Asher’s many mysteries...2/7

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Very Active Member
Good evening everyone:

Thought I’d start a new thread for this one.

We were trying to shoot 1.6 u with Asher for a couple days but it seemed like he needed a dose reduction since his pmps wasn’t high enough to shoot a full dose.
So we were going to move to 1.4. Yesterday, like some other PZI kitties here ;) he didn’t want me to leave the house and his pmps only came up to 140-so we ended up shooting a reduced dose last night, .6 units.

Here is today:
amps: 310, shot 1.4 units, +6 226, pmps (or so I thought it would be): 143

So we fed a chicken treat and are on hold for now. I was hoping we could shoot a full 1.4 tonight so we could normalize and see what’s going on but so far that isn’t working. Do we need to reduce the normal dose again or could this just be shaking out from moving his dose around the last few days?

Any suggestions? :?
 
Re: Asher’s many mysteries (help)...2/7

Can you wait the 30 minutes and test again? Or you could shoot a reduced dose - .75 ? .5 didn't work the last two times you got the 130s.
 
Re: Asher’s many mysteries (help)...2/7

I think he's trying to tell you that he wants a lower regular dose.

Was the 143 his PMPS or +10?
 
Re: Asher’s many mysteries (help)...2/7

I'd love to see a retest in 30 mins too. I really hope this is going to take you to a lower dose!
 
Re: Asher’s many mysteries (help)...2/7

Robin and Kristen- the 143 was about +10.5, I had hoped it to be the pmps thinking he would be high, and it takes us sometimes an hour to feed the cats, then get Asher settled enough to give his insulin.

Sue, we are at about a half hour from the last test of 143 now, so we can test again. I was hoping to hold off as long as I could to get better numbers. But I would like to try to be able to give his shot by 8:30pm (Trying not to mess up the morning schedule too.) If this doesn’t happen we’ll deal with it.

I’ll post again when we retest. Tom on a conference call right now and the kitties are quiet and not meowing for fud so it could be a few minutes...
 
Re: Asher’s many mysteries (help)...2/7

So the new test which is about +11 is 126, so he is still dropping, although I know there is that 20% error thing.

Looks like we are headed for a no shoot?
 
Re: Asher’s many mysteries (help)...2/7

Waiting and shooting late not only messes up your schedule but also their feeding time, right?

Hate to see you skip because it most likely set things back, but it looks like you have no choice.

He really doesn't make it easy. :cool:
 
Re: Asher’s many mysteries (help)...2/7

Asher likes to keep his staff on their toes :lol:

Yes, we can wait a bit longer (I slipped his brother some xtra chicken) but we’ll have a mutiny here if we don’t feed soon.

Do you think we should try to wait it out another half hour or so? I would hate to skip too :(

If we did shoot a reduced dose, we have to still shoot on a rising number and we haven’t seen that yet.....
 
Re: Asher’s many mysteries (help)...2/7

I think put feeding off as long as you can and test again to see if you get a rising number.
 
Re: Asher’s many mysteries (help)...2/7

Ok, good news, got a 149 on this latest test. So we are going up.

Food dispensed, happy kitties. confused_cat

Are we still too low?

Or since we shot on a 140 before, do we go for a .6 again or .8 ? (Or eyeball a .75 on the U40 syringes?)
 
Re: Asher’s many mysteries (help)...2/7

You have shot .6 into 130 before and it didn't do much. It's another one of those nights when you choose between testing or sleep, some tension or relaxing. I would think .6 to be relaxing, .75 for a little tension?
 
Re: Asher’s many mysteries (help)...2/7

I agree, the .6u didn't do much the last few times. I'd try for .75u or .8u and test before bed.
 
Re: Asher’s many mysteries (help)...2/7

I am leaning towards the .75 because he ate more tonight (went back for more after he "buried" the first round) and like you guys said, the .6 didn’t do much.

We are up working tonight so we can test pretty late.

Think if we get a +3 number tonight we should be good? or should we have a +6 too?

-d.
 
Re: Asher’s many mysteries (help)...2/7

I know, I am full of questions...

So when we shoot this .75 tonight, can we assume tomorrow there should be a new game plan of a “regular” dose?

The 1.4 didn’t work today. Does it make sense to try it again or move on to something new like a 1.2? Or even 1?

And I realize I have to see what the amps is too....but just trying to get a vibe on how a dosing theory should work.
 
Re: Asher’s many mysteries (help)...2/7

Well, today's dose was too high since you didn't get a shootable pmps. You'll just have to make your best guess how much to go down- maybe .02 or .03 less?

I know it's stressful but it is a good problem to have. :razz:
 
Re: Asher’s many mysteries (help)...2/7

Yes, I’ll take it, it is a great problem to have.

Thanks everyone for your help tonight! Bless you all!

I keep thinking maybe we can figure this out, and then things change again :mrgreen:

It’s all good!
 
Wow, who would have thunk it? Looks he is loving the dose reductions! It's fairly typical from what I've seen to have a hard time keeping up with the progress once they get going. Yippee! It'll be great to see what tomorrow brings! If the PS is back higher again, you might want to try something like 1u maybe? Nothing wrong with trying 1.2 if you want, I'm just thinking with the quick reduction path, might still be too much? Hard to say really, but I think you are in a good place, with a nice bracket of doses that look too high & too low to guide you. Within that bracket it's just a matter of figuring out what works, and keeping up with the fact that what works looks like it's changing day by day.
 
At this point your "regular dose" is a moving target. I would try 1.2u if you can test. If you need sleep you could go with 1u.

Either way tomorrows AMPS will tell you what tonights dose did.

You're doing great.
 
maybe I shouldn’t have been so bold...

I just did a pm +3 on Asher after giving him the .75 units tonight and he is at 112.

Shall I panic or just set my alarm to get up and test him?
 
He is always throwing you a curve. The truth is you probably won't sleep that well unless you set your alarm for +6. Am I right? I would guess (although I have been consistently wrong with Asher) that he won't get into dangerous territory in 3 hours. Leave out some low carb but not too much in case he goes low and you want him to eat to come up.

You know what to do if he gets around 40. First a little high carb and test in 15 minutes. Then if he is steady or lower, honey on the gums. Continue with honey and high carb until you get two consecutive tests headed up. Post on the Health board if you get into the 40s. There will be people there to help.

And remember that breathing thing!
 
He’s the king of the curve ball, isn’t he?

Alarm is set :)

He just had a snack now on his own, leftovers in his dish from supper.

I am amazingly calm, kind of, but slightly concerned at this point. Who needs sleep anyway.....

Thanks Sue. I appreciate it tons.
 
You guys were right, everyone is fine, although today will be a coffee achiever’s day :lol:

Here is last night’s numbers:
pmps: 149, shot .75 units, +3 112, +4 105, +6 134

When I saw he was coming up a bit I went to sleep.

So he did pretty good on that dose after all. Mothers worry. Thanks again for your support!

Today his amps is 304. So... dosing for this morning...should I go low, like .75 again? Or since he’s in the 300’s do 1.2? Don’t know if I am supposed to react to the 300 or just decide based upon his apparent need for less insulin overall.

Advice welcomed :mrgreen:
 
So glad you had an uneventful night.

I would do the the one unit or the 1.2 we were talking about yesterday. You are close to yesterday's amps and you didn't have super low numbers to bounce from. The dose yesterday was a little too high so we want to take it down enough to get a nice pmps today.

Of course Asher may have different ideas.... :mrgreen:
 
Wow Sue , you are up early! Thanks for getting back to me.

Asher always has his own ideas. He’s his own man :roll:

I think we’ll try the 1.2 and see what that does. We can get a test in mid cycle too.

Thanks SO much!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top