Asher Sunday post drama

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Very Active Member
Morning kids ~O)
Quick update for those of you scoring the game at home....

Overnight +6 250 something
amps 299, shot 1.6 one more time

Yep, I’m taking that 299 as a yellow. It counts. I need the positive vibe. :-D

Now I hope to go back to bed for a couple hours. I’ll check in on y’all later...

peace...
 
WONDERFUL!!!!! dancing_cat

Hopefully this is the start of good numbers! Go Asher!
 
Can we see it on the SS? :mrgreen:

Glad that Asher gave his Mommabean a well deserved break. I'm also claiming yellow! Good job!
 
Sorry, spreadsheet updated now. I was really beat this morning, needed a little more shut eye.

so...
overnight +6 was 252
amps 299, shot 1.6 again
+4 292

So he hasn’t risen in the first 4 hours, we’ll see what the rest of the day brings.

I am thinking of raising the dose tonight. I guess 1.8 is a rational choice. If I’d go to 2, he’d surely bounce for me the way things are now, so we’ll creep there.
But I have 8 hours to change my mind back and forth 50 times :shock: :lol:
 
Gratuitous kitty portrait of the day :-D

More numbers to come soon!
 

Attachments

  • asher portrait copy.jpg
    asher portrait copy.jpg
    277.8 KB · Views: 1,124
What a HANDSOME fellow!!!

From his SS, it looks like he & Gray are in cahoots about staying flat...don't they realize there's a WHOLE lot more colors out there than reds, pinks, and an occasional yellow???
 
I almost said "up to 2.0".
But then I looked again at his performance on this dose:
Cycle 1 - night of 2/23. Not much happened, but you got an AMPS that was 50 points lower than the day before
#2 - flat, nothing happened
#3 - you got a good cycle with no bounce the next morning.
#4 - there's the bounce, from the blue on the 24th
#5 - decent cylce, assuming there's a blue or low pink sometime overnight.
#6 - Lowered AMPS, then really flat (see #2 above)
#7 - ???? could be a repeat of #3 above.

So I hold for one more cycle to see if that happens. If it does, maybe he won't bounce as high again the next day.

Carl
 
LOL, too wordy I guess. That was a vote for "hold" at 1.6 and see if he has a good cycle like he did the PM cycle on the 24th. But avoids the bounce he had a couple cycles later from that good cycle.

Carl
 
I just tested him. He's at 485 at + 11. I was gonna shoot a bit early to head off high numbers but that's impossible since he's already there.

485 is freakin high. I don't care if I have to stay up all night. Do you still think holding is the best option? I really think he needs more insulin sooner than later....
 
Since it appears that an increase was the right way to go--- I would not delay in increasing his dose-- sooner rather than later.

If you keep shooting early...you can join the tid club!
 
I just think he isn't getting any duration here. I know he's gonna bounce, but I need to get more insulin in there soon. I have been playing with fire for what, 14 days now?
 
You already know where my vote lies. I can really understand the anxiety of him being at higher numbers. When Jax goes high it causes many sleepless nights. I just had to get aggressive on the dosing because I saw his neuro was starting to worsen. I can't afford the luxury of swimming in the red....then again...who can??

Either way you go, I'll be praying for the best.
 
In Carl’s defense, he had no idea how high Asher went today before I asked and then he posted to hold.

I ended up shooting a half hour early. I shot 1.8. Wanted to go to 2 but trying to avoid huge bounce and also he seems to be lower at night.
I guess we’ll see what bounce we get before moving to 2. But I really don’t want to wait long if numbers still suck.

Recap of day:

Amps 299
+4 292
+7 314 (my theory is he is running out of insulin around here)
+11 485
+11.5 404
(retested again at +11.5 on Relion, got 367...tested on AT, got 422. The 404 relion and 422 alpha trak were on same drop of blood, we went with 404 as the number we will log in)

shot half hour early 1.8 units


So... I hope we made the right decision.

I had a panic when I saw 485, wanted to shoot 2 or more but thought about it and discussed with Tom, we think this was the way to go. All I can do. Tried not to have drama again. :shock:
 
I've already voted. The only thing I would point out is if the high numbers on the 25th were a result of the blue number on the 24th..... then today's high numbers might be a bounce from a low number last night. No, there's no blue number on the SS from last night, but that doesn't mean there isn't one. You had the same AMPS both days.

But, if you're going to bump it up, I'd go with 2.0 rather than waste time on 1.8. I'd want an increase (or decrease) that was going to show a definitive answer as to which direction is the right one. A .2 increase isn't likely to show you a definitive answer.

OK, that is my 4 cents.

Carl
 
Obviously I was typing when you posted last.

Carl
 
Damn, I did want to go to 2 but held back. I can always go there tomorrow morning.

I dunno. I just feel like I need to get more insulin in there sooner than later. I just can’t take these high numbers anymore. I wake up in the middle of the night worrying about it. I missed a family function last night because I had to stay home with him I was so worried about things. For me, and I know I am a crazy cat lady, it’s all consuming. I am scared he will have some damage from the high numbers and it will be my fault.
 
Donna,
No matter what happens in the days, weeks, months and years ahead, none of this....NONE of this is going to be "your fault"!
"Your fault" would be just giving up, or choosing from the very start that you weren't going to deal with his diabetes. There'd be fault in that.

You are doing everything you can, you're going above and beyond. Give yourself at least a little credit?

And by the way, that was an amazing pic you posted today!

Carl
 
Sorry I missed the chance to vote, but frankly, I can see logic in doing any of the choices...hold at 1.6u, go up to 1.8u or go up to 2.0u. The one thing I wouldn't do is go lower. Helpful, aren't I?

He could still be bouncing from the blue a few cycles ago, and it could clear tonight....I doubt it though. I think he needs more juice.

When you are seeing blue, 0.2u may be enough to get him to green. It's hard to say. Now that you increased to 1.8u, I would NOT go to 2.0u in the morning, no matter what happens tonight. Remember what I said about jumping around on dose and wonky numbers? Make a decision and live with it for a few cycles.

JMHO
 
I appreciate your input Laurie. We'll hold the 1.8 for a bit to see where it takes us. What do you think would be correct? 2-3 cycles or more?
 
Yup, I know some cats do well on sliding scales, and I agree that ECID. I'm talking specifically about Asher. If you look back at a couple of weeks ago, Donna jumped around on dose and the numbers got very wonky. I'm suggesting holding the dose for a few cycles based on the data on Asher's SS.

I think 2-3 sounds reasonable.....let's see what happens.
 
Donna,

I read your thread and I can empathize completely!!!! Sounds like you and I are going through the same thoughts and struggles.

I do hope you will see some movement DOWN for asher tonight. Look forward to seeing what happens tonight.

Lori
 
I respectfully disagree. Something has dramatically changed with Asher since his dental, his response to the insulin has changed.

I don't remember if you were around during those discussions or not but many different approaches were talked about and I personally don't think that she had any choice but to respond the way she did given the sudden changes and meter problems she was having at that time.
 
Donna,

I agree with Carl. You are doing everything you can for Asher and nothing would be your fault - if anything happened. You are not a crazy cat lady either. I hate that term because how can loving your cats and trying to save their lives be crazy?

I know I've missed plenty of family functions and other outings due to my cats so can relate. I'm sorry you stay up worrying, but I can relate there too because I do the same thing.

I wish you all the best getting things figured out. I hate the high numbers too.
 
Rob, I'm talking about after the meter issue and after the dental. I'm talking about what happened 2 weeks ago when Asher was in the blues and greens on 2.0u, and Donna dropped the dose to 1.4u and then jumped around on dose for several days. The numbers got very wonky, Asher went high on a high dose, low on a low dose....none of the data made sense. I'm simply suggesting that instead of jumping around and getting wonky data that is impossible to interpret, Donna try a few cycles of consistent dosing and see what happens. Jumping around didn't help before, and I'm betting it isn't going to help now either.

I explained all of this in yesterday's thread.

I'm basing my suggestion on the data on Asher's SS. I have looked at it very carefully and given Donna my suggestions. She can absolutely do whatever she wants.

If my input is not welcome, I can go away.....I do have other places to be. ;-)
 
I thank you all for your kind words and suggestions :YMHUG:
I jokingly call myself a crazy cat lady. I only have two cats but I love them so much. I love all cats truly.
I don't have kids so what slight maternal instinct I have gets channeled to my kitties.

Things have been pretty tumultuous since the new year, not only with Asher but with me. Caring for an elderly Mom, trying to run a business in a terrible economy....You guys know the deal I am sure. So to think back how I made a decision on dosing last month, well, I won't have a clue now as to why I did it. This is why I keep my silly journal notes on his spreadsheet.

I learned fairly early on with his diabetes that we have to be very consistent with him. Food has to be the same, and I try to hold a dose. But I do remember after his last dental that all the things I was used to with him seemed to fly out the window. I don't know if it was getting rid of more bad teeth ( geeze, he just did have a dental last April) or if the diet changed things. Maybe the drugs from the dental? And then the meter debacle. So I know I felt I HAD to change doses with him to avoid hypos, high numbers, feeding him more to bring him up (which negates a diet).

So all that has brought us to now. Thankfully he seems fine thru all of this. He just came up to sit with me now :-D
On days when he's high he seems to sleep more but he does not act sick or anything bad. It's me that's a stressed out mess :shock:

So my plan for now is to try to get back to as much consistency as we can stand, and more insulin when it is safe and appropriate to do that. My vibe today is that he needs about 2 to 2.2 units. I could change my mind tomorrow tho. :lol:

Good night and good numbers to you all!!
 
Laurie, your input is VERY welcome and appreciated. I appreciate all of you!!!!
I think Robin was just trying to explain why I did what I did. Which is one helluva task :lol:
Fear is probably a main reason why I have made any decision in the recent past...to be fully honest.
 
Thanks Sue. I appreciate that. I will sleep, but you know I'm gonna have to get up and see what his +6 is (at least) :lol:
 
Donna, sleep well. When the dust clears, I'm buying you a yeungleung.
Asher, un-sweet dreams, buddy.

Hugs,
Carl
 
:thumbup
Thanks dude. Love the Pottsville Soda Pop :lol:

Sweet dreams to all the beans. Suga free dreams to the kitties.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top