Asia 11/28 AMPS 318, +4 162, PMPS 243

Status
Not open for further replies.
She's wobbling around a bit but if you don't see green in the next few of cycles increase her dose. Don't be in a big hurry since 2.25 brought her to the 30's. She may have something up her sleeve soon.
 
She's wobbling around a bit but if you don't see green in the next few of cycles increase her dose. Don't be in a big hurry since 2.25 brought her to the 30's. She may have something up her sleeve soon.
That's what I figured is that she's still working out the BCS in addition to the reduction, it's a lot to juggle, I imagine. ;)

And it's sad to see her all snoozy since this bounce, but it's a nice change that she doesn't want to be in these numbers.
 
Looks like her depot has caught up. I agree with Karen. If you don’t see green pretty quick, I’d increase the dose.
Thanks, I don't want her hanging out in these numbers either but...2.25 gave her a 30, wouldn't something similar just happen again? Or not necessarily?
 
Under our modified TR protocol, it recognizes that if a reduction fails, the dose should be taken back up to the last “good” dose. Further, it states the last “good” dose is not the one that got kitty into the 20s or 30s and an in between dose should be given.

Since you are using calipers, you could dial in a dose half way in between 2u and 2.25u.

You have a lot of good data but not enough to know how reductions hold when she’s clearing a bounce. I found out with Gracie that reductions given when she went low during a bounce clearing cycle when she started in pink or high yellow never held because she was extremely active and dropped fast if I didn’t catch her and stop the drop early. She would do like Asia....dropping from pink to the 30s in five hours. I’d reduce the dose, give her six cycles and have to take her back up.

I learned to recognize the high before the break and started feeding the curve early to keep her from dropping so low and earning the reduction. If you look at Asia’s SS, she started to come down really fast by +2 so trying to slow her down and retest in 30 mins might have helped.

I always suggest taking the safe path but you might just want to take notice of how she does after she earns reductions on bounce clearing cycles.

Does that make sense?
 
Last edited:
Since you are using calipers, you could dial in a dose half way in between 2u and 2.25u.
That makes sense, but then it gets ugly calculating further reductions and increases, no? o_O

So you knew from previous history that those types of reductions wouldn't stick and you manipulated the numbers with food in order that you wouldn't have to reduce the dose? Are you saying the dose was otherwise good (for Gracie) and the neon green dip was a one off that only happened coming out of a bounce in an active cycle and if that didn't happen, or you caught it and fed her to prevent it, the dose worked?

At the end of the day, it's probably best that it happened the way it did and I didn't prevent it (not even sure if I could have, it wasn't a 48 or anything, it was a 30) because I have a little more info how she will go without intervention, how she responds to carbs, and how the reduction works after. That being said, I'd sure like her to get back on that blue & green path again soon.

Thanks so much for the info and details.
 
That makes sense, but then it gets ugly calculating further reductions and increases, no? o_O

So you knew from previous history that those types of reductions wouldn't stick and you manipulated the numbers with food in order that you wouldn't have to reduce the dose? Are you saying the dose was otherwise good (for Gracie) and the neon green dip was a one off that only happened coming out of a bounce in an active cycle and if that didn't happen, or you caught it and fed her to prevent it, the dose worked?

At the end of the day, it's probably best that it happened the way it did and I didn't prevent it (not even sure if I could have, it wasn't a 48 or anything, it was a 30) because I have a little more info how she will go without intervention, how she responds to carbs, and how the reduction works after. That being said, I'd sure like her to get back on that blue & green path again soon.

Thanks so much for the info and details.
I agree about the in-between doses and newly diagnosed kitties (dx less than a year) typically do better going up and down in 0.25u doses (as long as they are not high dose kitties).

Yes. Once I collected enough data and understood how the insulin worked; what her onset, nadir, and duration were; how she responded to food; and her patterns, I realized that the dose worked for her and that she was earning a reduction if I didn’t catch the fast drop from a bounce clearing. Quite often, the reductions didn’t hold.

And yes...any time we have the chance to gather data and see how food works for them, it helps us in the long run. What you can do is let her go on the 2u dose a bit longer (+10 cycles) as long as she is getting down to low blues, and then try the 2.25u dose again as long as you can monitor her closely. As soon as you see her take a big drop, use higher carb food to slow it down and hold off the reduction.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top