Asher Wednesday

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Member Since 2011
Mornin kids: ~O)
We were on this lowering path, but I see Asher’s numbers creeping up. I shot a little late today because I was the only one up and I had to make a decision which way to go.
I decided not to lower anymore. Hope that was a good decision. He has been really hungry, the only “symptom” I see, but if indeed it is a symptom, I want to get him the insulin he needs. Gosh, I hope I did the right thing.

Yesterday we had:
amps 283
+7 261
pmps 301

Today:
amps 307

I shot 1.2 this morning to start our way back up. Let me know what you think if you would nailbite_smile
 
I think that's just fine, you need to do what you feel is right for Asher. I don't think it would have hurt to try it 1 more day with a lower dose but none of the dose decreases have shown us anything so far. I hope you start seeing some better results now.
 
Thanks guys. Making decisions is my least fave thing to do :?

Thought you all might like to see what I look at when I eat or work at the kitchen table:
 

Attachments

  • breakfast pooses.jpg
    breakfast pooses.jpg
    718.8 KB · Views: 637
+5 is 244 today.

I updated the spreadsheet too. Got in from working too late last night to remember :shock:
 
Alby on the left is plotting something. Asher will just watch when Alby takes action ;)
 
Aww...the sweetest boysz! Can't imagine them plotting anything (and those are the ones you have to watch out for). ;-)
 
Well, I thought you would have Asher completely figured out by the time I got back. :mrgreen: The boy is such a puzzle. Looking back over the ss, the best numbers you have had in a while are with the higher dose. I think I would increase again, Donna.......
 
Hey Sue! Welcome back to the madness :lol:
Yes, we are in increase mode. Had to try it tho. Now we know.
 
End of the day results:

amps 307, shot 1.2 (up from 1 u)
+5 244
pmps 279, shot 1.2

I think previously it was said as we increase we should hold about 3 cycles between increases of .2.
Everybody thinking the same thing?
 
To comment on some of your questions from yesterday's thread, some cats seem almost immune or something til you hit the right dose. I don't really understand it, but with Bix I would get clear differences on doses like say 1.4 and 1.6, but something like 0.4 and 0.6 I often couldn't tell any difference. Once he was regulated and stopped zooming, with those lower doses I could almost randomly pick the dose and get the same results, v.s. once I hit a threshold like 1u then I'd see some changes. I don't know if that's the same as Asher (only presumably he needs higher levels of insulin than that), or what the scientific explanation is.

Another factor is that their bodies "overcome" the dose - the risk of taking too low/slow a dose increase path (not saying that you did that, but in general terms). One reason for anyone to stay on the aggressive side with dose increases is to prevent that, and keep ahead of their body sort-of getting used to it and then getting less impressive results on the same dose. I don't know if that is what has happened with Asher but it's possible.

It hasn't gotten much mention lately, but there's the BAM dose concept with PZI, where sometimes you want to bump the dose a little more radically (not talking more than 0.5u here) to break through when they seem stuck in higher #s. Sometimes you need some oomph to push through. I don't have a lot of experience with it, too nailbite_smile basically to have done that much or advise anyone on it, but just mentioning it for general concepts.
 
With that in mind, should we increase by .4 at a time? Do we have to worry about going past his dose?
Seems like since going low didn’t work, people are of the mind he will need more than 2.8 then? So do we get there sooner than later?
 
I'm not sure on the dose increases. 0.4 sounds reasonable to me. See what others think.

I only meant BAM in general terms, as in discussing how sometimes they seem to get stuck in higher #s.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top