Asher T. Cat Sunday 2/13

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Very Active Member
Hi folks.
Just checking in to say hi and let you guys know what’s up.
We had a busy day yesterday so didn’t get any spot checks. Amps was 221 and pmps was 277. Shot 1 unit am and pm
This morning we had an amps of 297 and shot 1 unit again, to hold a dose so we can see what’s going on.
I hope to get a +3 and +6 today to get a bigger picture.

I have been feeding morning and evening but leaving the rest of the food out for Asher to come back and eat if he needs.
His bg numbers seem to look better since we are doing that, but that could be coincidence too?

I haven’t weighed him but it looks to me like he gained a little weight back. Right now we are feeding 3/4 can (smaller 3.5 oz can) of wet food to each cat in the morning and evening. I police that everyone eats their own until later, when Asher comes back and snacks on the remainders.

The vet told me he could have up to one big 5 oz can each meal twice a day, so I think we are still under that.
But yes, he is a hoover kitty.
 
Things are looking great, Donna. Yes, the theory is that small frequent meals help support the pancreas healing. So it may be reflected in your numbers on days he eats more often.
 
I am way cool if he snacks all day, it’s happier for him and us for a variety of reasons.
Just don’t want him to get fat again.

He did loose about 4-5 lbs around when he was diagnosed but he’s a big dude. And a hoover. Things taste better out of his brother’s dish (even when it’s exactly the same as his dish) I think he is around 16.5lbs last we checked.
 
Good morning,

I like the 3 yellow PS's in a row. +3 could be some food spike, your next spot test will tell, if not you might want to practice drawing up 1.1 unit.

It's funny how they think the food tastes better out of someone else's dish. Mine all have their own dish that they start eating out of and then they play musical food dish and eat a little bit out of every dish even though the food is the same in all of the dishes. It's funny to watch.

Have a great day.
 
I bet you are right on the food spike Robin. He ate well today and did go back for a snack around +2......
 
Well I am pretty bummed at these numbers. Thought the last +3 was a food spike but I don’t know.
Here’s where we are:
amps: 297, shot 1 unit, +3 314, +6 323

Am I jumping the gun or am I gonna be raising this dose?
 
Are you sure it wasn't a fur shot?

Even if 1 unit isn't enough you should still see some movement. He's been slowely rising all day like he didn't get any insulin.
 
I am positive no fur shot. I always feel his fur all around after the shot just to make sure....
 
Can’t figure out what he could get into. We have no dry food in the house anymore. Bread is in the fridge but he never ate that or any people food except meat anyway. I’ll get a test in at +8 in about 15 mins.....
 
I think I would just call it a day of wonky numbers. Who knows? The question will be do you want to stay with one unit or try a fat one or 1.2?
 
My knee jerk reaction is he’s high, I have to shoot more to get that down, so I wanna say 1.2.

But I know we were talking with Robin about sticking with a dose for awhile to see what is happening...so I don’t know what the right thing is to do. Do we make a switch during some wonky numbers? confused_cat
 
Well, you have the five morning cycles with one unit. Don't know if that qualifies as sticking with a dose? Let's hope she comes on tonight and tells you what she is thinking.
 
The only thing about those 5 mornings is two of the nights we went up to 1.2, trying to raise him again. We went back to 1 in the morning because I had to be out of town for work one day, and I was chicken when his amps was 221 one day.

He had such nice numbers all day when he was on 1.6 and 1.4 but we thought the pmps was too low to shoot a full dose. So that got us to 1.

And we’re a week from full moon! Somethin’s goin on :mrgreen:
 
Hi all,

My objective of sticking with a dose was to stop his bg swings from high to low and back again, which you pretty much have done. You have nice yellow ps's yesterday and today (with the exception of whatever crazy number he might throw you tonignt).

So I'm good with raising the dose. The 1.2u looked a little high the other day so you might want to try 1.1u to gently get him used to that dose, while keeping his PS's even and push his bg's down a little at a time.

How does everyone feel about that.

Robin
 
As you can tell from my posts, I struggle when the numbers don't do what I think they're going to do. Sending good thoughts to you and Asher!
 
pmps is 306. So I guess we go with 1.1units.

I assume to get the 1.1 I am gonna eyeball this on the U100 syringes between full and half lines?
(so between 2.5 and 3, 2.75 on a U100)
 
You're right. Between 2.5 & 3 on a U100 syringe.

I'm glad that your PMPS was similar to your AMPS, I was afraid it was going to be really high.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top