Asking dosing opinion

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jeannee and Nuggie

Member Since 2011
Some of you were with me on Jan 18 when my boy's glucose went down to 73. I lowered his dose from 11 to 10.5. For a few days after that, his pancreatitis acted up and I believe that is why his numbers went up so much. Now that he is feeling better his numbers are close to 100. I wonder if I should decrease to avoid another "Low glucose" crisis or stay with the same 10.5 with more frequent checks.

His food is always the same.

I have to be away from my computer for awhile, but I will check back for your comments before I give him his 9pm shot.

Thank you.
 
Jeannee:

Based on the information on Nuggie's SS, I'm not sure what to suggest. Lantus dosing is based on the nadir, not on pre-shot values. I realize that Nuggie wasn't feeling well and he may not have been a big fan of testing if he was uncomfortable, Without any spot checks between 1/18 and today, there's no way to know if some of those high values reflect a bounce off of the greens on 1/18 or at any point thereafter.

If you're unable to test, the best I can suggest is that you err in the direction of safety and lower the dose. FWIW, since you lowered the dose previously, Nuggie's numbers don't suggest a reduction now but you know your cat.
 
Hi Jeannee, is it possible to get any tests mid cycle with Nuggie? Even getting a +3 at night before going to bed (or whatever time it is) and any tests you can get during the day will help. As Sienne suggested, we do need to see what he's doing mid cycle to figure out if the dose is right. He's looking good today, but cats often will go lower at night, which is why we stress getting those tests. If you get up a couple hours before Nuggie's AMPS time, test then if you can. All those tests will help fill in the pieces of the puzzle. And if you can't do those tests, lowering the dose to 10.0U would be the safe thing to do.

I know it's a little harder getting the blood drop in the winter. I use an old film canister filled with water, and then I rub Neko's ears a bit before poking.

Would it be possible to put something like Cushing's in your signature? See what I've done for Neko's acromegaly. It helps remind us that Nuggie's got something extra going on in addition to the diabetes.
 
Hi Jeannee, is it possible to get any tests mid cycle with Nuggie? Even getting a +3 at night before going to bed (or whatever time it is) and any tests you can get during the day will help. As Sienne suggested, we do need to see what he's doing mid cycle to figure out if the dose is right. He's looking good today, but cats often will go lower at night, which is why we stress getting those tests. If you get up a couple hours before Nuggie's AMPS time, test then if you can. All those tests will help fill in the pieces of the puzzle. And if you can't do those tests, lowering the dose to 10.0U would be the safe thing to do.

I know it's a little harder getting the blood drop in the winter. I use an old film canister filled with water, and then I rub Neko's ears a bit before poking.

Would it be possible to put something like Cushing's in your signature? See what I've done for Neko's acromegaly. It helps remind us that Nuggie's got something extra going on in addition to the diabetes.
 
Thanks, Wendy. I'll do that. I needn't have bothered you though - his pmps was 223! I have no explanation except that the past 2 days I gave him a Cerenia and pain med because I could tell he wasn't feeling well. Today he looked ok, so I did not give him anything.
 
i just wanted to add one thing - the number at preshot isn't any kind of indicator of how low a cat will go a few hours later. I just noticed that you mentioned in the ss comments that because he was over 300 at amps on 1/23 that you didn't think he could go low later in that cycle. We've seen cats go from 400+ to 40 in 4 hours and then be back up over 400 at the next ps. it's crazy! they try to keep us guessing, i guess. I just didn't want you to think that was any reassurance that Nuggie couldn't get low later.

In fact, in many ways, shooting low is a better predictor that the cat's blood sugar won't move much during the next few hours. The saying "Shoot low to stay low" comes because a cat that is shot in normal numbers might only move 10 points in the whole 12 hour cycle. You can see that with Nuggie on 1/18. What a great cycle he had that day! WAHOO! A cat shot at 500 might move 450 points in that same 12 hours. It's really counterintuitive - I suspect everyone things in the beginning that a high preshot offers some comfort that the cat might not go low afterwards, but it's not true.

Overall, though, it looks like Nuggie is doing pretty well! How's his skin?
 
To add bits to your signature:

Editing your Signature

In the upper right corner of the screen, within the dark blue bar, you will see ID, Inbox, and Alerts

Click on your ID.

On the left, under Settings, Click on Signature.
This is where you will put information that helps us give you feedback.
This is where you paste the link for your spreadsheet, once it is set up.
Add any other text, such as
your name,
cat's name,
date of Dx (diagnosis)
insulin
meter
any other pertinent issues like if there are any food issues, history of DKA, Cushings, hepatic lipidosis, pancreatitis, allergies, IBD, etc.
Click the Save Changes button at the bottom.

Always click the Save Changes button at the bottom when you have changed anything.


If you'd like your spreadsheet link shorter, enter it as [url = link]text to display[/ url] and remove the spaces inside the brackets.
 
Thanks for the info Sienne. I didn't notice your comment earlier.

Thanks Julie and BJM.

I do have his ss - it is the first link in the signature line and the rest of the info is in the second link. I will have to see how to put the name of the document there instead of the link. I'll work on that tomorrow.
 
To put a name instead of the link, just type whatever you want it to say (like "Nuggies Spreadsheet") and then highlight it (like you would do if you were going to "copy/paste" it)

Then click on the little icon that looks like a chain link and a little box pops up where you can put the actual link
 
He's looking pretty good, Jeannee. I agree with Wendy that if you aren't able to grab a spot check here and there, it's safer to reduce the dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top