Asher Sat Jan 15

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Member Since 2011
Afternoon folks :)
We are taking it easy today here in the Dutch Ghetto© (as we fondly refer to our home here in the heart of PA Dutch Country).

Asher's numbers have been creeping up on 1.5 units so we increased the dose today to 2 units. My partner Tom and I talked about it and really didn't want to give him less than 2 since his amps was 470 this morning. His +4 was just 347. We'll keep you posted and his SS is updated :)

In the last thread there was a lot of talk about food and amounts, etc. I am still a bit unsure how we could regulate what he eats exactly. We have to give plain chicken treats after his tests obviously. But with the wet food, some days he eats a 1/2 can some days he eats 3/4 can. And with no particular regularity, he sometimes has a hungry day where he goes to the kitchen and "asks" for more food. Other days he is happy with what he gets at mealtime.

People here say to feed a diabetic cat as much as they need and my vet told me he can eat as much as he needs too, but that 1 can per feeding twice daily would be normal. He never has eaten that much, maybe close on a hungry day if you would count the plain chix treats in that amount.

We also feed him with his brother Alby and try to keep Alby away from Asher , initially because Alby was transitioning from dry to wet.
They now both eat wet only but Alby will only eat his brand of wet mixed with some chicken and chicken broth, and we try to only feed Asher what is in the can. Plus Asher has always been the food bully and will eat his brother's food if he isn't fast enough. So we have to babysit thru feedings now.

If we did one of these timed feeders, with two cats, first off you'd never know who eats what, and my bet would be Asher would eat his brother share even if we did two feeders.

We only have two doors inside our house, and they never get used, so we have no way of keeping them apart during the day, and it seems mean to try to do so, they have been together their entire lives.

I guess I am trying to make all our lives as normal as we can. If we ever get to the point that Tom and I can leave the house at the same time again, I need to have a routine that our cat sitter would do. I only feel comfortable asking people to do so much above and beyond the call of duty.

We have two jobs this week and I have to do them myself because we are not confident enough to leave the cats alone for a whole work day. I can deal with the shots and tests and all the extra food work and worry no problem, but we have to do our jobs or we'll have no money to keep up any of our bad habits, like the mortgage.

I am rambling on so I'll stop. I am a chronic worrier, I know. If anyone has any words of wisdom, I'm all ears. Just curious how others deal with all of this.

Donna
 
Re: Asher Sat Jan 14

I think the idea here is that the folks here give a lot of different advice tips, input etc. Then it is up to the owner to see how they can best synthesize that for the success of their kitty. It's not just about what's best for the kitty but it also has to work for the beans or the kitty can't get cared for.

You should have noticed how your kitty was drinking and peeing a lot. And at this same time probably eating a lot? Well just about the time their drinking an peeing settle down so will the eating. So it is at about time that you can get the diet under control too and limit the amount of food you give to reach the weight goals you are after for your kitty.

Just like cat like their own litter boxes in their "own" part of their house, so do they sometimes like food in their own place in their house. So that might be another idea to play with.

If you only put down X food per day and the kitty sometimes east X+Y food then subtracting Y would leave only X and maybe X is what you need to feed for the right weight/diet to work? Or do you need X+Y?

I think Dr. Pierson might have something on her page about how much a cat should eat. Also I have a spreadsheet that you can download then re-import into your google or use with Excel [because it is in read-only mode in my Google] that can be used to estimate how much a cat should eat. How much should my cat eat? https://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?key ... nhPTXBEUUE But keep in mind it is an estimate and the real amount is the amount it takes to reach and or maintain ideal body weight. Dr. Pierson also talks on her page about how much weight is safe to lose over time.

I've used my SS in the past to work with an overweight cat. I didn't get far enough with him but I started at a multiplication factor of 1.2 which is on the low side of an active neutered adult. That turned out to not be low enough, so I would have gone to 1.1 or 1.0 next and watched if that got me to where I needed to go.

BTW I cannot recommended a scale enough. This the the one I use and love:
http://www.google.com/search?q=myweigh+kd-8000
If the cat is less than 16 or so pounds then they can also be weighed on this scale using a lightweight cardboard filing box.
 
Good advise. I just want to do the best thing and it's overwhelming when I try to visualize us all getting back to the new normal.

-donna
 
The new normal is a great way to put it. I think a lot of us go day by day waiting to see what that new normal will be. Try not to stress too much! Just do the best you can and remember to look at how far you've come since you started all this.
 
I really like your term the new normal. That is exactly what it is. At first it's scarry and stressful but eventually it becomes routine.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top