Ashfur AMPS 81 +5 61 +10 21/115 READING WAS IN ERROR

ASHFUR

Member Since 2021
THANK JESUS CHRIST my LORD AND SAVIOR that I had today off of work and was home to randomly spot check Ashfur's +10 and catch that 21 BG tonight. Had I been at work he would have be at 21 for another 2 hours and who knows what could have happened. THIS HAS ME SUPER STRESSED FOR THE REST OF THIS WEEK!

I also FREAKING PANICKED when I saw that 21 and rubbed honey on his gums then when he would not eat any of the MC or HC food that I tried to follow it up with I squirted about 1/4 tsp in his mouth. Re-checked him 20 mins later and he was 115. IM SO ANNOYED WITH MYSELF! I over did it AGAIN! He is going to be 200+ in 1.5 hours for next shot time.

My concern is once that sugar wears off sometime in the night he will be low all over again. Yes he will have a reduction, but it seems like once all the foods I feed him exit his system he is left at that low number again. Which is why lately It has been exhausting feeding him all throughout the night and checking him constantly. I feel like my biggest indicator of the dose is about to need a reduction is a super low preshot number. Which I posted about before, I knew something was up. I was feeding his lows so after the food wore off he was left over with a super low number at the end of the night and instead of at his normal nadir. I guess it's something only I can see because I know my own cat.



update ::: I REALLY BELIEVE NOW IT WAS A MISTAKE READING


SORRY EVERYONE FOR NOT GIVING AN UPDATE ON MY LAST POST! I NEVER GOT ANY ALERTS to comments. I really feel bad :(
last post https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/2814775/
 
Last edited:
Could you update you subject line to show that 115? I just about had a heart attack at that 21, I imagine you really did. :eek: And in the 20's, rather too much honey than too little. And, any chance you retested that 21? Sometimes it's worth verifying before dumping carbs on them. Sometimes too little blood on the strip causes it to read low.

The sugar should wear off within a couple hours. Any chance you could delay your PMPS for 1/2 an hour? You should be able to get a non sugar influenced number at that point.

Some cats going down the dose scale do it in a hurry. It's hard on you, just keep the end goal in mind. :D
 
Could you update you subject line to show that 115? I just about had a heart attack at that 21, I imagine you really did. :eek: And in the 20's, rather too much honey than too little. And, any chance you retested that 21? Sometimes it's worth verifying before dumping carbs on them. Sometimes too little blood on the strip causes it to read low.

The sugar should wear off within a couple hours. Any chance you could delay your PMPS for 1/2 an hour? You should be able to get a non sugar influenced number at that point.

Some cats going down the dose scale do it in a hurry. It's hard on you, just keep the end goal in mind. :D

OH GEEZ! WHAT IF IT WAS AN ERROR? I should have re-tested!!!!!! OH ME OH MY WHYYYY I totally over did everything. I even gave him highest amount of carbs afterward. And you know what....you might be right. Yes I can delay 30 mins because my last skip dose I made his time 30 mins early for this very reason! In case of a stall in the future! So delaying 30 mins will put us right on time.

Im sick to my stomach now thinking I just got an errored reading. Because that reading did have less blood HOW TERRIBLE!
 
Don't worry - we have probably all done the same thing. :bighug: And better higher for a little while than low for a minute. And he did get a 56 today, so he is angling for a reduction.
 
Back
Top