ASHFUR
Member Since 2021
This happened AGAIN last night?! I gave him 30ml of maple syrup when his BG was at 52 and it went up to 62 for 10 mins but dropped again. BG when down to 50 gave 1/4 tsp of maple syrup because he would not eat any HC wet food and it slowly went up for the rest of the night. I think I may have gave him too much syrup.
I keep reducing his dose and This keeps happening and I am freaking out a little bit. I feel like maybe it HAS TO HAVE EVERYTHING TO do with his diet.
So I started ONLY feeding him at insulin time ONLY. UNTIL I was reading other peoples posts to better understand how to handle my own cat, and I read that a diabetic cat should not go 8 hours without eating. Is this true for every cat? He is over weight and he only eats when he is actually hungry. One day I took away all of his wet food (that I leave out all day for him to free feed) and when it came time to eat at insulin time he actually ate almost the whole meal. BUT Today after I read that post I fed him a meal mid-day and when it came time for insulin he was not as hungry and he just licked the food. Is that why this happened?
I NEED TO KNOW where to go from here. I am off work today....BUT I worry about the rest of the week. I feel like I keep reducing his dose and he just keeps having these lows out of nowhere. IS this good? or not?
I just fed him a whole can of FF trout and I pureed it into a finer pate and he ate the whole thing. Since he ate it all I shot him (exactly hour late not sure how to reflect that onSS) I dosed him 1.5. I am wondering if I should decrease even more since everytime I decrease he stays high a few days and then goes below 50. Considering I have to work all week....maybe 1.25 would be safer. Please help
I keep reducing his dose and This keeps happening and I am freaking out a little bit. I feel like maybe it HAS TO HAVE EVERYTHING TO do with his diet.
So I started ONLY feeding him at insulin time ONLY. UNTIL I was reading other peoples posts to better understand how to handle my own cat, and I read that a diabetic cat should not go 8 hours without eating. Is this true for every cat? He is over weight and he only eats when he is actually hungry. One day I took away all of his wet food (that I leave out all day for him to free feed) and when it came time to eat at insulin time he actually ate almost the whole meal. BUT Today after I read that post I fed him a meal mid-day and when it came time for insulin he was not as hungry and he just licked the food. Is that why this happened?
I NEED TO KNOW where to go from here. I am off work today....BUT I worry about the rest of the week. I feel like I keep reducing his dose and he just keeps having these lows out of nowhere. IS this good? or not?
I just fed him a whole can of FF trout and I pureed it into a finer pate and he ate the whole thing. Since he ate it all I shot him (exactly hour late not sure how to reflect that onSS) I dosed him 1.5. I am wondering if I should decrease even more since everytime I decrease he stays high a few days and then goes below 50. Considering I have to work all week....maybe 1.25 would be safer. Please help
Last edited:

The more time your kitty spends in green numbers, the more time you give to his pancreas to heal and produce its own insulin again. His liver still needs to get used to those greens so it's still panicking and dumping glycogen into his bloodstream, causing those reds and blacks. His liver will graduate from training school at some point and his cycles will get flatter. I takes some love and lots of patience to see this process through. You and Ashfur are still pretty new to this and I know how emotional it is. It does get easier.