Asher weekend 3/10

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Member Since 2011
Mornin’ kids (just barely here on the east coast) ~O) ~O) ~O)

Sorry my time here has been limited. Life is a bit crazy at the moment. For example Mom called me yesterday at 7 am to tell me she had thousands (yes it was thousands) of citronella ants all over her basement. :shock: It always seems to be something lately.

We are still plugging along with trying to get Asher regulated again. Having some really good night numbers :-D but the day ones still suck and many times are in the 300s :sad:
I guess we are getting somewhere, at least I hope so. I thought we could get him back on track sooner but the kitties have their own ideas.
We are currently at 2.8 units. I suppose we are going back up to 3 real soon. SS is current if anyone wants to take a look.

Good day and good numbers to all!!! :YMHUG:
 
Looks like he's been mostly doing well, then some major blips in the radar mid Jan & mid Feb.

You're right - he seems to do really well at night... and even most of the time during the day. Just the preshots in the 300s. I'm sure after having such good numbers, that's a little disillusioning, but from where I've been sitting lately, to see that many yellows AND a blue, I'm envious!

When I was riding pretty flat, (not to mention the ketones), I was told to up the dose. It has resulted in Grayson usually having something resembling a curve... not a deep one, but a curve nonetheless - more than one yellow. If you're home and can keep an eye on an increase, that's what I'd be inclined to do if it were me. In fact I still upped Grayson this morning - despite having one of his lowest preshots and THE LOWEST anywhere near this dose! So far he's been doing his pancake thing, but it usually takes him a few hours to get jump-started.

It's crazy when their little bodies demonstrate that they have a mind of their own! Hang in there. He'll get back to the blues & greens soon!

...and doesn't it always happen that something else will explode while you're trying to handle this! Sounds like your world isn't much different than mine!
 
Have you thought about a sliding scale? He gets such different results shooting 2.8u on different bg's.

I have no experience with big gulpers so take it for FWIW.

Have a great day.
 
Numbers are confusing. Blues at night might cause a tiny bounce for amps...But amps today is lower than it has been.....and Asher takes a while to settle into a dose.....

I think just keep on, and if the pattern of higher days continues, you might consider a Henry. A little bigger dose for amps with the lower dose for pmps?
 
We’ve never done a sliding scale before. Consistency seemed to work the best in the past. But this year since the dental, who knows.

I think he does need more insulin. I agree if this keeps up when we raise the dose more, we’ll have to consider a Henry or a sliding scale of sorts. Just seems odd he could change that much. Hoping it’s just bounce and underdosing and that it will be magically fixed when we get to his correct dose. Riiiiiiiiiggghhhht....... :shock:
 
Pmps came in at 317 so we raised again, to 3 units. Let’s see how it goes and if I get any sleep tonight :shock:
 
Hi Donna,

I hope you are able to get some Zzzzz's tonight as Asher seems to like to go low at night when he clears a bounce. Your am cycle today definitely seems like it ran that way (bounce worthy) because he stayed in low #'s for the majority of the previous cycle.
I hear that you are tired of the 300's. It really doesn't take much for me to tire either but I'm nervous that the pace may be a little too aggressive..? A unit increase in about a week span falls under fairly aggressive in my book, not sure about your book. :smile:

Either way, maybe Mr. P can use a swift kick in the pants to jump start him? I would ask that you keep a close eye on this but I already know the answer to that one. I know you're all over it. Good luck.
 
I got plenty of sleep last night, he was only in the 300s at +4 so I knew I could pack it in for the night. I am sure he came down prob around +8 since we did get a 280-somethin preshoot Sunday morning (today) tho :-D
So, today may be the cycle he goes low, we shot 3 units again, we’ll see. I am trying to get his day numbers down. I think we are getting there. I can almost taste regulation nailbite_smile antijinx touch wood.

I doubt I would be this aggressive with his dosing (notice our disclaimer in our sig) had I not known he was a big gulper before and I had it in my mind he might still be. Also our work is slow and we are home right now (and it’s driving us nutz), so it’s a good time to raise dose and know we can feed the drop or bring him up with food if need be.

The poor dude had a lot of variables at once in January, our Freestyle meter debacle, going on a diet, dental and loosing 3 teeth, drugs from the dental, etc. His numbers confused us but I probably should have not flirted with the idea that maybe he needed less insulin overall, looking back it seems like it was just a temporary thing. At the time the numbers were sometimes low enough that we didn’t know. But hindsight is 20/20 and we want to keep our fur kids safe-bottom line! ... so these things happen. We made the best decisions we could at the time and I can live with that.

We wish everyone out there a great relaxing Sunday and some great numbers to go with it!!!

Now back to bed for me for a couple hours (6am dst!)
 
Hi Donna,
Nothing profound, just wanted to say "hi" and nice to see Asher's having a colorful Sunday!
It's pretty funny that when someone uses the terms "A Henry", we all understand what it means. Big Hen is a legend! :smile:

Carl
 
Yes Carl, Big Hen is a legend :-D

Still in blue at +8 so a real good cruise today on 3 units. I have hope we are close in dose.....
 
HAHA Big Hen the legend of confusing on PZI :mrgreen:
YAY for Asher having a yellow pre shot.
Big Hen sends his full support.
 
Thanks Angela and Big Hen.

Well, today we had our first “regulated” day in quite some time. I feel really grateful!!!
pmps was 239. I’ll take it!
Touch wood we can continue the trend with the 3 units.....
 
Yep. Tonight is the night I won’t be sleeping :shock:
85 at +4
We thought this might be coming...
Time to feed the drop a little...
 
Yes he does! He just enjoyed licking every drop of gravy from the bottom of the bowl too. And he is waiting by his testing stuff for more. He makes me laugh :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top