Kako & Tux
Member Since 2016
Thank you and good night, Tuxedo Mom!Kako, I will be turning in soon too so sweet dreams to you and Tux and I too will check in tomorrow . @Tuxedo Mom sweet dreams to you too!![]()
Thank you and good night, Tuxedo Mom!Kako, I will be turning in soon too so sweet dreams to you and Tux and I too will check in tomorrow . @Tuxedo Mom sweet dreams to you too!![]()
Thank you for copying my post. I new here on the forum, so have to find out about such things. I will use this topic from now on.
I have here a link to our forum, to the topic with two graphs of the curve of a cat on caninsulin, when he is on the right dose. It may be informative.
You can see, that the average cat has the low point at +4, and basing a dose on the level at +6 can be dangerous, because you don't know what the low point was. Every cat is different, so it's an example, it's the average cat (most cats have the lowest point on +4 or +4.5, though). It's in Dutch (sorry), and in mmol. You can multiply the level with 18 to get mg/dL levels.
http://www.diabeteskatten.nl/forum/showthread.php?t=782
About food with the insulin caninsulin/vetsulin. The advised feeding pattern is different than with the long acting insulins.
The cat must have eaten before the shot: (test), eat, shoot. A preshot test is not always necessary, but for now, after the 'incident' please continue doing preshot tests.
The advised feeding pattern is: 35% of the total food per 24 hours to be given before the shot, 15% 4 hours later (to help against a too low point). Again in the evening, so it totals to 100%. Leave the food that is not eaten, but he should at least eat 75% of the preshot meal to feel safe to shoot the normal dose.
100 grams of wet food equals 25 grams of dry food. So you have to make a calculation if you give both types of food.
Every 12 hours should have the same kind of food on the same moments. So no wet food in the morning before the shot and dry food before the evening shot.
When the cat is out of the danger zone, the feeding could be a bit free-er. E.g. let the cat eat the 15% whenever he wants.
If you change the food to low carb, you have to adjust the dose of insulin immediately. I would not do that yet. First we have to find out if the dose of 2 units is okay or too high. Or too low, for that matter.
Please, ask questions, any of you, if you need clarification. I will be away on a long holiday from May 6, so I still have about 1 week to give information. I will be off line during my holiday (although I will be in the USA...)
Both are 12 hour graphs. But the first counts from 1 tot 12, the second one from 8.00 to 20.00 hours.
The second one shows the working of the second peak of caninsulin (in some cats). The level rises very slowly and stays stable around 6 to 8 hours adter the shot. The first one is how most cats respond.
We also have vets that test at +6. But that is the low point for dogs. They think the metabolism of both animals are alike ....This was what had been mentioned earlier to Kako about Tux's tests and the vet continuing to up the dose based on later cycle readings.
Yes, correct. But few cats show an actual second peak. Some do, and that is really nice, they will stay below the renal threshold longer.Thank you. It is good to know about the usual second peak with this insulin. I am assuming this is because of the two "types" of insulin in the mix...the faster acting and the intermediate acting? The fast acting would act first and drop the numbers a lot, then the intermediate would keep the numbers lower and perhaps drop them further?
Yes, correct. But few cats show an actual second peak. Some do, and that is really nice, they will stay below the renal threshold longer.
Edit: not completely correct. The second low point is never lower than the first low point.
I did introduce myself on the Introduction forum, but I came here to get information on Prozinc, which is new in The Netherlands. The help is terrific, and I thought I could do something in return when it became clear to me that vetsulin is not well known here.Often new members will post on the Introduction and then later on the Health forum and people will respond to both threads
I did introduce myself on the Introduction forum, but I came here to get information on Prozinc, which is new in The Netherlands. The help is terrific, and I thought I could do something in return when it became clear to me that vetsulin is not well known here.
I have more info, e.g. on hypo treatment, which is definitely not the same as with the long acting insulins. Where should I post that kind of info? It's probably better to keep this topic for Kako and Tux. They must not drown in the info, they need actual instructions at this moment ....

I think it would be great to have the sticky in the Vetsulin forum but, as it has such low traffic, it would be really helpful to announce the addition of the sticky on Feline Health. That way regular contributors would know where to find it and then, through repeated posting of the link a greater number of members would learn to advertise the link to new members using Vetsulin/Caninsulin.I would suggest that you do one combined post in the Vetsulin forum with all the main information that you have been supplying. That post could be regularly "bumped" up to keep it active and maybe eventually we could get a sticky note made out of it if the admins think it would be helpful. I won't discuss this any more on here so as not to get off topic for Kako and Tux![]()
Very true (I've used both Caninsulin and Lantus). It would be fantastic if you could post recommendations on managing hypos when Vetsulin/Caninsulin is in use.I have more info, e.g. on hypo treatment, which is definitely not the same as with the long acting insulins.
I share Mogs' sentiment. Your information and experience is so informative!I'm very glad you've joined FDMB! Thank you for your contributions thus far, and I look forward to reading more of your posts.![]()
I share Mogs' sentiment. Your information and experience is so informative!![]()
That's really high. But it's still the second full day after lowering the dose, and if the 3 units were too much and the body is in a reaction, the numbers still can go all over the place. Please, shoot no more than 2 units.Good morning ladies! It's 713 this morning.
JennieIf you care to share, it would be really nice to know your name.
That's the idea. I saw some comments on the caninsulin forum on some topics and I thought: they need more info ...Perhaps this knowledge will help me to help others.
Yep!Ja! It's goedenavond, by the way, but I suppose that's a typo?
That's really high. But it's still the second full day after lowering the dose, and if the 3 units were too much and the body is in a reaction, the numbers still can go all over the place. Please, shoot no more than 2 units.
It may still be too high a dose, but we need more info and tests. A +4 and a +7 would indeed be informative today. Maybe, if you're up for it, a +2, too.
Kako, I thought you were Japanese when I first saw your name.By the way, I am Japanese.
I've lived in the UK all my life and still sometimes find it "hard to communicate in English".....After living in the US for 20 years, it is still hard to communicate in English.
Kako, I thought you were Japanese when I first saw your name.
I've lived in the UK all my life and still sometimes find it "hard to communicate in English".....
Eliz


Today, if the cat ate enough before you gave the insulin (which should be about 35% of the quantity you give per day, see the package of the food) no food before the +4 test. But how much did he eat just before the shot? It's important he ate enough.Which should I follow strictly?
Nowt wrong with your communication skills, Eliz. You must be playing to a lousy audience.I [...] still sometimes find it "hard to communicate in English".....![]()
It was actually +1.5, 2 hours after eating. I will try to test +1 by feeding Tux one hour before insulin injection tonight or tomorrow morning.Quite a significant drop by +1. Good job getting that test in, Kako+
(BTW - I think your English is fine!)
Mogs
.
Yes.Up again....![]()
Yes it has been 5 days since the bounce, but it's only two days since you lowered the dose.It's been 5 days since...........
OK... BG tested 668.
If it was your cat, how much dose do you give? Stay with 2, lower to 1.75, 1.5, 1.25, or 1?
I think he's really happy to have found a loving home and enjoys the care he gets from you. You're doing a great job in caring for him. The cats, they put their little claws in our hearts, never to let go.
