that since Nov. 19, when she started Lantus after diagnosis, she's gone from 1U two times a day to 0.25 (dropped in 1/4 increments each time). Each reduction has been prompted by the fact that her numbers would get too low for a second shot again and again. Been working closely with my vet on all this. And now, even 0.25 has her around 140-145 (alphatrak) at the second shot time (I am doing no shot under 150). There have been a few times when she's still too low at 24 hours. The average, however, has been about 190 at the 24-hour mark. So her numbers aren't horrible and I can tell her pancreas is burping out insulin.

I plan to do a full curve in a few days. Problem has been her cycle has until the past few days meant no a.m. shot, so I haven't been able to do a glucose curve in the day. Yes, I could stay up all night, but ... :) Of course, I am super curious right now to see what her nadir is. From the other curve, however, and watching how she acts, her nadir isn't at the 12-hour mark, but about the average 3-5 hour.

Anyway, if anyone's inclined to answer without me giving more specifics (I don't have a spreadsheet here and won't be doing one on here as I have one at home that works best for me), that's great. Basically, I would love to be able to get her on steady twice a day pancreas support, and my basic general question is what is the next step down is from 0.25. Technically, I know it's 0.125, but how in the heck would one even do that? Do I just do 0.10?
 
Last edited:
People here will want to have more info to help you. Someone can help with the spread sheet also?
It sounds like your kitty is doing GREAT! When you post on the forum write Dose Advice after the question mark It's what the advisors look for first.

Best of Luck to you & your kitty!:)
 
Thanks, JoyBee and Ravan,

I have my numbers at home, so haven't been planning on doing a spreadsheet here unless I need specific specifics about doses! :) But maybe my question was specific. Really, just wondering about the next step down for a lower dose. I will run it by my vet too, of course, but he's out for the holiday for a few days.

Anywho: If I do start an ss here, the only numbers I have for the last weeks are just preshot numbers, I'll wait until after my next curve. Actually, I'll be more informed overall once I can get that curve done. Keeping my fingers crossed that we stay at morning shots for the next handful of days so I can do the curve this Friday or Saturday ... I really don't want to be poking her ear through the wee hours of the night! :) (I do understand it ... it's just a matter of the home spreadsheet being the convenient one...)

Yeah, she is doing well! We had a 3-cycle period last week of 120, 140, then 109. But then, when the depot ran out, she shot up to 200. Not bad for 36 hours, though, so ... paws crossed! :)
 
don't want to be poking her ear through the wee hours of the night!

In the beginning it's important to get an idea of where he'll go on a dose of insulin. We try to fill in the row of boxes,over a period of time, like a puzzle .

Try to get in at least few tests in soon ,in the middle of the Am & Pm that's usually when the glucose goes lowest. They want to know how low kitty goes.

I've been here for 10 months but i do not give dose advice. I leave that to the experts who have been doing it for years on this forum.I still ask for their advice. The insulin is a powerful hormone & our kitties life depends on it. I wouldn't want to make a mistake or give wrong advice to anyone.

It's great you at least do a pre shot test That's really important to know if it's safe to shoot the insulin.

They'll want to know what insulin you're using What dose you give & at what time.They need info before they can advise you.

It looks to me that Gas Runkey may go into remission!

My Kitty Ravan is a Bouncer. He still goes over 400 at times. You can look at his spread sheet to get an idea of his #'s .

There's always someone available but less right now due to Christmas. They are really amazing. They donate their time to help people because they feel it's a way to pay back for the help they got here. A lot of them have been helping for years even after their kitty is gone.They really know more about insulin & Diabetes than most vets do.

I'm off to bed now I'll be up tonight checking my Kitties BG he's been dropping low lately In the 40's! We start a new post every day. Just put the "date & Need DOSE advice" tomorrow morning. I'll check about 9:30 am tomorrow I'm on central time.

You're doing great! Several kitties here have gone into remission recently. So It's exciting for all of us to hear when another kitty might also!
Keep up the good work :)
 
Any particular reason you have a no shot value of 150? I would also recommend getting more than mid cycle tests. If you cannot test during the day, how about a before bed test at night?

I won’t suggest a dose without a spreadsheet, as will no other experienced person here.
 
150 seems high as a no shot cutoff number with Lantus -- you'd normally want to be able to keep injecting on values lower than that. It's great that your dose is dropping, but I'd also like to see a spreadsheet before giving more specific advice.
 
Back
Top