? Assistance with Vetsulin Needed - ? too high a dose

Status
Not open for further replies.
Thank you ladies! I understand...I should be totally happy seeing those pretty colors and look forward to see the first green!
I am trying to put "Vetsulin habits" behind and looking at Lantus user SSs to learn.
I thought AMPS would be yellow or blue this morning, but it was pink. OK.... I take deep breathes and prepare to be excited to see the first green anytime.
Go Tux!! :woot:
 
Well, it's been a while since he saw blue numbers. So the pink could even be a little reaction to those. He'll get there - you've seen now that he can react to the Lantus - so now it's just a case of being patient. :)
 
I'm still working on getting Cooter swapped over to all wet food, plus he is a very large framed cat, so I can't really give you an answer on how much I feed him. The amount you feed will depend on Tux's weight and his appetite in general. The "pefect portions' on the sheba is a little misleading I think...it may be enough for some I suppose, but others would need more
Hi Sarah! Today I am spending my time reviewing posts from the beginning, and I realized that it is you, Cooter's mom!
We started with Vetsulin too.... and a lady kindly shared Cooter's SS for me to get ideas (In the beginning I was testing preshots and +6 only). Since then I have been viewing Cooter's SS everyday. You quickly switched to Prozinc, but we stayed on Vetsulin for 3 weeks. Finally we made a switch. Anyway... Cooter has been in my prayers. For both Cooter and Tux who are new to diabetes be regulated soon. :cat::cat:
 
Last edited:
Well, it's been a while since he saw blue numbers. So the pink could even be a little reaction to those. He'll get there - you've seen now that he can react to the Lantus - so now it's just a case of being patient. :)
Does it mean a minor (or gentle) bouncing?
 
Does it mean a minor (or gentle) bouncing?
It's not certain because he didn't go really high, but it is possible that he's having a very minor bounce today. Or he's still adjusting to the Lantus - or even a combination of the two. But he will get there - and soon you'll be seeing more blue numbers and even starting to see some green! :D
 
418... back to red. Though it's interesting, Tux is acting totally normal. He is happier when he is in pink and red. Weird...:blackeye:
Giving him break from testing, for he will be tested A LOT when we see blue then green! :D
I ordered 50 more test strips. :) Feel never enough. Maybe I should order 100 or 200 instead of 50 at a time???
 
Tux has very probably got used to how he feels in higher numbers - it does take them a little time to adjust to being in better numbers again. But his body will remember what normal feels like given a little time. :)

For a while with Rosa I was buying 100 strips a week! We usually didn't use all of them, but it meant I never ran out. If you can afford to order more than 50 at a time, it's always worth having a spare box on hand. :)
 
I'd recommend always keeping a full box of strips in your hypo toolkit, Kako. I like to have 2 unopened pods of 50 strips plus the one I'm using at the moment. When the current pod is finished I open a new one and order another pod of 50 strips to top up my stock.


Mogs
.
 
Tux has very probably got used to how he feels in higher numbers - it does take them a little time to adjust to being in better numbers again. But his body will remember what normal feels like given a little time. :)
Tux was stray, and he loves human food. I feel he was eating junk food or restaurant garbage since he smelled like a restaurant garbage can when he came to my place. (Poor boy!)
I feel his BG has been high entire his life, for 10 years or so. Wonder if his body would agree with ideal number. :nailbiting:
 
Awww poor baby Tux. That reminds me a lot of our Licorice. When we first got her, she wouldn't drink from a bowl of water, but she'd steal soda or hot tea!! And she begs and begs for people food - it makes me wonder just how she was surviving before we got her. But cats are remarkable creatures, and his body does remember what normal should feel like - it just needs to be reminded. :bighug:

Yes, I can see from Rosa's SS.
Things got a little crazy for a while - once she decided she was going to earn dose reductions, she earned a lot of them really quickly! And then of course spent a month running so close to the low range that I had to test her a lot anyway before she earned that last reduction. But Rosa never did like to make life too easy for me!! ;) Many cats do extremely well with less testing than Rosa got so please don't be put off by how much I tested.
 
Awww poor baby Tux. That reminds me a lot of our Licorice. When we first got her, she wouldn't drink from a bowl of water, but she'd steal soda or hot tea!! And she begs and begs for people food - it makes me wonder just how she was surviving before we got her. /QUOTE]
Tux used to steal my royal milk tea, cream puff and ice cream too. :facepalm: Has Licorice adjusted healthy food?
 
Licorice has adjusted quite well now. She still prefers dry food, but she'll eat whatever she's given - I think the other cats helped to teach her how a cat is meant to drink and what they're meant to eat. The other cats get excited at food time, so of course she started off by just joining in the excitement, then gradually she started to eat the food too! :) We never did let her drink the soda she tried to steal of course - she might have got a few sips of tea now and then, but I don't add sugar to that so I wasn't too worried...if it kept her hydrated while she adjusted, that was fine by me. :)
 
Semi-interesting time's come! :woot: Please advice.
AMPS was 357, PMPS is 207. 1 unit be safe tonight?
Tux is eating supper now... oh... he's done eating. Hope someone is online. :nailbiting:
 
Last edited:
I see from your spreadsheet you gave Tux 0.5 IU tonight. Be sure to get a before bed check some time after +2 to make sure he's in OK numbers before you sleep, Kako.


Mogs
.
 
Yes, if he goes under 68 on the Alphatrak, you'd give him some carbs...either some of his regular food with a couple of drops of honey or some gravy from a high carb food if you have any.
 
I know you can. I'm not sure how long I'll be able to stick around tonight - I only got about 4 hours sleep last night and had to wake up at 6 to drop my step-son off to catch a train for a school outing, but I'm sure there will be people around for moral support if you need it. And I'll check in on and off for as long as I can. :)
 
I know you can. I'm not sure how long I'll be able to stick around tonight - I only got about 4 hours sleep last night and had to wake up at 6 to drop my step-son off to catch a train for a school outing, but I'm sure there will be people around for moral support if you need it. And I'll check in on and off for as long as I can. :)
Ok so far. Tux is outside, relaxing under my car, his cool spot. :cat: Please go to bed. You need sleep. I had a green tea frappuccino with extra green tea this afternoon, I am ready to stay up to monitor. Since we switched to Lantus, his lowest time seems +6, so I maybe stay up until 2 am.
 
Oh, I'm good for an hour or so yet - I can't go to bed at 9:30 or I'll be awake by 4 am!!

I just looked at Tux's spreadsheet - we've only got a few days of data with Lantus for him yet. Officially the limit is 200, but I think taking a reduced dose tonight is fine as we're not sure how he'll react to starting off that low yet. And while you will no doubt be good for a while tonight, we don't want to keep you awake testing him all night - 2 am is quite late enough! :) As you see more of a pattern for his cycles when he starts off lower like this, you'll be able to give him a full dose at lower numbers with confidence, but it's probably a little early for that just yet. :bighug:
 
You and Tux are doing great Kako!!! I see you are up in the middle of the night testing him. All those pretty yellows! :) You are taking such good care of him. Take care of yourself too! How exciting to see his numbers improve.
 
You and Tux are doing great Kako!!! I see you are up in the middle of the night testing him. All those pretty yellows! :) You are taking such good care of him. Take care of yourself too! How exciting to see his numbers improve.
WOW! You are up late too! Are you also taking care of Gryff?
I thought all yellows were boring thing but is it good? Just in case I gave him a few dry treats and we are going to sleep together.
Thank you for checking on us. Good night! :)
 
Good morning!
I saw him on the driveway sitting tongue out then vomit one tablespoon size (assume) bubbly liquid with one thin grass in it at 6:3o am.
I thought he was sick. Though he seems fine and since then he's been purring nonstop powerfully.
Is this "vomit" or "threw up" on your SS? Or Tux vomited because he ate grass... nothing to do with insulin injection or BG?
His BG is 412 after 20 min. vomiting.
 
I didn't realize the number was this low. I was planing to test +5 (12:30am) and go to sleep. I was nearly falling asleep on the couch... then Tux jumped on the couch and kept purring putting his head on my lap.
It can be a very fun night but Tux wanted before bed snack and I am tired... So I gave him some dry food and wet food mix. He ate and he cleaned himself. (acting totally fine!)
Would be better to test again before go to sleep? (I will be sleeping with Tux again tonight.)
 
Yes! Green! :D Tux gave me a surprise. After those yellows I was hoping to see blue sometime soon but he showed me green instead! I am amazed how strong Tux is. :woot:
 
I would get a before bed test, just to make sure he isn't still dropping. The dry food should stop him dropping any further, but it's always best to make sure. He might well bounce by the morning as this is his first green number, so don't worry if you see a much higher reading at his pre-shot number tomorrow.
 
If BG goes up by eating carb, BG wouldn't come down further tonight?

Then, if he shows higher number in the AM, how much injection dose is ideal?
 
By the time the carbs wear off, he should be past his lowest point so he should be fine for tonight. If he bounces, you'd still give him the same dose in the morning - we don't adjust the dose for bouncing as he needs to level out on his own. :)
 
Oh that's a nice rise - and I can understand your SS just fine. :) Looks like he'll be all good tonight...and you know what to do in the morning if he's high. He'll come back down, but it can take up to 3 days for his numbers to settle if he goes into a full bounce (most cats do the first few times they see green numbers so it's perfectly normal). :) :D
 
I am reading Lantus forum.

> After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours:
Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit <
It's been 8 days and AM and PM numbers are quite different the last couple days, I haven't been able to keep the same dose.
Though, we should give the same dose AM and PM, right? So, it's time to lower dose to 0.75 both AM and PM even though AM is high. Am I understanding correctly?
(I am sorry.... my brain doesn't work. ) :confused:
 
Last edited:
Has anyone invited you over to the Lantus forum to start posting there instead of here??

Everyone there uses either Lantus or Levemir so you'll get the most experienced people advising you. Of course if you prefer, you can continue posting here in Health

If you want to post in the Lantus forum, just start posting tomorrow. We post once a day and the subject line contains the date/cats name and AMPS number....as the day goes on, if you get other tests in, you "edit" the subject line and add those new test results in. That way the people scanning the forum for problems can keep an eye on what Tux's numbers are doing and intervene if they see any problems you might not know you're having.

In the body of the post, you'd put the link to the prior day's post (so it's easy to go back and see what's been going on) and then tell us about how Tux is doing, as well as ask any questions you may have.

As for the dose, yes, I think I'd try .75 both AM and PM and see how he does....it's totally possible that the reason he dropped to that 77 (even though you reduced to .5 that cycle) was due to the depot being a little "too full" on the 1 unit dose. It can take a few cycles after a reduction before the depot has drained down to the new, lower dose.

What's important to remember about Lantus is that it's dosed based on how LOW it takes them and you really have to almost ignore the Pre-shot numbers.
 
Thank you kindly, Chris! No, I didn't know that I could ask at Lantus forum.
I didn't think I'd get an answer within 15 minutes after AMPS, so I go ahead and gave 0.75. Will see! :cat:

China's SS is beautiful! It's a wonderful idea to have two tones in blue! :cool:
 
I didn't think I'd get an answer within 15 minutes after AMPS, so I go ahead and gave 0.75. Will see!

The Lantus forum is usually pretty well monitored...it's the busiest insulin support group here on the message board! If you need advice quickly, just make your subject line very clear, like "HELP!! NEED ADVICE ON DOSE!!"......that'll usually do it....LOL

You can always go back and edit the subject line later once you have your answer!!

I'm glad you like China's spreadsheet! I decided awhile back that especially for her, it was important for me to have two tones for the 100's....one for "normal" blue numbers (100-120) and one for the higher numbers (121-199) so I could easily see if she's earned a reduction due to staying in "normal" numbers (50-120) for 7 days (we use a human meter)

I know a lot of the older members aren't necessarily thrilled about changes made to the colors in the spreadsheets because they're "used to" seeing them and evaluating them a certain way (which I totally understand and respect) so I worked really hard to find a shade of blue that both "read" blue easily, but was also just different enough to make it clear when it was a low blue versus a higher blue

Come on over and check out the Lantus forum! We'd love to include you in our "family"!!
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top