donnahc
Very Active Member
Afternoon folks 
We are taking it easy today here in the Dutch Ghetto© (as we fondly refer to our home here in the heart of PA Dutch Country).
Asher's numbers have been creeping up on 1.5 units so we increased the dose today to 2 units. My partner Tom and I talked about it and really didn't want to give him less than 2 since his amps was 470 this morning. His +4 was just 347. We'll keep you posted and his SS is updated
In the last thread there was a lot of talk about food and amounts, etc. I am still a bit unsure how we could regulate what he eats exactly. We have to give plain chicken treats after his tests obviously. But with the wet food, some days he eats a 1/2 can some days he eats 3/4 can. And with no particular regularity, he sometimes has a hungry day where he goes to the kitchen and "asks" for more food. Other days he is happy with what he gets at mealtime.
People here say to feed a diabetic cat as much as they need and my vet told me he can eat as much as he needs too, but that 1 can per feeding twice daily would be normal. He never has eaten that much, maybe close on a hungry day if you would count the plain chix treats in that amount.
We also feed him with his brother Alby and try to keep Alby away from Asher , initially because Alby was transitioning from dry to wet.
They now both eat wet only but Alby will only eat his brand of wet mixed with some chicken and chicken broth, and we try to only feed Asher what is in the can. Plus Asher has always been the food bully and will eat his brother's food if he isn't fast enough. So we have to babysit thru feedings now.
If we did one of these timed feeders, with two cats, first off you'd never know who eats what, and my bet would be Asher would eat his brother share even if we did two feeders.
We only have two doors inside our house, and they never get used, so we have no way of keeping them apart during the day, and it seems mean to try to do so, they have been together their entire lives.
I guess I am trying to make all our lives as normal as we can. If we ever get to the point that Tom and I can leave the house at the same time again, I need to have a routine that our cat sitter would do. I only feel comfortable asking people to do so much above and beyond the call of duty.
We have two jobs this week and I have to do them myself because we are not confident enough to leave the cats alone for a whole work day. I can deal with the shots and tests and all the extra food work and worry no problem, but we have to do our jobs or we'll have no money to keep up any of our bad habits, like the mortgage.
I am rambling on so I'll stop. I am a chronic worrier, I know. If anyone has any words of wisdom, I'm all ears. Just curious how others deal with all of this.
Donna

We are taking it easy today here in the Dutch Ghetto© (as we fondly refer to our home here in the heart of PA Dutch Country).
Asher's numbers have been creeping up on 1.5 units so we increased the dose today to 2 units. My partner Tom and I talked about it and really didn't want to give him less than 2 since his amps was 470 this morning. His +4 was just 347. We'll keep you posted and his SS is updated

In the last thread there was a lot of talk about food and amounts, etc. I am still a bit unsure how we could regulate what he eats exactly. We have to give plain chicken treats after his tests obviously. But with the wet food, some days he eats a 1/2 can some days he eats 3/4 can. And with no particular regularity, he sometimes has a hungry day where he goes to the kitchen and "asks" for more food. Other days he is happy with what he gets at mealtime.
People here say to feed a diabetic cat as much as they need and my vet told me he can eat as much as he needs too, but that 1 can per feeding twice daily would be normal. He never has eaten that much, maybe close on a hungry day if you would count the plain chix treats in that amount.
We also feed him with his brother Alby and try to keep Alby away from Asher , initially because Alby was transitioning from dry to wet.
They now both eat wet only but Alby will only eat his brand of wet mixed with some chicken and chicken broth, and we try to only feed Asher what is in the can. Plus Asher has always been the food bully and will eat his brother's food if he isn't fast enough. So we have to babysit thru feedings now.
If we did one of these timed feeders, with two cats, first off you'd never know who eats what, and my bet would be Asher would eat his brother share even if we did two feeders.
We only have two doors inside our house, and they never get used, so we have no way of keeping them apart during the day, and it seems mean to try to do so, they have been together their entire lives.
I guess I am trying to make all our lives as normal as we can. If we ever get to the point that Tom and I can leave the house at the same time again, I need to have a routine that our cat sitter would do. I only feel comfortable asking people to do so much above and beyond the call of duty.
We have two jobs this week and I have to do them myself because we are not confident enough to leave the cats alone for a whole work day. I can deal with the shots and tests and all the extra food work and worry no problem, but we have to do our jobs or we'll have no money to keep up any of our bad habits, like the mortgage.
I am rambling on so I'll stop. I am a chronic worrier, I know. If anyone has any words of wisdom, I'm all ears. Just curious how others deal with all of this.
Donna