Asher Oct 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Very Active Member
Hi guys:
Hope all is well out there in sugar kitty land :-D
Before today’s craziness starts I thought I would do a quick check in to let you know Asher is doing great (touch wood anti jinx).

We have been having quite a few blue preshoots, although we haven’t seen much green, at least when we have been around to test him.
He seems to be pushing the line of if we should shoot his full dose or not with these preshoots hovering around the 150s.

Does anyone out there have any idea what should be next for us? My vet is happy where we are, and I am very happy too. But should we be trying for lower numbers yet? It seems if I increase the dose we would run into more of these wait and test again dinner times. So should I be decreasing the dose a little? Or is this just gonna be Asher’s dose and numbers where we are now (if so I am happy, not complaining at all!) ? He sure does seem to dig the consistency of food and insulin dose.

Just curious what you guys thought.

Spreadsheet is current as of this morning.

Thanks! Good day and good health to you all!
 
I think I'm jealous...Cass never looks this good. My impression was that once you were getting blue preshots, you could try reducing the dose. You're still shooting a full dose into the low numbers, right? Wait and see what everyone else says, but I would try backing off a little. If he starts shooting up again you can always come back to this dose.
 
Lovely looking colors, but I understand the concern for the preshot numbers. I am reluctant to suggest up or down without some mid cycle numbers ( I know, broken record.....but it would help us see exactly what is happening.) Any chance for a curve soon?
 
Thanks Sue. I will try to get a curve done asap. Just depends if it rains/our work schedule this week.
We always do spot checks when we can but haven't done a full curve in forever.
 
Hi Donna,
WOW Ahser looks great!
I am gonna say as long as he is not going hypo on you I personally
would not reduce, I am afraid if you reduce you will lose momemtum and
it sometimes takes so long to get back
my vote would be to hold unless he is going to low (yes you would have to get a mid cycle number)
So happy for you guys though!!

Densie and Shakes
 
I've missed your posts! Asher's #'s look great, I have no suggestions on the dose though!
 
Looking Good COVERBOY!!!!

I wish I could help you with the dosing question, but I have no idea!
 
Hi Donna,
I'm with Denise. I think a slight increase may be how to go, but definitely need to know where his nadir is before adjusting. His SS looks wonderful lately!
Carl
 
Hi Donna,
Looking at your SS, if it were me, I would not lower the dose. ( unless your PS drops really low). I find it helps to think of the nadir as the number you are aiming at, and the PS as your safety guideline for when it's ok to shoot. You might think about what is your lowest safe PS number.
 
Thanks so much everyone. Yes, I am not inclined to reduce either. Reductions have never really worked for Asher so far. Just curious if we could eek out some greens.
I’ll try to get a curve on him in the next week or so. I am sure he varies a bit each day (depending if he is a piggy or not) but we’ll see what we get and take it from there.
My vibe is he nadirs later, like maybe + 7 to +9 somewhere.
 
You and Asher have had quite a sugar dance...yay for some very beautiful numbers! Like everyone, I would hold and see what the curve says. So happy you two are in such a good place.
 
Re: Asher Oct 3/Oct 4 update

We didn’t have time for a full curve today since we had a job, but I did get some mid day numbers to start the discussion...

amps 199 (tested 15 mins early and he was 137, waited and retested in a half hour and got the 199) shot 3.1 units
+6 109
+8 119
pmps 188, shot 3.1 units

He was happy, playful and hungry today. Both cats have been eating a bit more since it cooled off and isn’t so humid here.
 
Lovely numbers, Donna (and Asher) I can see that you might want to try to tweak the dose to get a lower nadir number, but knowing Asher........He never has responded well to tweaking. Guess you could try a Fat increase instead of .25?
 
Very nice numbers.
I would be inclined to leave his dosage alone hes getting such consistent beautiful regulated numbers.
I would be afraid changing much would create wonkiness. (anti-jinx!)
 
Thanks guys.
Yeah, if we’d increase it couldn’t be by much and not on a day like today. We just had a pmps of 121!
Lately when he’s been a bit low like this, if I wait 15 mins to a half hour, he gets up over 150 and we can feed and shoot a full dose.
I am so thankful for this. SO thankful.
Big thanks to all of you out there in PZI land for puttin' up with all our antics gettin’ us this far!

Edit:
Spoke too soon, we’re now 45 mins past his pmps time and he’s still only at 130.....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top