Asher Sat Feb 12 Advice?

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Member Since 2011
Hi everyone! Happy weekend!

I have a Q, since every time I think I know what we are going to dose, Asher changes things :)

He’s been hovering in the low 300’s for his amps and pmps lately. We have been giving 1 unit the last couple of days for a variety of reasons
but were thinking we should get him up to 1.2 again. So last night we shot 1.2. He did fine overnight. his overnight +5 was 258.

This morning’s amps is 221. So I think this changes things a bit. We will be with him all day.

Open to suggestions :mrgreen:

ps: we shot last night at 7:15 pm and this morning we tested him at 7:15 am so I know we have enough time in between, if that means anything.....
 
It looks like Asher would do fine with 1u as long as he's in rising numbers. You've shot more insulin into similar mid-200s recently so I don't think it'd be too worrisome. Maybe just hold off on the increase till this evening or tomorrow. Just do another poke to make sure he's going up and not down.
 
Thanks guys!

Robin- Joanna mentioned to me that you have some experience with how long to hold doses with prozync. I had asked some advise about dosing previously since my vet is not happy with me changing doses as often as I have. (of course she isn’t happy with a few things I am doing :roll: )

I feel like I try to hold doses, but then Asher has different ideas and is too low in the evening to shoot what I want to be my “regular” dose, etc.

Any thoughts on that? Is a sliding scale bad as things are changing?
 
I had to go feed the zoo.

There is nothing wrong with a sliding scale, sometimes their bg's demand it. But in the beginning with Prozinc there is some adjustment/settling in time where their bodies are getting used to the insulin and adjusting to lower bg's than they are used to since dx. It seems that any dose change can cause wonky bouncy numbers for a few days.

It was my personal experience that if I held a dose for 3 to 5 days (or longer) it gave Harley time to get through the wonky numbers and show me what that dose was really doing for him. Except of course, if you get low numbers then you would drop the dose right away.

I felt that by holding the dose longer I would avoid the roller coaster of sending him high then low and overreacting to the high with more insulin.

I should also mention that I was very conservative on the dosing.

When he started getting similar AM & PM PS #'s and I knew what to expect from a dose on a bg I started pushing his numbers lower.

Don't worry to much about your vet, she is in your employ, to give advise and then you get to decide if you want to take the advise or not, just like at this site. I didn't take any of my old vets advise thank goodness and it was harder for me because my old vet was my daughter in law.

Every cat is different, they call it the sugar dance because they keep us on our toes. Silly kitties.

You are doing great.

Robin
 
Thanks tons Robin :)

We were seeing similar am and pm ps’s so that is why I had hoped to move him up a bit.
I guess we’ll just see what the 1 unit does today and take it from there.

I try to plan ahead but the kitties have other ideas cat_pet_icon
 
I've been staring at your ss for about an hour now and I'm having trouble making sense of it.

You started at a higher dose than most here and have been working your way down so I think that the only real data is what you are getting now.

I think Joanna is right, 1 unit looks like not enough and 1.2 looks like too much but with the dramatic dose changes it's hard to tell.

You have been getting similar PS #'s but you're shooting different doses into them, that's what is making it hard to see any patterns.

I would go with 1 unit (although conservative it gives you some room to drop without going too low and pushing your next PS higher) and stick with it for a few days to let him show you how that dose is working for him, get off the roller coaster, EXCEPT if he gets a lower PS which would suggest the dose was too high.
 
Yes, the vet insisted we start at 3 units, and that is how I found FDMB :)

We have been working our way down and last week when the vet called to tell me all that I was doing wrong she insisted Asher needs to be at 2 units BID now.
I am ignoring that obviously. Even on 1.6 we were getting pmps too low to shoot “normal” dose, but again, we haven’t stayed at anything too long.

So... we will stay at 1 unit for now and see how it goes.

Thanks much for staring at our spreadsheet :)
 
Just wanted to say hi after seeing your post this morning. Your Asher is one cute kitty and lucky to have you. Looks like we were diagnosed around the same time. I've been working my way down on dosing too. I've also not been following my vets advice exactly (i.e. diet). I have a follow up appointment on Wednesday and am hoping to show the vet how much progress Max has made with his #'s, so he won't harass me too much for switching the diet to low carb wet.
 
Good for you for staying strong and not caving to vet suggestions. Can you imagine what would happen if we all did what the vets told us to do? Scary.
 
We've all gotten questionable advise from our vets, ugg.

They just don't spend the same amount of time thinking about this stuff or reading everything they can to understand it like we do.

Stay strong.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top