Stacy & Asia
Member Since 2017
Hi Tanya!Good morning
Wow!
![]()
Well she never has been subtle!

Hi Tanya!Good morning
Wow!
![]()

No...no she wasn't... I know how nerve wrecking it is and what kind of effort it takes but how lovely it is to see the preponderance of Greens! Well done both of you!Well she never has been subtle!
Yes, I'm thinking about a reduction and if that doesn't work, something in between 2 & 2.25 because clearly, we can't be simple about this.great, looking good!
if she doesn't bounce by PM I'd reconsider keeping the dose - the depot looks a bit overfull to me.
But hopefully someone with greater knowledge can weigh in on that.
Thanks, Carla. I'm so glad she saved her most thrilling cycle for the daytime and I'm not working off sleepy brain for this one!I'm glad Asia finally came up for you. I hope she keeps surfing safely. You're doing a great job handling things.
I too thought so, plus the new pen is in use - always more potent in the begging. It probably added muscle to the already clearing cycle.I think today's numbers are partly because she was coming back down from the big bounce on the 8th.
That would be in tune with the last time she went below 50, and that is my frustration with taking the reduction. If it's a reaction to a bounce vs what's normal for her on this dose, it's baffling where you go from there.I think today's numbers are partly because she was coming back down from the big bounce on the 8th.
Perhaps that, but I would have guessed the cycle to play out similarly without the new pen in the mix. I was worried the second I saw that AMPS because I knew she was 99% likely to drop in the first two hours, then it's an uphill battle, no matter old insulin or new.I too thought so, plus the new pen is in use - always more potent in the begging. It probably added muscle to the already clearing cycle.
It is hard to know what to do sometimes. Sometimes you just have to go back and forth between two doses before a reduction holds. Some cats are just bouncy. I think the waiting for three numbers below 50 is a good strategy for Asia, unless you have a hard time getting her to come back up or she gets into the 30s. Numbers in the 30s are an automatic reduction.That would be in tune with the last time she went below 50, and that is my frustration with taking the reduction. If it's a reaction to a bounce vs what's normal for her on this dose, it's baffling where you go from there.
similarly - yes but when those Lime Greens keep popping up time and again despite HC or honey I'd back down. But hey, Asia's over all numbers are better than Ducia's - I'd probably be better off by listening to you and do as you dobut I would have guessed the cycle to play out similarly without the new pen in the mix.

I'm constantly asking questions and trying to figure things out, but I doubt I'm doing anything all that much different from you, we just have different cats!similarly - yes but when those Lime Greens keep popping up time and again despite HC or honey I'd back down. But hey, Asia's over all numbers are better than Ducia's - I'd probably be better off by listening to you and do as you do![]()
If the cat is making you work to keep her above 50, that is another sign she wants a reduction. Remember if doing the 3 times under 50 (or once under 40), the three times are on separate days. I'd count the 3 under 50 today as "making you work". Remember that what dose a cat needs at one time, is different a while later. There could be some beta cell healing going on with all that green Asia has been seeing. You don't know whether she'll be fine with the reduction until you try it.In my stress brain, I thought she earned a reduction (because I was thinking this is the 3rd time below green on this dose), but the first one was when she was on this dose and I took the reduction. So it's 3 under 50 since this current dose, yes?
If the cat is making you work to keep her above 50, that is another sign she wants a reduction. Remember if doing the 3 times under 50 (or once under 40), the three times are on separate days. I'd count the 3 under 50 today as "making you work". Remember that what dose a cat needs at one time, is different a while later. There could be some beta cell healing going on with all that green Asia has been seeing. You don't know whether she'll be fine with the reduction until you try it.
Great job today Stacy!
Healing beta cells in an ancient cat, that would be something! Never say "never"!Healing beta cells in an ancient cat, that would be something!
I do use calipers (rather DH does).
I do something different with Ducia's feeding but need more time doing that to make any meaningful assessment. I am worried about Pinks making itself so comfortable in her SSand on the other hand I see her bouncing shortens
Marje is not available for a while to see her SS so I just do that - feed differently and collect the data. Tricky Ducia!
But I absolutely love how Asia is holding now on LC alone!
Your husband? Lucky you! Mine is squeamish with needles and blood. 
Just peeking in again. Holy cow. Great job Stacy!! 






I think it was some sort of underwater sport happening, Furs vs Fins! ...let's stick to Marco Polo in the shallow side, mmmkay, Asia and Maverick?I'm sorry I missed all the excitement this morning! Looks like you did a terrific job, and while I like Miss Asia hanging out with Maverick, my original plan was for the shallow end of the lagoon...their shark tag teaming in the deep end may be heaps of fun for them, but a whole lotta stress on the beans![]()

I agree with Wendy’s comment above. Only you know how hard you had to work to get her to stay above 50. I had days, once Gracie was no longer newly diagnosed, where the whole cycle was a struggle keeping her in the 40s/50s. Even though she hadn’t dropped below 40, I reduced.Asia is giving you a hard time today.
If you struggle to bring her up or to keep her in safe numbers, you may want to consider taking the reduction. But I'm not a pro like @Sienne and Gabby (GA) or @Marje and Gracie.
I'll keep an eye on you.![]()
I agree with Wendy’s comment above. Only you know how hard you had to work to get her to stay above 50. I had days, once Gracie was no longer newly diagnosed, where the whole cycle was a struggle keeping her in the 40s/50s. Even though she hadn’t dropped below 40, I reduced.
Me, too. You’ll at least have some data that will help you define whether she was signaling you for a reduction!I wouldn't say it was hard, it just required repeated interventions (4). She seemed like she might have surfed the 40s today if I let her, it didn't seem like she was trying to drop much lower than that, it just seemed like she wanted to hover in the 40s. It was pretty in line with her other cycles, the outlier was just the very low start. She drops a decent amount in the +1 and +2 more times than not and doesn't show a good food spike. Now I'll be on the lookout for a failed reduction. I really hope it sticks, though.
PMPS 216, a bounce happening, perhaps? Took the reduction and shot 2 units, wish her luck sticking with it this time!![]()


