Asher Tuesday new numbers

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Very Active Member
Hi Kids:

Here is today:

amps 304, shot 1.2 units, +4 192, +6 102

Seems like it’s workin pretty good?

We’ll see if we can get back up high enuf to shoot a full dose tonight.....
 
Here we are again at what I had hoped to be a pmps: 140.

Really we are at +10 right now.

I was hoping to slide him back to a normal eat/shoot time, we got pushed back the last few days with these low pmps numbers.

So he had a snack, (maybe a nudge more than a snack, I forgot to grab the food early) and no one is clammering for food yet. I guess we wait and retest?

Does this 140 mean he is still a bit overdosed, or just that I have to be exactly 12 hours apart on testing?
 
They can rise pretty fast in the last two hours and we don't have alot of data on this reduced dose so I think it's a wait and see, when moving your shot time they usually recommend 15 minutes per cycle or 1/2 hour a day until you get back on schedule. That way you don't mess with their numbers as much.
 
Looks like our pmps is gonna be 256.

Any suggestions? Would a 1unit shot be considered safe here? SS is current.

We were trying to stick to 1.2 but don’t know if that is a bit high for this number. We didn’t sleep last night but a few hours so don’t know if we are
gonna be able to get much testing in tonight. Our butts have been dragging all day.

Any suggestions are happily accepted :mrgreen:

Thanks tons guys!
 
One unit should be fine. I think 1.2 would be okay, but I understand the need to sleep...... Considering the 20% variance your amps and pmps are in the same range.
 
Thanks Sue :)

1 unit is what we r gonna do. Then eat then sleep. zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

peace all,

-d.
 
Wow, great job on picking the perfect dose last night & this morning, what awesome #s!!! I wouldn't worry about "trying to stick to 1.2" or any dose. Follow your gut - you are hitting good #s, so give him the dose at each shot that you think is the best one to give. Then if you are a little off that adjusts your internal clock so to speak, so your feel of what to shoot gets more & more refined. Sometimes the answer is sticking with one dose a few cycles, and sometimes not, you have to see what feels right to you to do. If your instinct is to shoot 1u tonight then do that. If the PS is unshootable in the morning then you pull the dose back even more (when shootable), if it's back up in the 300s, then you go back to 1.2.
 
Joanna, that approach makes me a bit less nervous about it, thank you.

I do like to have a general idea of what we are doing each day, but knowing we don’t have to start all over if we make a change kind of takes the pressure off.

We had what I thought was a decent amps of 327 today, and I shot 1 unit since we snuck him up in time a little bit. I hope that will be a good dose for today. He did eat like a wootsie (pa dutch for pig) this morning. Time will tell.

We are trying to get back on a “schedule” because we have to leave here early again on Friday for work. I think if we slide him a little more each day we’ll be fine by then.
 
Well, considering your numbers the last few days, it looks like a good dose is between 1 and 1.2 (at least for the moment.....)

You are doing great - nice safe numbers.
 
Yes Sue, we are real happy with how he’s doing. A friend just stopped by an remarked how good he looks and how playful and engaging he is.
We have been very lucky!

Our +6 today was 137 which I thought was respectable. We’ll have his pmps in about an hour from now.

So now the numbers look good, but is our goal to get him to do a 200-100-200 at some point or is it advisable to just see how it goes?

I don’t even know, but if a cat isn’t diabetic, does his blood sugar still do a wave like that and what are normal numbers for a non-diabetic kitty?
Do we try to get our sugar cats to be about the same numbers as a non-diabetic cat or is that not possible?
 
Yes, non diabetic cats bg levels move around. Often, after eating, a non diabetic cat's numbers will go down and then go up again. As a very general rule, non diabetic cats run from 40 - 120 without insulin.

I think you just keep on keeping on. You are doing fine and over time, you have definitely seen lower numbers. If a cat goes off insulin completely, it has usually been a process of lower numbers and lower doses until the numbers are too low to shoot and the cat is in normal ranges. Not every cat gets there. Some are regulated for years, usually low doses of insulin keeping them in a safe range.

Who knows which Asher will decide to be?
 
So whaddya think? I know Joanna said we can move the dose around a bit. On this number do we shoot a 1 or 1.2?
I was thinking 1 but then realized we shot 1 last night on a lower number....does it matter?
Do I need to be proactive to get these numbers down more or do I hang out here for awhile and see what happens?
 
donnahc said:
So now the numbers look good, but is our goal to get him to do a 200-100-200 at some point or is it advisable to just see how it goes?

It's pretty unusual that their BGs are that cooperative.... cats :roll: dey duz wat dey wantz!!!

As far as how proactive/aggressive you are, it's really up to you. You have to evaluate what your goals are and what you schedule/stress issues are and take it from there. I think it is worth it for most people to tolerate some stress for a bit and see if one's cat will go OTJ, b/c of course then you get to kick back and relax!!! But you have to balance it with what you can manage. Some people shoot more aggressively on a long weekend or such, and see if they can get some progress that way, but then are a bit more conservative during the week, just as an example.

You can also experiment with in-between doses like 1.1 if that appeals to you.
 
There is talk on the board here about the pancreas "waking up". And I guess that’s how these guys get otj. Do you have some theory on how we coax that into happening?
Do you gradually give a little less insulin and the cat’s body kicks in, or do you have to always give just the right dose and one day you just don’t need as much insulin?
 
I believe the theory is that if the cat is kept in relatively good numbers it allows the pancreas a chance to heal. As it heals and begins producing insuliin, your BG numbers would go down (especially AFTER eating, the reverse of when the pancreas is not working) and you would be lowering your dose accordingly.
 
Cool. That is great info Sue and Judy, thanks. We have switched to leaving his food out throughout the day and night quite a few weeks ago, and he does stop back often all day for a snack. His numbers seem better since we are doing this but maybe that is just a coincidence. At night he might only come back to his dish once if at all. He is happier this way and so are we, and if this is helpful in his healing it is a giant bonus.

Leaving his food out, we also get the entertainment of his elaborate burying ritual to save his food for later. It’s quite a big deal. I never had a cat that did this and it’s great fun to watch. One day he had the entire kitchen tablecloth in a giant mound over top of both dishes of food :mrgreen:
 
Jack buries his food too, although not as elaborately. lol The most he's done is pull up one side of the food mat to cover his bowl. It is pretty funny.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top