Asher’s morning number

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Member Since 2011
Good morning everyone:
We have moved Asher down to 1.5 units of PZI. His spreadsheet is current.
Much to my amazement we got a 202 AMPS this morning. I think we all talked about trying to keep consistent at 1.5 units for awhile.
I think we are going to do that this morning.
If anyone is crazy enough to be up this early and has an opinion, I am all ears.
Thanks guys :)
-donna and asher
 
Wow! Great number! If possible try to get a +4ish test to make sure he doesn't drop too low too fast. Looks like he may indeed have been overdosed, but only time will tell. Looks great so far! Great job Donna & Asher!!
 
My gut is that 1.5 at 202 is too high, but if you've already dosed him, just keep a sharp eye on him today. It's a GREAT number and I'm happy to hear he's doing so well!
 
Yeah we did already dose him. Once he settles down for a nap after breakfast its the perfect time to do the shot, so we make hay while the sun shines if you get my drift.
We’ll be here with him all day so we’ll check him at +4 to be sure. I was trying to stay consistent with 1.5 so we can see what is going on. Certainly I’ll drop that if need be.

He woke us at 3am so I thought his number would be high but 202 seems good! (he was doing that when he was so hungry before he was on insulin and just after a day or two)
He was real hungry today so we fed him 3/4 can instead of a 1/2.

One other Q I had for you experts is about Petromalt. Every once in a great while he coughs from a hairball. We’re talking a couple times per year really. So we let him lick some hairball remedy from our finger when that happens. It occurred to me the other day it might be sugar laden. Anyone know about this?

-donna
 
Yeah I had a vibe about the petromalt too but we don’t have the box anymore and the tube isn’t real great information, imagine that. Into the bin with the petromalt.

Asher was waking us when he was yet undiagnosed, when he was starving, and then a day or two after we started the insulin. One night after that he just woke me to cuddle and purr and fall back to sleep, and then last night he was pesty again. He gets into naughty habits often, if he sees results he likes he will try again. That has been going on all his life. So I was wondering if last night was behavioral or physical.

If he did need to eat, maybe I should be feeding him some chicken before bed or leave something out for him. Didn’t know if that might screw up his morning numbers.

When he ate dry food there was a bowl of it out 24-7. He would still wake us at 5am for us to give him his 1/3 can of wet food. See http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w0ffwDYo00Q
to check out Asher’s technique ;)

-donna
 
Great AM number! Although it can play some havoc with the numbers, it can also be a safety valve to leave food around 24/7. Many cats self=regulate, eating when they need to bring their BG up. The canned foods seem to last a long time (Maybe Gator--or someone else, awhile back, posted info about canned food and why it lasted so long) so I used to leave it down all day. And when I went to bed at night I also added a plate with a frozen ice cube made from canned food---so she would have fresh food early in the morning.

Oh! Good laugh with that Utube :mrgreen:
 
I always leave food out overnight. If I remember, I add a little water to it to keep it moist. My fear is that Sam will hypo overnight and not have food to medicate himself with.
 
As long as you are home to test Asher today you will be able to catch if he starts to go low and can feed him to bring him up.

Glad you tossed the Petromalt. There are similar products out there for diabetics, I can't remember the name right now but we can look it up.

People do free feed wet food. I add water to it and leave it out all day. Some use timed feeders or like Judy said you can freeze the food into ice cubes and they have fresh food when it melts.

Have a good day.
 
Hey, wow!

Yes, I did tell you to stay consistent BUT...If preshot numbers start to fall, you may need to drop that dose further. This is a good thing :)

Jen
 
Yes Jen, thanks!
We are gonna check at +4 which is noon here on the east coast. I’ll post a number then and on the SS.

We fed him 3/4 can this morning but he didn’t eat it all so I just left it out. he just got out of his bed and sauntered into the kitchen to polish the rest off.
Everyone’s suggestions on leaving food out are great, esp when we both start having to leave the house for work.

-donna
 
Hi folks:

We just tested Asher for his +4 reading (about 15 mins early) and he went up to 356.

(AMPS was 202, then we shot 1.5 u of PZI) Spreadsheet is current.

Odd wouldn’t you say? Or are things still shaking out maybe?

He did go back and eat the rest of his food from this morning. (we fed him 3/4 can, he ate 1/2 can, we shot around 8am then came back around 10am to finish it)
Many mysteries.....

-donna and asher
 
I'd say things are still leveling out. You just decreased his dose, right? So give him a little time to settle into it. You're both doing well.
 
One thing to remember about hometesting...numbers are great, numbers are helpful...but every so often our cats throw us an oddball number and there is nothing to do but note it. If the oddball numbers continue, then give them some more attention....
 
One of the best things one can do to prevent hairballs is groom/aggressively comb their kitty once a week. For long hairs the Grayhound style combs work best for this - but it has to be aggressive to really pull out the dead hair. Not just running the comb though. For short hairs I recently found the Furminator really works well. There are Furminator knock offs and one can order them chap on Amazon too. The Furminator can almost work too well so it's a good idea to know when to stop with it.
 
Gator & H (GA) said:
The Furminator can almost work too well so it's a good idea to know when to stop with it.

Yes, it can. I follow a Furminator brushing with a soft bristle 'smoothing' brush to get off all the hair the Furminator loosened up. They are very inexpensive [relatively] on EBay.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top